We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
A trip back in time!

David really has done a wonderful job of converting the old post office into this fantastic little... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2018
karenhG1663FK
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fabulous

Friendly owner. Tasty sweets. It was like walking back into the past. Highly recommend paying a... read more

Reviewed 7 October 2018
Katie P
,
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 125 reviews
  
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
120
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fudge sweet shop the owner little gem step back in time tissington trail old fashioned beautiful shop all sorts trip down memory lane behind the counter childhood memories blast from the past sugar rush customer service hope valley last week
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015

we had a wander up the Tissington trail, and arrived at the village, beautiful village, impressive hall, and a old fashioned Butcher, tea rooms, and then a lovely old fashioned sweet shop.
Jars of you favourites, lots of curio's tins etc, a really pleasant way to spend an hour or so, and to buy some of those sweets you haven't tasted for years.
The owner is pleasant and chatty, a fountain of knowledge.
Definitely worth a visit

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank johnl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrEdward1, Owner at Edward and Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Oh a fountain of knowledge!! Some may beg to differ but thank you anyway! I hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Popped in while having a look around the area. The kids loved it. Proper old fashioned sweet shop appeal. Jars of sweets to choose from and a good variety of home made fudge too. A very friendly lady served us and we bought 4 slices of fudge which didn't last us long!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Hartley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrEdward1, Owner at Edward and Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post, I will pass on your feed back to Liz, hope to see you again. Best wishes Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Lovely old house (previously a post office) housing a wonderful vintage sweet shop. Amazing little building, wonderful choice of sweets. Try their own butter tablet. Always busy but well worth any wait you might have ;)

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrEdward1, Owner at Edward and Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Its people like you giving us such great feed back that keep us busy, so thank you for your kind words it does mean a lot to us. Hope to see you again soon and also enjoyed your sweets too! Best wishes Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

I have been here a few times and every person's welcomed like they are family. The staff are so lovely and you can clearly see that they love what they do. They have so many sweets from childhood that it's hard to get these days. My favourite is the toffee nibbles. Lovely place if a bit tight on space. Had a mulled wine I think it was over Christmas one time whilst there with friends. Recommend as a must to visit if you are in the area. :-)

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrEdward1, Owner at Edward and Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you for your kind words it does mean a lot to us. Hope you enjoyed your sweets too! Best wishes Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

What a super sweet shop - we bought 4 bars of homemade fudge - so glad we hung around until 11am for it to open. It would have been nice to know before we visited the village that nothing really opens before 10.30am.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrEdward1, Owner at Edward and Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

So sorry you were not aware of the opening times, we do put them on our web site and on google info for the shop plus all our advertising material as well as facebook. Most of the businesses open around this time in Tissington, as a holiday a trip destination we have found that most people don't come out so early. I am glad you stayed on and I hope you enjoyed your fudge. Best wishes Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews