We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Bentley Brook Inn(Fenny Bentley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
164
100
41
33
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
100
41
33
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolrally roomon sitetissington trailgreat siteplay areahot waterwashing machinebank holiday weekendgreat weekendgreat facilitiesvisited ashbournecamping tripdog walklovely lodgeclean siteshower facilities
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A beautiful, quiet, well manicured, green site with large pitches, friendly / helpful staff, good, clean facilities (toilets / showers) and services for our motorhome.

Lots of nearby footpaths to :Thorpe, Dovedale etc and all the other local attractions.
We would stay there again :)

Room Tip: Its a short 15min walk (paved when on the road) to the Pub in Fenny Bentley - relatively expensive, but high quality food.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had 2 nights in the Peak Field with 3 boys and our dog, the Field is on the outer edge of the camp site so a few mins walk to the toilet block. It was great with generous plots, nice and quiet at night (they told us to book in this area if we did not want it too lively) and bordering on a great flat cycle trail. Swimming pool is small and an extra charge - numbers are capped so plan when you want to use it so you avoid disappointment. No life guard so you must supervise kids. Loos were spotless so a recommend from us all!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iainwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I travelled with our dog for a long weekend and stayed in Lodge 12. We were gobsmacked when we arrived, and despite reading the reviews on here before we went we were still blown away with the beauty of both Ashbourne Heights and the lodges.

We actually arrived a couple of hours early as we planned on grabbing a bite to eat at the local pub (about 2 mins drive away) but in the end decided to try our luck and see if our lodge was ready. It was, and the lovely ladies on reception handed my husband the keys and off we went to our lodge.

We truly enjoyed our stay here and are already planning our next visit.

Our Lodge:

~ Outside - we had a large decking area to the front and side of the lodge (overlooking the garden), and were provided with a large glass patio table with 4 large chairs and a parasol.
~ Living Room - consisted of an electric fire, wall mounted tv with dvd player, 2 little tables, a rug and 3 x two seater sofas.
~ Dining Room - Table with 4 chairs, table mats and coasters.
~ Kitchen - Kettle, Gas hob and oven, microwave, washing machine, fridge freezer. We also had an island and 2 bar stools as well. There was every pot and pan, plate and egg cup you could wish for, as well as tea, coffe, sugar, washing up liquid, even cling film and tin foil!
~ Bedrooms - had plenty of storage in both rooms and around a dozen coat hangers as well as 4 lots of bath and hand towels.

There is also a mop, hoover, clothes airer, iron, ironing board and a christmas tree! - it really is a home from home.

Information for dog owners:

This really is a place that welcomes your dogs, all they ask is that they are kept on a lead in public areas and you clean up after them (there are plenty of dog bins dotted all around). In our kitchen there were 2 doggy bowls and a cute little mat waiting for us which I thought was a really nice touch. Although the garden area isn't fenced off it is still a safe and secure area for dogs to be on, as well as being a great size for them to have a bit of a run. Tissington Trail is a great walk to go on (you access the trail from the bridge that you cross as you enter Ashbourne Heights) less than a 5 minute walk from the lodges.

We would recommend that if you are likely to experience any rain during your stay then it's worth taking some old towels or puppy training pads as with the exception of the kitchen and bathroom, there are cream carpets throughout.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank TrelawnyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Most of the good reviews I've read come from people who rented the one of the lodges on this park. However we had a totally different experience as motorhome users. We were made to feel that we were not welcome on the site as most of the pitches seemed to be occupied by "regulars". When we checked in there were 2 disinterested people on reception. They hardly acknowledged us and told the man who was cutting the grass to show us where our pitch was. This turned out to be an asphalt car park space on the rally field, right next to the rubbish skips and totally useless as we couldn't use our awning or canopy. We made the booking in January and paid in full so I expected that a proper pitch would have been reserved for us.The woman in reception very begrudgingly found us another pitch on a grassed area at the side of the approach road to the site - better but a long way from the toilets and without any form of lighting at night it was a long dark trek. The shower block was very old and basic and not what I would expect from a site at the more expensive end of the scale. The floors and showers were constantly covered in big clumps of cut grass, the basin worktops soaking wet and the hand dryer cracked and out of use. The washing up area was not cleaned in the entire period we were there and was covered in mud and cut grass. We had come from another site in the Peak District which at £20 per night had far superior, clean, modern facilities and friendly staff who provided us with lots of useful local information - as do most sites. It seems the only thing they were interested in doing here was cutting the grass but as no attempt was made to clear any of it up the whole site was covered in clumps of cut grass. Most of the camp was occupied by touring caravans which were being used as statics. It was like a ghost town for the first few days so we able to use the showers (only 4 for each sex) without any problems. On Friday this all changed when there was a sudden invasion by hundreds of people who seem to use the campsite as somewhere to have a barbeque and get drunk every weekend. Despite the advertised 10.30pm curfew we were kept awake way into the night by drunken shouts and screams. Fine if this is what you want but if you are looking for a peaceful and safe holiday base please don't even consider this place. We are regular campsite users and go away several times throughout the year but felt so uncomfortable here that we tried to stay out as long as possible to avoid going back. We felt unable to sit outside over the weekend as the people either side of us were drinking and swearing and would not leave us in peace. The only plus I can give this site is the location, which is fantastic if you are into cycling or walking as it is right on the Tissington Trail. It's a pity that this is not exploited more by the site owners who seem to prefer to use it as a boozy Mecca for locals rather than a holiday site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Spent 3 nights in one of the lodges with my 9 year old son and our 2 cocker spaniels and we couldn't have asked for a lovelier holiday. Our lodge was like "home from home" with everything we needed to enjoy our stay and was set in a nice quiet location overlooking a green. The site was well equipped for the dogs with plenty of poo bins, a dedicated dog walk area and water bowls outside the shop. There is a large, fenced in play area which my son (even with a broken arm) enjoyed hanging out on and making new friends. The park is in a great location next to the Tissington Trail and we had two lovely walks to Thorpe/Dovedale and Tissington.
We would definitely love to come back (minus the broken arm) and try the swimming pool and some bike rides along the trail!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews