We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pub Food”
Review of The Bluebell Inn

The Bluebell Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Tissington
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Made very welcome and a good and friendly service

I had the mixed grill which was part of a Tuesday Evening Steak special offer

The portion was huge and all the various meats on the plate was cooked perfectly

We found it a little more expensive than the other two pubs we ate at in the area but never the less excellent value

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DPJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    67
    37
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not enjoyed by all!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went here with some friends. There were four of us. The service was very bad! There was one person serving drinks, taking orders, serving the meals & clearing tables, although these were not done quickly! There were two tables near us that we're not cleared the whole time we were there!

There was no atmosphere and I have to say the meals were nothing out of the ordinary.

Sorry, but would not return!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susiewoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashbourne derbyshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After previously attending many functions at the Bluebell and finding the food excellent we booked for Sunday lunch. May i say that the whole experience was great. We ordered a roast beef, 2 roast lamb and a rump steak and the quality and taste of the meat was excellent. The vegetables were cooked perfectly and the portion sizes fantastic. The staff were very pleasant and very willing to make sure that we were happy with our orders. There were people waiting for a table to become vacant. We have eaten out at lots of different pubs in the area and this one is in our top 3 if not at the top. We will definitely go here again, it was worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetw53661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go here if you're hungry!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well cooked food with specials but portion sizes too big Warm welcome barman very friendly Decor a little tired -needs a lick of paint n updating -reducing the portion sizes would increase the profits! No real atmosphere

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sxy012023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family experience”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Visited on a bank holiday when looking for somewhere to accommodate 6 adults and a toddler for lunch. From the moment we entered everything was very friendly and relaxed. We got a table easily and the menu offered a wide range of choices. I thought the menu was average prices for a good independent pub/restaurant, but when we saw the portions it was excellent value! The food was all piping hot, well cooked and full of flavour. If you have a tiny appetite then I would probably chose something of the 'lighter lunch' menu, but I have to give the chef credit for being able to produce such a diverse menu to such a good standard.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bluebell Inn also viewed

Thorpe, Ashbourne
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
 
Tissington, Peak District National Park
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Bluebell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing