We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jewel set in a beautiful region”
Review of Rocky Aloe Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Krugersdorp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky Aloe Lodge
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Rocky Aloe Lodge is not only perfectly situated for touring the attractive Krugersdorp region, but is a pleasant and unique place to stay.
Our son first saw the lodge complex from the air while flying out of nearby Jack Taylor Airfield. We needed accommodation before and after a planned two week trip to Central Africa, so he checked it out. It transpired to be an excellent choice and we (two couples) stayed for four days before and three days after our flight.
The thatched chalets or rondavels are built in a traditional style, yet are tastefully and expensively equipped, with the latest shower unit, a hot tub, a bar, a huge bed, large flat screen tv, tea/coffee facilities, a microwave, a/c, heating and constant hot water. The only disconcerting thing is having the toilet inside, behind a screen.
The breakfast was unique and was delivered to the chalet by the staff, ready cooked.
The gardens are superb and the lodge is set next to the Krugersdorp Game Reserve. We saw numerous animals during our stay. There is a game viewing platform and there are several braai/BBQ areas you can use.
The owners/managers, Elize and Marcus, will ensure you have a perfect stay and will be perfect hosts. Marcus also provides airport pick-ups from nearby Jack Taylor Airfield and Oliver Tambo Airport in Johannesburg.
We can recommend the Rocky Aloe Lodge without hesitation.

Elizabeth and David - Cyprus
Mark and Jenny - Dubai

Room Tip: Book a chalet near the game park fence or in the lower area with an uninterrupted view. There is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidElizabeth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a great stay over the weekend with our kids at Rocky Aloe Lodge. The self-catering lodges are well equipped and the owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. It is located next to the Krugersdorp game park and you will have a good chance spotting some wildlife on the watchtower on the premises. We even saw giraffes!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerrroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This little gem is just outside the hustle & bustle of Gauteng - the perfect weekend break. A quiet little spot right next to the Krugersdorp Nature Reserve. The cabins have everything you need to relax and is well furnished. Couldn't ask for anything better.

Room Tip: Choose room 1 or 2, which looks out directly across the nature reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakumyir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

we are travellers...& tourists, (camping a lot !) when we do need to make a pause ! (a good scrub, a good bed, a sheer welcome etc...) And by sheer chance on our way up to Blyde River Canyon, we stopped by them ! And won the lotto ! That place is a must not only for the Jo'burgs stop over but for all of us Europeans ! We leisure in a splendid garden (aloes all over the place) , the bungalows.....just astounding, (nothing is missing and you feel well looked afer even loved ...) The surroundings basked us at night and in eatly mornings and the owners ...they built that paradise all by themselves...took them 2 years...and for us it's a great hit !
Go and meet Elize & Markus ! You'll never regret it !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saladefolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krugersdorp hotels
0 mi away
The Crystal Rose Lodge & Spa
The Crystal Rose Lodge & Spa
#1 of 11 in Krugersdorp
87 reviews
0 mi away
Aviators Retreat B&B
Aviators Retreat B&B
#12 of 22 in Krugersdorp
18 reviews
0 mi away
Victorian Guest House
Victorian Guest House
#6 of 22 in Krugersdorp
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
African Sky Guesthouse B&B
African Sky Guesthouse B&B
#2 of 22 in Krugersdorp
44 reviews
0 mi away
Magaliqua Guest House
Magaliqua Guest House
#2 of 11 in Krugersdorp
24 reviews
0 mi away
The Rabbit Hole Hotel
The Rabbit Hole Hotel
#1 of 22 in Krugersdorp
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Aloe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Aloe Lodge

Address: Plot 28, Pad 7, Beckedan, Tarlton, Krugersdorp | GPS Coordinates : E: 27°41.32`` S: 26°04.46, Krugersdorp, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Krugersdorp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Krugersdorp
Also Known As:
Rocky Aloe Lodge Krugersdorp, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing