We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rabbit Hole Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Krugersdorp B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here a few years ago (sorry for the delayed review), but I had such a great experience there! The staff was super friends, and the other guests made this a super fun experience! I arrived by myself with no arrangements made for transportation, but a lot of expectations of places to visit (I had very limited time, on a layover for a few days en route to Madagascar). The owner gave me a great reference for transportation (her name was Sybil, definitely take advantage of her transportation services if you get the chance!). She carted me around for my entire stay, taking me everywhere I wanted to go and even a few places that she suggested as well. Her and her husband even took me to lunch on my last day. The entire stay was incredible, and Rabbit Hole Guest House was a nice cozy place to lay my head. It is not the Ritz Carlton by any means, but if your looking for a cozy, affordable, funky, friendly place to stay, this is it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    21
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
16
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at The Rabbit Hole for our 26th wedding anniversary, our request was that is should be a romantic set up. Upon arrival the reception we received from the front desk was very cold. the pillows was very soft and old and smelly. The bathroom light was not even working and the shower door was broken substituted it with a shower curtain. The room we were in was nothing compared to those advertised on the website.We paid R1800.00 for two nights bed and breakfast and the service was clearly not up to standard. The television in the room was 37cm and we could hardly see anything at all. The bread served for breakfast was stale and the place is dusty. Will not recommend this place at all to anyone. When I told the owner she stated that they only catered for business people. Why were we not told when we requested that they dont cater for couples suppose they were hard up for our money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrystalw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Apart from being central to the sights of the Cradle of Humankind and in a quiet area. The Rabbit Hole staff were very welcoming and pleasant. We loved the decor and the whole ambiance of the Guest House. Our room was lovely and the bathroom was a lovely size. There was room to put things out around us. The food was very good and we enjoyed the frogs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John & Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Charming B & B, consider it good value for money. The staff where friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - but plates where cold (only complaint). Interior decor is was amazing and very clever use of recycled bottles and crockery, very original in fact quite a "Wonderland" experience. Rooms where clean and everything worked, loved the white rabbits in the garden :). Would stay there again quite happily

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2012

When you first arrive the first thing you notice about this place is the colour....lots of colour!! Really beautifully done the staff are friendly and welcoming... The food is lovely and the rooms are simply divine. Very well placed for the cradle of humankind, the rhino and lion reserve and located right next door to a tea house and across the road to a large mall....the owners have done a great job with is place and I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1977sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My family and I stayed here for a few days as a base for exploring the Cradle of Human kind at the end of a 3 week trip to South Africa. The Rabbit Hole is a wonderfully unique place where art is built into the very fabric of the building. The room was very large and comfortable and the mother and daughter owners were very friendly and helpful.

The bar was not manned while we were there but there's an honesty system in place where you help yourself to drinks and just record what you've taken; very civilised and wonderful to see in this day and age.

The only downside was that the wife came away with "lots of wonderful DIY ideas" for things we (I!) could do round the house! ;-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I spent one night at the Rabbit Hole recently - the owners have certainly created a quirky and interesting venue with lots of innovative ideas ideas for their decor - i.e. the bar is a mosaic of bottle tops and glass bottle bottoms; the kitchen counter has knives and forks mosaiced into the surface.

The staff was friendly, the towels were fluffy, the water was hot, the bed was comfortable and the food was pleasant and served with a smile - what more could I want?

Sarah O'Neill

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krugersdorp
17.2 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
59 reviews
11.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
192 reviews
4.5 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
3.2 mi away
African Sky Guesthouse B&B
African Sky Guesthouse B&B
#1 of 21 in Krugersdorp
40 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Crystal Rose Lodge & Spa
The Crystal Rose Lodge & Spa
#1 of 10 in Krugersdorp
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rabbit Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rabbit Hole Hotel

Property: The Rabbit Hole Hotel
Address: 33 Viljoen Street | Krugersdorp North, Krugersdorp 1739, South Africa (Formerly Rabbit Hole Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Krugersdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Krugersdorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rabbit Hole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rabbit Hole is a favourite of many business travelers and also to tourists exploring the many attractions in the nearby Cradle of Humankind.The Rabbit Hole Hotel offers 16 unique en-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Rabbit Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rabbit Hole Hotel Krugersdorp, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing