We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a beautiful recently built kasbah (fortified castle) in a stunning location. The gardens are well maintained with a large variety of trees, shrubs and flowers including a large vegetable garden. There is no shortage of delightful places to sit and enjoy the views. The food is very good and reasonably priced. Bring binoculars if you enjoy birdwatching. The guided tours are a must. Amanda the manager probably doesn't have time to read these reviews but she's outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    97
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
108
324
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a few days in Marrakech we needed somewhere to relax in the (relative) cool of the Atlas Mountains and I am so glad that we chose Kasbah Bab Ourika. The other reviewers are right about the views, the beautiful gardens, the food and the magical sense of tranquility. The view of the stars at night is truly stunning, and we had a huge bath with a perfect panoramic view over the mountains. What really sets this place apart, though, is the service. Every time we asked for anything over the course of the four days and nights we spent there, the answer was yes, without hesitation, and whatever we asked for just materialised a few moments later. We were never asked for our room number, never given anything to sign. Can you arrange a trek for us tomorrow morning at 8.30? No problem. We are checking in after lunchtime has finished - can you make us something to eat? On our private terrace within ten minutes. The staff truly are exceptional. We spent a blissful four days there and cannot wait to go back. Of course, there have to be a couple of things to remind you that you are not actually in paradise and these were the slightly temperamental wifi connection and the lack of airconditioning which meant our room got very hot at night, both minor issues. Thank you to Amanda & Fouad and your team for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWard14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were not prepared for the luxury and lushness of this destination when we arrived after driving down the narrow dirt road to get here. The views on the drive in from the south were marvelous. The hotel, really a resort, is just a lovely oasis to relax in, particularly after being in the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. This is a place for easy languishing(often by the lovely poo) or more adventurous hiking. The food is excellent and the setting remarkable. We loved dining outside by candlelight on the veranda for dinner and having breakfast under the arbors with a lovely view of the surrounding mountains. The rooms are large, the bathrooms even bigger and very well appointed. I cannot overstate the wonderful atmosphere here. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: the rug selection, while limited, is excellent and in very good taste, There is no bargaining but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have been with my family and we regreted that we have spent just one night, the hotel is wonderful. It has the beautiful view, calm gardens and nice swimming pool. The spacious room where we were staying was nicely decorated and did not miss anything. Dinner with candles in open air was delicious. We wish we were staying there for more. I am sure that next holidysit will the first destination to stay at. Thanks all the staff, that is preofession and nice. Higly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOGOVOYAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at Kasbah Bab Ourika, recently for only 2 days at the end of a 10 day tour of Morocco.
This was by far the highlight of our trip. We drove for just under one hour from Marrakesh , a
winding road along a green fertile valley, dotted with Berber villages, totally unexpecting what we were about to see.
Perched high on a hill stood the Kasbash Bab Ourika. A large building of red earth,built in the local style, beautifully furnished with traditional pieces, sourced by Amanda from nearby areas, fragrant gardens(,one of which supplies fresh vegetables for the guests), spacious rooms wonderful friendly and obliging staff..There were numerous
areas within the resort where you can relax and just enjoy the surroundings. What a wonderful way to engage with nature at this retreat in the High Atlas Mountains. Would certainly return, for a much longer stay next time!

Room Tip: If possible a room with a view, but wherever you are, it will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Wonderful assistance from Amanda allowed us book this hotel when we were already in Marrakesh and wanted to escape the madness. We were collected and driven to the hotel. The staff are extremely professional. Excellent food with a wonderful choice - nobody is rushing you from your table, the restaurant at night is very romantic. The setting is truly beautiful and it is difficult not to feel calm when you are here. There are very few places where you can relax in the heat by the pool during the day and drink good red wine in-front of an open fire at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in the Atlas Mountains. Exquisite setting, good value, lots to do, fantastic staff (Amanda is a genius) and lovely food underneath the stars. Only difficulty is getting a room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
15.5 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
3.1 mi away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
23.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Property: Kasbah Bab Ourika
Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kasbah Bab Ourika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing