We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop off for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentley Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bentley Brook Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stop off for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped off here for lunch today during a group motorcycle trip around the area. Friendly and very helpful staff. Good food and a large choice. Didn't wait too long. Nice surroundings with a large eating out area and gardens. Well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley Brook I, Manager at Bentley Brook Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Bentley Brook Inn.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your food with us and found the surroundings and gardens pleasant.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    106
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
97
204
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

After a few issues in the restaurant on the first night, Wendy the owner was very apologetic and sorted our complaint out very professionally. The second night was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The rooms although perhaps a little old school 80s pine offered a comfortable bed with all expected facilities. they were very clean:- thanks to the two bubbly house keepers we met (Edna & Nita). The breakfast Was really nice (thanks Edna) and the evening meal was home made and very tasty.Vicki our young host was excellent and very chatty.Overall once our little problem was sorted I would not hesitate to visit again. Knowing that it is an Inn where the people care about thre customers.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley Brook I, Manager at Bentley Brook Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the Bentley Brook Inn.

We are really pleased to hear that your issue was resolved quickly and efficiently and I will pass on your lovely comments to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for a few days in July. It's a great hotel. Really welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent and the rooms lovely with great character. Great location and we would definatley stay here again. In a beautiful area and close to lots of this to do, as long as you have a car to travel. Really and excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room, would love to have seen a 4 poster bed room. Definatley next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley Brook I, Manager at Bentley Brook Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the Bentley Brook Inn.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the quirky character of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon into our four poster room perhaps!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Visited this hotel on an Amazon deal and what a great value for money stay. The Hotel has loads of History and character. The Owners, a lovely friendly Husband and Wife team who where very helpful and accommodating to our every need. The Staff were also very friendly and attentive without being over bearing.

The room was cosy and overlooked the beer garden but had a lovely view of the country side. We had a meal on our first night and the quality and quantity were very impressive. The food throughout our stay was of a very high standard and the portion sizes were large, so be warned you'll need your walking boots to work off the calories!

Great Location to explore the peak district with a stunning wee market town of Ashbourne only a short walk away, about 2 miles on narrow paths along a very busy road.

If you are new to the peak district or returning to enjoy a stunning part of the UK then i would recommend this hotel whole heartedly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip9528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley Brook I, Manager at Bentley Brook Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Bentley Brook Inn

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your compliments to the staff!

We hope to be welcoming you again soon.

The managament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Use it for business stays midweek. Brought a Belgian colleague this time who was enchanted by the setting, the fittings and the quaintness. Clean and well equipped (and maybe old fashioned, but in keeping with the building). Dinner offered some interesting local dishes at reasonable cost - well presented, served by friendly staff. If it's up to its usual standard, breakfast tomorrow is something to look forward to!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley Brook I, Manager at Bentley Brook Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Bentley Brook Inn

We enjoy welcoming both business and private customers and are pleased that you felt that the hotel met your needs and those of your colleagues!

We hope to welcome you again soon.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We (family) were delighted to stay here.
The family room was both good and clean.
Dinner was attractive, well priced and service was first class.
Breakfast was also very good.
Situated not too far from Alton Towers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley Brook I, Manager at Bentley Brook Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Bentley Brook Inn

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be back to visit us again soon on your next visit to Alton Towers!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This pub is really conveniently located for campers staying at the local camp sites at Fenny Bentley, it was a 5-10 minute walk for us. The pub is really sprawling and offers accommodation. We didn't stay but we booked a meal in the bar over a week in advance for a family meal. The pub is dog friendly, but meals are understandably served in the bar area if you have dogs with you.

On arrival, we struggled to find a member of staff to advise we had arrived, when we did find someone, we were directed to a corner of the bar, we were a family of six, but there were two tables pulled together for us, although one of the tables was shorter than the other which was not ideal. As we booked in advance, I did anticipate the table would have been ready for us, although it was empty, it had not even been cleaned and there was some crusty old food on the coaster on the table which we had to clear ourselves.

The staff who served us were very polite, friendly and helpful. I really was expecting very well cooked food with local ingredients based on the reviews I had read previously, but I'm sorry to report this was not the reality. I would describe the food as very average, vegetables appeared to be the frozen type heated in the microwave and chips described as home made thick cut were not thick cut. That said, the fish was nicely presently in a novel basket which was a nice touch.

When we'd finished the meal, a number of staff members walked past our table despite there being dirty plates, we had to put these in a pile before a staff member eventually came to clear them. We also visited on a Friday when there is an offer for 2 free drinks when you purchase 2 fish dishes, despite us ordering 3 fish dishes and numerous drinks, staff did not give us the free drinks but we noted the error and requested 2 free drinks after we had paid the bill, which they honoured.

Unfortunately, this was not a fantastic experience and based on it, I wouldn't be tempted to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley Brook I, Manager at Bentley Brook Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Bentley Brook Inn.

We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meals with us but take all feedback very seriously.

Firstly, I would like to address the issues you have raised about service for which there is no excuse. We pride ourselves on offering guests a fantastic service and I would like to apologise personally for the service you have received as it did not meet your expectations; we are currently training a large number of new staff as the summer approaches and it may be that this was why you did not receive your free drinks however, this is no excuse and I assure you that I will address this at our next whole staff meeting.

Secondly, I would like to apologise for the fact that the food did not meet with your expectations. I can assure you that we use no frozen vegetables aside from peas, and our "chunky" chips are home rumbled and cut, although we do offer skinny chips and both should have been offered to you when you ordered.

Finally, we would like to reassure you that this is not the service that we aim to offer to our valued customers and would like to take the opportunity to encourage you to return and to assure you that you that your feedback has been taken on board and will be addressed with all staff.


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenny Bentley
2.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
12.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
7.3 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Brook Inn

Property: Bentley Brook Inn
Address: Fenny Bentley, Fenny Bentley, Peak District National Park DE6 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Fenny Bentley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fenny Bentley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley Brook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Inn with 11 en suite bedrooms. We are fully licensed for Weddings and Civil Ceremonies and have a large function room. Located just outside the town of Ashbourne, close to the Tissington trail and Dove Dale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bentley Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Brook Inn Fenny Bentley, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing