We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B and B”
Review of Holly Meadow Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Meadow Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Bradley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An excellent B and B”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed 1 night 10 July. Tom and Babette couldn't have been kinder or more helpful, or better hosts. We enjoyed being shown the orchard and walking round the Farm, where there is a considerable conservation effort. We both overate the previous night and weren't able to do justice to a superb cooked breakfast. will certainly stay there again when next in Derbyshire. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myanmarPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Having traveled to the Peak District to meet up with family who were already holidaying near Matlock, we had Holly Meadow booked for us by my brother-in-law. This turned out to be an absolutely fantastic choice. As we reached the farmhouse along the long track, we couldn't quite believe our eyes. A stunning house situated in an even more amazing location. Babette welcomed us and was very warm and friendly. After chatting for a while, we were shown to our rooms. Both were ensuite and very spacious, beautifully decorated. There were facilities to make hot drinks which was well stocked, a mini fridge with water and milk and homemade biscuits! Amazing views were available from every window across the farm fields. Babette offered us a map of the farm with various walks which we did. It was around the woods so we took our daughter before her bedtime and she loved it.

We went down for breakfast just after 8am and the room itself was so warm and cosy. There was a selection of cereal available, tea and coffee, fruit juice and fruit that was picked from the farm. Babette chatted with us for over an hour as she bought in the full english breakfast on a platter. All the products were sourced locally and the eggs came from the chickens who lived in the orchard.

When we make our next visit to the Peaks, Holly Meadow will be our port of call! Everything about it was first class!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babette L, Owner at Holly Meadow Farm, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We did enjoy your company. It was wonderful to meet 3 generations in one go. All the best with the arrival of the next family member!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a wonderful two night break at Holly Meadow Farm whilst exploring the Peak District. The welcome and hospitality that Babette and Tom gave me, my two daughters and black labrador were second to none. After a wet day walking, Babette kindly offered to dry our clothes and boots overnight so we were all set for the following day. Our rooms were well equipped and nicely furnished with lovely views over the surrounding farm and countryside.
The breakfast that Babette cooked each morning was amazing and kept us going for most of the day! It was lovely taking the dog out for walks around the farm and we had a very enjoyable and informative walk around the wood and farmland with Tom.
We'd definitely come back and were made to feel more like friends than clients.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue2461817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The owners Babette and Tom are very friendly and welcoming; they brought us delicious home made cake when we arrived! Our room was spacious and clean, and well-supplied with tea, coffee, milk (proper milk, not plastic sachets!), biscuits (also home made!) and even a little fridge with chilled bottles of water! The bathroom was also well-stocked with even a bathrobe each. Babette and Tom are so nice that you feel like you can happily ask for anything extra that you need.

We had a double-aspect double room with a beautiful view over the fields and trees. We didn't bring a dog, but it is nice that dogs are welcome by arrangement. We were provided with plenty of local information about where to eat, where to visit etc.

The breakfast was amazing! All freshly cooked and delicious. We could have cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, full English breakfast (tasty and not in the least greasy!) with Derbyshire oatcakes, followed by toast and home made preserves. There are only two rooms in the B&B and when there was another guest Babette told us what time they were having breakfast so we could eat with them and chat. Tom and Babette were always nice and talked with us during breakfast, but not so much as to feel intrusive - just right.

Definitely I would recommend this B&B to anyone, it is a lovely location, very high quality accommodation and great breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlewhitebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Just had a wonderful overnight stay at Holly Meadow Farm. Babette and Tom were very kind indeed, only sorry that I didn't have space for the cake on offer! The room and furnishings were beautiful, as were the peace,surroundings and food. Wish my stay was longer than one night; will be back with the family and dog. Thanks very much, you were wonderful hosts and it felt like a rest cure rather than a business trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmiller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Reading the reviews we could not agree more quality bedding and towels could be added to list of quality furniture that sits in the largebedrooms, our dog DJ the Jack Russell was made more than welcome.
Would we stay here again.
YES!!!!
P.S.
Tom could you do an english man a favour and sneak some HP brown sauce past the french babette! sarcre bleu . . . . .
Steve Les+ DJ

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forest5-1derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babette L, Owner at Holly Meadow Farm, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
HP brown sauce is awaiting your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here for a relaxing walking weekend with the dogs without the children we were all made to feel very welcome babette and Tom were fantastic hosts we were greeted with homemade cake and tea, the room was lovely with a big en-suite and everything you could need in there. A fab location lovely views and a breakfast big enough to keep you going all day but not just quantity, quality as well. We really enjoyed chatting with them and Tom and babette have a very lovely home we will definitely stay there again sometime and can recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The one with the big en-suite bathroom dual aspect windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradley
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
319 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Thorpe Cottage Country Guest House
5.8 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 25 in Ashbourne
143 reviews
3.2 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#2 of 25 in Ashbourne
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Meadow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Meadow Farm

Property: Holly Meadow Farm
Address: Holly Meadow Farm Pinfold Lane | Ashbourne, Bradley, Ashbourne DE6 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Bradley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bradley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly Meadow Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our farmhouse Bed & Breakfast lies in 280 acres of one of the most picturesque parts of Derbyshire. A few miles from Dovedale and the Peak District, the stunning surrounding countryside affords our guests an ideal opportunity to relax and enjoy the many attractions which are on our doorstep. We offer spacious en-suite double rooms with far reaching views, period furniture and genuine home comforts including a room fridge.Our generous Aga cooked breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients, award winning sausages and bacon, our homemade preserves and our own freerange eggs will set you up for a full day of exploring. You can walk from the front door and go for a stroll on the farm. We are very keen to protect and enhance our environment. We have installed solar panels to produce electricity and you can use our E-car socket to recharge your vehicle. We have planted over 3000 trees and have attracted many bird species to the farm.In the evening local foody pubs offer a good range of dishes and prices all within a 5 miles radius. Holly Meadow Farm is a peaceful and relaxing oasis away from the crowds and you are assured of a very warm welcome.Visit England has awarded us 4 star with silver and breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holly Meadow Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Meadow Farm Bradley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing