We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Ilam Hall
Nearby Hotels
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel(Ashbourne)(Great Value!)
US$103
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$360
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
141
90
16
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
90
16
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchengames roomyouth hostelbunk bedsalton towersnational truststately hometable footballyoung childrenstaff were brilliantgreat facilitiespeak districtcommunal areasbeautiful hostelquiet roomfamily roomlovely building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Youth hostels where never like this in my younger days.
After a recent revamp found, Immaculately clean toilets and showers, Tastefully decorated games/telly room and quiet living room. Even a bar ( to attract weddings and functions, I believe).
Do under 10's really go free?
Food was your average fare, but plentiful, with a special super spread for New Years Eve.
The setting, as others have pointed out, is simply stunning with clear, star studded skies at night.
Well geared up for families and young children.
Was happy to have a 4 bed room to myself, but with 3 others it would be a squeeze. Other rooms vary in size.
Great for walkers with Dovedale just up the road.
Only gave it 3 stars as it is still a youth hostel and not a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad you had a good stay with us, enjoying our food, common spaces and beautiful surroundings. It is great to hear that we are doing things right to enable our guests to have an enjoyable stay.

In answer to your question, under 10s can eat for free with us during our regular evening meal service; with one child under 10 getting a free two course meal per adult purchasing a meal. As a note, this was not applicable to guests over the Christmas and New Year period taking part in our package deal.

I am also glad to hear that you were happy with your room, as you mention our rooms do vary in size and we try and allocate guests to the most suitable room for their booking. However, not every room is the same, so we allocate the most appropriate room to bookings on a first come first served basis, so I would advise any one booking to let us know of any particular requirements for their room so that we can do our best accommodate you to the best room.

Once again, thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have been a life member of the YHA for more than 50 year and stayed in their hostels in many countries. Ilam Hall is a charming hostel in a beautiful setting but very remote. So I was disappointed to discover that no food items were available to buy. eg canned beans or packet noodles.They want you to eat their meals. I was unlucky to get one that was not very nice. It has always been a YHA tradition to cater for budget travellers even those with out cars. So if you want to be self catering and don't have a car your out of luck, there's nowhere within walking distance. Otherwise hostel is lovely, nice rooms and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inekenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello,

I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit to Ilam Hall with regards to our lack of a shop. Unfortunately we do not have the space or resources to have a shop at the Hall, we do however have a good selection of snack items, milk, juice and hot and cold drinks which are all at very reasonable prices. I would advise anyone who is planning to self cater to pick up anything they need prior to arrival as the closest shop is 15 minutes away.

I do hope that this has not put you off visiting us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We recently used Ilam Hall for our weekend away at alton towers. It took us a while to find the hotel, caution on the roads if you have a weighed down car. It may struggle.
We got to the hotel about around 10.45 and our welcome was friendly. The games room/bar was full of drunk adults being rather loud.
We found our room which was ok. 4 bunk beds and a sink, we had to make the beds up which is fine but it meant you could see the stains on the duvet etc. underneath.
We all slept ok the only comment we really had from the group was that the pillows were a little flat.
There were two showers at the end of our corridor and the water was a little cold in the morning but it did the job.
Breakfast service was Brilliant! A lovely selection to chose from hot and cold and lots of room to sit.
Overall our experience was different to what we were use to but the setting and surrounding was beautiful and would probably come again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you would probably return and use us again.

With regards to your comments about the duvets, we do check them regularly and replace them as and when required. The house keeping team have done a thorough check of this recently and will continue to do so. We also replace the pillows regularly but if you ever require an additional pillow then please ask at reception and we would be happy to provide you with one.

I do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Having stumbled across yha ilam hall purely by chance, we where after somewhere cheap and easy to base ourselves for a walking/climbing mini mission.

Your first impressions when arriving is a wow, it's hard to belive that such a stunning establishment could be a youth hostel!

It's worth noting that this is a youth hostel and not a hotel, so you will have to make your own bed and use communal socialising spaces to unwind as you won't find a tv and mini bar in your room! If your willing to put a sheet on a bed and case on a pillow then your in for a real treat here.

The staff here are exquisite, friendly and helpful, and always happy to help, they are very knowledgeable with great suggestions as how to spend a day, we took a recommendation from a member of staff to visit a local house, Chatsworth house, a stunning perfect recommendation.

To really see what ilam is like come and see for yourself! We'll definitely be returning.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank huggies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your positive words about Ilam Hall, its staff and the local attractions we are lucky enough to have.

I am glad to hear that you will be returning to see us some time soon, we look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Firstly, lets cut to the chase given some of the ridiculous comments I have seen about Ilam Hall on Tripadvisor - this is NOT a Hotel, its a Youth Hostel so you are expected to chip in and ..... make your own beds up and strip them down on checking out(bed linen is provided, but bring towels), clear up your crockery at meal times, queue for your food in the canteen, etc. We stayed at Ilam Hall for 2 nights with our 2 young children in an ensuite room that was spacious and spotlessly clean. The building that the YHA is based in is truely a remarkable place and is an experience in itself with a vast expanse of grounds in which to explore or you can venture a little bit further (easy walking distance) to the Dovedale steeping stones, Ilam Rock and caves (Dove Holes). The Manager (Gillian) made our stay absolutely perfect and nothing was too much trouble. She was very friendly and always took the time to chat even though it was clear she was a busy lady! We found the meals and drinks (at the bar) to be reasonably priced and of good quality, especially the cooked breakfasts (we ate here both nights to save the hassle of driving elsewhere or cooking ourselves). We all enjoyed it so much we have booked again in early 2014!

Room Tip: Book a family room with ensuite, its worth the extra
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilammanager, General Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It's really nice to have someone appreciate us for who we are. I love the yha and I love working for them and it's great too see our customers loving it too. See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews