We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in the High Atlas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Certificate of Excellence
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the High Atlas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our nine day stay was a slice of heaven! The approach to the Kasbah is awesome coming up the steep drive, and then the massive entrance! The grounds are lovingly kept and watered and the vegetable gardens are a thing of wonder. The views are breathtaking in all directions. The service is without equal in all of our travels. Even if you are just in the area of Marakesh you MUST eat here, the presentation and quality of the meals is 5 star. Don't forget the Hammam.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the northern side with a terrace, it'll be the best night sky of your life
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    97
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
108
324
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The car ride up to Kasbah Bab Ourika is somewhat breathtaking but once there, all tension quickly fades away. Every corner is beautiful, the multiple gardens, paths, terraces, semi-hidden relaxation spots are soothing to body and soul. You can add to the bodily pleasures with a wonderful massage. The room was beautiful and generous sized without being overly large. Rose petals on the beds, of course, and a balcony with a great view of the surrounding mountains. The bathroom was luxurious and had it's own spectacular view. Easy day trips into surrounding Berber villages and/or hikes to mountain waterfalls. The staff were courteous and unfailingly helpful. The food was very good and plentiful without being super-sized. Our 4 day stay was made even more enjoyable by getting to know the other guests during the daily cocktail hour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in July and can say without hesitation that this is delightful hotel we have every stayed in. Neither words nor pictures can do justice to the astounding beauty and charm of this place.

After receiving a warm welcome you are led through the authentic and simply decorated interior courtyards to the exquisite gardens, and the view just takes your breath away. Perched on the edge of the High Atlas above the Ourika valley you have a panoramic view of the mountains, valley and villages below. The garden really is the show stopper at this hotel, dotted with chairs, beds and loungers for you to read, or enjoy the view from. The pool is quiet and a perfect temperature, and catches the sun throughout the day.

We were upgraded to a suite and the room was faultless. Authentically decorated in the same style as the courtyards and with a stunning en suite. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner both days - as there really aren't any other places easily accessible - with a fresh menu on each day. The food was delicious and the wine perfectly chilled - with both very reasonably priced.

Above all though it is the staff who will really make your stay here something that will stick with you. Never have we felt so well looked after or so relaxed - and not in an overbearing way either. These guys are a credit to the hotel and the hospitality of their country.

Really, we could not recommend this hotel more highly, and can only hope we have the chance to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is strking - beautiful design and furnishings in traditional Berber style all positioned against a picture perfect backdrop of the Atlas Mountains. There are so many delightful spots throughout the property with canopied sitting areas, scenic gardens, and stunning vistas that change throughout the day as the light hits the landscape differently. The owner, manager, and staff are lovely and attend to every need, the food is delicious, and the rooms are spacious and elegant. We enjoyed the cooking lesson, the tea lesson, lounging at the pool, hiking the hills nearby (and collecting rocks), and the spa. I would recommend this to anyone from families to honeymooners. Our family of 4 (kids ages 10 and 8) loved the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hubieonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so unique. A little piece of heaven in the mountains. The accommodation is terrific, the restaurant is lovely, with a new menu every day, and the views are amazing. The only warning I have is if you're not keen on very hot weather don't go in mid summer. Whilst the gorgeous pool helped cool us off during the day, the nights were very hot with only fans to cool us. Also a bit hot to do long hikes. But other than that, it was very memorable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Perthfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Kasbah for 4 nights this summer. We had heard good things from friends but our expectations were blown away. We were upgraded to a pool suite which had a beautiful terrace and our own little swimming pool. The room itself was spacious, and comfortable with a seating area and huge bathroom. The shower was the best we had throughout our 2 week trip to Morocco!

The gardens are stunning with so many different terraces, benches, and even beds to curl up on and read a book in the shade whilst looking out over the roses to the incredible views of the atlas mountains.

Amanda and the team were always on hand to help with anything and everything. Our car hire was sorted out and delivered to the Kasbah, a massage and hammam, a wonderful 4 hour trek to see the waterfalls and anything else that we needed or wanted.

We are planning our return trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our room overlooked the Berber villages and the valley and the sunset was awesome! The garden were beautifully laid and the pool inviting with the backdrop of the Atlas mountains. The food was superb every day and the servers absolutely charming.
We went on a 6 or 7hrs's walk with a guide and had lunch in a Berber home, which was the highlight of our stay.
Rabia, a mother of 7, showed us proudly her very modest home and served us a most delicious chicken tagine in her sitting room/ children's bedroom. Next door to the open air kitchen, a cow had just given birth to a calf a few hours before. The two stunningly beautiful older girls stayed at home to help with the chores and looking after the younger babies. The men were ploughing the fields and bringing a supply of water back home. Our guide Mohammed was brilliant, and even had a supply of water for us, but he did set the pace on this 22kms' walk! Be warned! We would not have missed the whole experience for anything in the world. Rabia never stopped smiling the whole time. It was a very humbling experience.
We walked on our own the second day along the river, but had to make a 2kms' detour as I refused to walk across on a very precarious bridge!
Would stay there again without any hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillbrookCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
15.5 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
3.1 mi away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
23.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Property: Kasbah Bab Ourika
Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kasbah Bab Ourika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing