We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel, fantastic location, fabulous staff and top class service”
Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Callow Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed at Callow Hall. We have three dogs and we stayed in the Wendy Room both times. The room is spacious and has two entrances so it makes it ideal for us coming back from walking with our dogs. Hotel location is perfect for walking out in the Peak District. Food is brilliant. We had dinner in restaurant a couple of times and the food is amazing. Breakfast is pretty good too! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend Hotel and restaurant

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Had a one night stay here. Warm welcome; friendly, professional staff; the best breakfast ever (and I’ve had so many hotel breakfasts) with perfect service – honestly! We will certainly return when we can as we’d love to try dinner – sadly couldn’t this time

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were a little nervous about staying here given previous comments and a change of ownership but, having stayed at its new sister hotel (East Lodge) for a couple of nights immediately beforehand, we were very positively surprised. In an excellent position for local walks, cycle rides and Ashbourne, this was a real gem of a hotel. Staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room (we stayed in Room 2) was excellent with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in and the restaurant was first class for both breakfast and dinner. Although we enjoyed our stay at East Lodge, this hotel had more charm and character and has obviously benefitted from whatever management skills have been introduced since the takeover. A first class hotel with a nice atmosphere...somewhere to return to again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonKeefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have been coming here for some years due mainly to good food,country walks and relaxing atmosphere. Having booked for the weekend we drove up from London and arrived 45 minutes before check in time. Blonde duty manager quite abruptly told us we couldn't check in and to come back in 45 minutes. Explaining that we had a long drive and were tired fell on death ears. Its a pity that after all this time I still remember how nasty she was instead of remembering the positive aspects of the hotel ie food and all the other staff who were friendly and attentive. This was before Christmas and I understand management has now changed hands .

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GezenBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had an amazing night. In Thorpe for the week and treated ourselves to a taxi and evening meal at Callow Hall. Food was exceptional, wine was exquisite and venue was intimate. The staff were brilliant - the previous reviews are false - met Anthony, the chef, really nice guy. Only 2 other staff (sorry we didn't catch your names) were fantastic, smoothly attentive to our needs to ensure we had a lovely time without disturbing us unnecessarily. We would definitely recommend this restaurant for that special meal/evening.

Can't comment on the sleep etc as we returned to our cottage in Thorpe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday between christmas and new year. It really was very magical and the food was extremely good. The staff were efficient and friendly. The log fires and christmas trees made it really festive and romantic. I would recommend this for a couple looking to celebrate a birthday or anniversary. If you like modern furnishings and fittings this isn't that place for you but if I had that it would ruin the authentic charm and luxury of this place. I think it was worth the money for the dinner alone! Breakfast was really tasty too. I felt really relaxed here as it didnt feel pretentious or OTT even though the hotel itself has an opulent feel.

Room Tip: Room 1 'Dorothy' has a lovely view the countryside and great four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed on the Christmas package for three nights. Room comfortable and spacious with tea/coffee tray, shortbread and sweets. Staff friendly and very helpful although possibly lacking "organisation" on occasions. The food was excellent.

The hotel changed hands a few days before we arrived and I understand it has gone back into private ownership. Obviously too early for any impact on our stay so when (not if!!) we return it will be interesting to see what changes are made. But hard to see how they could improve on the food......

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBedfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mappleton
2.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
344 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
13 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Address: Mapleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Price Range: £97 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callow Hall Hotel Derbyshire/Mappleton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing