We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hospitality and a superb room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great hospitality and a superb room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The bed was beautifully soft, the room smelled delightfully too and the whirlpool bath was an added bonus. We ate a fantastic breakfast to the pleasant sounds of classical music and the breakfast room was tall-ceilinged and very spacious overall. It was the nicest English cooked breakfast I have experienced. If you want to be totally spoiled stay here. I almost forgot the beautiful gardens with absolutely stunning views.

Room Tip: The rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nickycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Nicky. I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thankyou for the lovey feedback on our rooms and your 'breakfast' experience. We hope to welcome you back again some time. Best wishes, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    178
    49
    22
    9
See reviews for
110
358
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had our Silver Wedding party on the 11th July, There were 80 people for a three course meal in the Haddon restaurant. The chef Simon put together a fabulous menu, all the food was homemade and of top restaurant quality. The staff were very organised and created a relaxed atmosphere. It was a warm Summer evening, lovely for family and friends to sit outside having drinks in the garden with amazing views over Dovedale. The evening was a very special one for us and the Izaak Walton completed the picture. Special thank you to Shura for all her help and attention to detail. The Izaak Walton is a great venue. Thank you Sue and David

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Sue and David. Thank you for choosing the Izaak Walton to celebrate your special occasion. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable evening in the Haddon Restaurant. I will pass on your thanks to all the team with a special mention to Shura for organising the event for you and to our head chef Simon who created your menu. Best wishes from James and all at the Izaak Walton Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had just a one night stop over as we were in the area and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Fantastic position for walking through Dovedale and surrounding area. Views of the Peak District are wonderful. Had a lovely room- overlooking the hills and the valley. Enjoyed a freshly cooked breakfast and also had bar meals on both days. Best and largest ploughmans's lunch I have ever had! Attentive service. Thanks for a very relaxing time. We will be back- hopefully for a longer stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Allan, thank you for reviewing us. Great news that you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed our Poughmans lunch. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool uk
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at the izzak walton following its re opening and not disappointed. This is one of our favourite hotels and we were disappointed when it closed but not that surprised. The new owners have made improvements to the exterior and re decorated the communal areas and some rooms,but they are a bit dated and the chintz needs removing!
Service is excellent with very attentive and enthusiastic staff nothing is to much trouble and the food if anything is better with breakfast good .
So give the izzak walton a try if you haven't been before it great with fantastic views in a lovely location . The new owners deserve to make this a success and i am sure it will be if they carry on improving the Hotel .Well done for taking on this challenge and bringing back this Hotel into life !

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking Thorpe (or the Cloud) they are the best views although most rooms (other t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmaureenandmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thankyou for your lovely comments about the Izaak Walton and kind wishes to us as we continue to put the hotel back where it belongs! We are pleased you like the improvements to date and will keep chipping away. Best wishes, james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Things have not changed that much inside, thankfully, but the sandwiches are not as good quality and the service was hit and miss. Teething probs, hopefully. It'd be good if they used local produce. Reasonable value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyMargulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Molly, thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that the service was hit and miss. The staff are on a steep learning curve but we are working hard to get them up to speed. If ever there is a choice of sandwich not on the menu please do ask as we will try and accommodate all requests if it is available in the kitchen. You will be pleased to hear that most of our produce is already sourced locally as we are keen to source locally for all suppliers. Best wishes, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Askrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have recently returned from a three day break in glorious Dovedale, staying at the Izzak Walton hotel, which has been recently re-opened by new owners and their families. The surroundings, the staff and the welcome could not be bettered anywhere. We were very well looked after and every effort was made to assure our comfort. Not being hoteliers before the team are the first to admit they have a huge learning curve infront of them and invite constructive comments from their guests. We had a large room with superb views and a most comfortable bed,, the morning alarm was provided by a local cow, whose timing needed some adjustment, however she did improve!! The food was excellent and well presented , but hopefully the "a la carte " menu will change regularly and grow a little to offer slightly more choice , and will include a bigger range of cheeses. The bar menu was varied and proportions were big, we did not need more than one course, even though we ate two!. It is an ideal centre for walking, fishing or visiting the pretty towns and villages of the Peak District. Would we stay
here again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Margaret , thank you for taking the time to review us and for you're kind comments. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and were treated wel by our hard working team. A new A la Carte menu is being launched over the next week along with a wider selection of cheese. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from James and the IW team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has been re-furbished and re-opened only 6 weeks ago by an excellent team of hard working and friendly staff. It is hard to mention them all by name but led by Shura who works hard to please all who stay. They are surely going to build up a large following of satisfied regulars. We stayed in a pleasant room with large double bed overlooking the garden and fields.The food is excellent and well presented and hopefully a larger 'a la carte' will be available soon with a wider " selection of cheese"!! .The walking and views directly form the hotel make this a place to return to often. We will soon!

Room Tip: All rooms at front and side have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_P186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel, Shura and our team. It has been a hectic 6 weeks and it is good to know that we are getting most things right but we know there is always room for improvement! A new A La carte is being launched next week and I will pass on your comments to the chef about a slightly wider choice of dishes and cheese. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for taking the time to review us. best wishes, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilam
11.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
21.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
19.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Izaak Walton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Izaak Walton Hotel

Property: The Izaak Walton Hotel
Address: | Dovedale, Nr. Ashbourne, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Ilam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Izaak Walton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Izaak Walton Hotel is a family owned Country House Hotel. Set in beautiful Dovedale just a short walk from the River Dove and the famous 'Stepping Stones.' The Haddon restaurant with spectacular views of 'Thorpe Cloud' serves a daily A La Carte menu. The bar is open daily from 9am to 11pm for lunches, afternoon tea and evening bar menu. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Izaak Walton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Izaak Walton Hotel Ilam, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing