We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Yew Tree Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yew Tree Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Yew Tree Cottage
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fenny Bentley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
liz28
uk
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We booked for my birthday and our stay was amazing, its a beautiful cottage and everything you could need is here including bikes if you want to use them, beds are very good quality and we slept well, we did use the log fire in the evenings but turned the heating down as it became so warm, every thing is of good quality great wifi connection , we were so pleased we found this beautiful cottage near to so many beautiful places to visit, the weather was warm and sunny all weekend, would we recommend this cottage without a doubt and I am sure we will be booking again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A beautiful and charming typically Olde English cottage. This has been tastefully decorated in an up to date fashion whilst retaining the old cottage feel. It is very comfortable and we didn't want for anything. The reason we gave a four and not five scoring was that we found the heavy traffic passing the cottage quite imposing - this would be worthy of consideration if (like me) you are a light sleeper.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Utopia does exist”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A great modernised and maintained cottage for a base in the Peak District. All eventualities catered for with great attention to detail for a short (or longer stay)
Super atmosphere, clean and welcoming and the wood burner was a godsend on cold and murky nights (which we experienced) The information supplied was comprehensive for the cottage itself and the surrounding areas.
Cannot recommend this 'bolt hole' highly enough
Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill O
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We've just spent a super weekend in Yew Tree Cottage and can't recommend it highly enough! Arriving on a grey, damp autumnal afternoon we were soon feeling warm and cosy in this lovely cottage. It's obviously been renovated to a very high standard and had everything we needed to make our weekend comfortable and relaxing. We were able to do a lovely walk straight from the cottage itself to Thorpe Cloud - the views were terrific! We also did a walk along the High Peak Trail - a really good walk with lots of great views again. We went for a meal at the George at Alstonefield on Saturday evening and would definitely recommend it - it's been nominated by the Times as one of the best country pubs. We also nipped into Ashbourne and loved this charming little town. Overall, a really successful weekend with lots to do and see from an excellent base.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royjones1...
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Ahome from home”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have been to Yew Tree cottage several times and have always ben impressed by its comfort, cleanliness and all round welcoming atmosphere. The owners have always been most helpful, leaving gifts for when we arrive plus a personal greeting card. We have always enjoyed our stay and look forward to going again in the near future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful & comfortable stone cottage”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a very pretty cottage, in a rural location on the edge of the Derbyshire Dales/Peak District. It was furnished to a very high standard with a lovely blend of new and antique furnishings. The kitchen was modern and well-equipped. The garden was small but well- stocked. Although on a main road, there was not much traffic at night so it did not disturb us. There are plenty of shops nearby in Ashbourne and it is well situated for a variety of attractions and the 2 local pubs. The linen supplied was good quality and the wine & chocolates were a nice gesture. Overall it is a lovely cottage and excellent value!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The period features and location
Liked least: The windows were small so there wasn't much natural light.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn-Mari...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage in the beautiful Peak District”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in Yew Tree Cottage for 5 days as part of our summer holiday trip to the UK. My husband wanted to experience the English countryside, some gentle walks and some good pubs and Yew Tree Cottage provided the perfect base for us to do this. The cottage is in a good, easy to find location. We had a large 7 seater car which we parked on the lane next the house with no issues. We explored Ashbourne, Thorpe, the Tissington trail, Dovedale, Ilam Park and Matlock while staying at the cottage. Our 6 year old son really enjoyed the latter 3 as he could paddle in the river, run round large gardens, play in the woods and feed the ducks etc. The local pub, the Coach and Horses, in Fenny Bentley was lovely as was the Old Dog in Thorpe. We also enjoyed the Bluebell Inn which had HUGE portions of good food and a children's play area in the garden.

The cottage itself was a beautiful mix of traditional timber and old stone features along with a sparkling modern bathroom and very well equipped kitchen. It is furnished and maintained to a high standard throughout and is very clean. Being able to play music in the bathroom through the lounge stereo was a great touch that my son particularly enjoyed. We loved the many thoughtful touches throughout the cottage and felt very at home there. Sally, who was an incredibly helpful host right from the time of booking, had also left us a welcome pack and provided books, leaflets on the local area and games for guests to use during their stay. The printed information on the local area and the reliable house wi-fi were both great in helping us to plan our outings.

The bedrooms make the cottage ideal for a family with one double room and one twin room upstairs. The beds were all very comfortable and used hypoallergenic bedding. It was rather hot at night during our stay as the temperatures reached a high of 30 degrees during the day (unusual for the UK!). My son and husband slept happily with the windows open but I was initially a little disturbed by passing traffic. I also slept fine from the 2nd night though - the long walks, fresh air and filling pub meals helped :) It was a very minor thing in an otherwise perfect stay but perhaps a fan would help for those few rare days each year when Britain is really hot. I'm sure the lovely heated floor and traditional wood burner downstairs are perfect for heating up the house on colder days.

We would definitely recommend this cottage to family and friends for anyone wanting to explore the Peak District in comfort. We were delighted to find such a well-kept property in such a beautiful area of the UK. Thank you to Sally and Roger for caring about their guests. We now have many happy family memories from this trip and our stay at the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully maintained cottage, with traditional features and modern fittings, in a great area.
Liked least: It was hot in the bedrooms as the local temp reached 30 degrees when we stayed - need fans?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing