We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspirations exceed delivery”
Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Callow Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Aspirations exceed delivery”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a double room described as "superior" - but superior to what? On arrival we were given a condescending once over up and down look at the reception desk, our room has clear unprepared way damage to the cornices and walls (the mold was complimentary), housekeeping omitted to remove the soaps / shampoo from the previous occupant AND had helpfully left the accompanying hair (we had to ask for this to be removed). There was no change of bedding for the duration of our stay. A pot of tea for one was £4.40 which we felt to be a bit over the top. The view from our room certainly was over the front of the house as advertised - this is a car park with the garden a little further along. Callow Hall has self advertised aspirations to be known for the quality of their food - but maybe a focus on some of the detail related to getting the basics right would be more appropriate before they start shooting for the stars. If you don't mind a walk then this is a nice spot to be based for Ashbourne and Mappleton and it is in a picturesque area. There is a new ownership and they were clearly doing some upgrading in the grounds: but we didn't book our stay in the grounds or sleep in the flower beds so we suggest you check your room first.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated and is certified free of mold. A view to the front of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    83
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
59
171
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had our wedding reception here in July on an exclusive use basis and it was just perfect. The bridal party stayed the night before and all our guests stayed on the wedding night and our every need was attended to. The staff were excellent the food was lovely and the rooms were beautiful. Callow hall is a period hotel and still retains its stunning features whilst having all the mod cons. It is perfectly set for wedding pictures, both inside and out and over looks the beautiful Derbyshire countryside.

The manager worked so hard to ensure our day was just as we wanted it both on the day and during the months running up. She was in constant contact and I felt happy to call her with the smallest request and was sure it would be handled effectively. I had very specific requirements about how I wanted our table arranged for the wedding breakfast and the Manager worked so hard measuring rooms, arranging tables and swapping chairs to ensure we had exactly what we wanted. We wanted to have a caleigh band in the evening so again the Manager did everything she could to accommodate this.
All our guest were blown away by the venue and the day ran perfectly, we were greeted with canapes and pimms on arrival which were lovely and were served efficiently and timely.
The staff were always on hand to assist us and our guests with anything and we didn't need to ask for anything as they were so efficient and attentive!

The rooms were lovely and comfortable and the whole hotel has a homely feel. I stayed in a ground floor suit the night before the wedding and we got ready in this room. it was perfect as there was plenty of room and with it being on the ground floor it meant we could get out easily (and discreetly) to our wedding cars. My Husband and I stayed in the four-poster bridal suit on the wedding night and it was comfortable and spacious, and waking up to the stunning views was just the icing on the cake! All our guests slept well and were pleased with their rooms, breakfast was lovely and again the staff were attentive and helpful and we were never rushed.
Callow Hall and its staff made our wedding day so perfect and I can't begin to thank them enough.
Highly recommended as a wedding venue and a hotel! Will most certainly be returning to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Donn1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

For my adult daughter's birthday recently, I treated her to the full afternoon tea at Callow Hall Hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, in a slightly raised position at the end of a shady tree-lined drive. We were greeted warmly on our arrival and asked where we would like to have our tea, we chose to sit on the grassy terrace from where we had an uninterrupted panoramic view of the lovely Derbyshire countryside. Tea was brought immediately served in pretty floral bone china, and within 15 minutes we were served the afternoon tea itself, comprising a good variety of finger sandwiches on thin-sliced white and brown bread, a creamy but tangy lemon posset served in little glasses, and a four-tier cake stand with a wonderful selection of cakes - small fresh cream chocolate-topped eclairs, tiny fresh cream meringues each topped with a fresh raspberry, delicate squares of feather-light red-berry summer pudding, slices of apricot fruit cake and freshly baked plain and fruit scones, warm from the oven, light and crumbly, served with bowls of thick clotted cream and strawberry jam. When we mentioned that the sunshine was becoming rather too hot for us on the terrace, we were moved quickly, courteously and without fuss to the shady gazebo in the beautiful walled garden where the waiter brought us a fresh pot of tea and a carafe of iced water and thoughtfully even provided extra seat cushions for our comfort. My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed everything, the afternoon tea was delicious, the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiat500-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed one night to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary.The hotel is set in lovely quiet country surroundings. On arrival we were greeted by a very polite member of staff who took us to our room which was very nice having a 4 poster bed and settee. It was a very hot day and the windows had not been left open so the room was very stuffy we asked if they had a fan but we we didn't receive a response , if the owners read this perhaps it would be a good idea to invest in some as they say they want you to have a "home from home experience"As mentioned by a previous trip advisor the TV has digital channels only not satellite and we found the biscuits were not homemade as advertised .I know this is a minor point but they should not be advertising items that they are not providing. We thought the bar drinks were exspensive (a whiskey and ginger ale and dry martini and lemonade was over £17) and my husbands drink was whisked away before he had finished it.The only other negative point was the water had a very chemical taste.
The good points where that we had a excellent dinner and breakfast and there was very little noise such as doors shutting and people moving around .we are both light sleepers and slept very well considering the room was near to the entrance.Our lasting memory of our stay will be the quality of the food ,staff were pleasant and generally efficient and the pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f0rty_niners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband surprised me with a stay at Callow Hall for our wedding anniversary and we had a wonderful time. It was a lovely quiet stay away from London and we had a great room (Dorothy) with a four-poster bed and peaceful views. We enjoyed a very special dinner in the restaurant on our first night and were very impressed by the quality and flavours of the food. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed wandering around the well-kept gardens. There is a wide breakfast choice and all you need; and the best poached smoked haddock and poached eggs I've ever had! My husband was equally impressed with the full English breakfast, using local produce. We enjoyed excellent service at the hotel; from all staff and would recommend to anyone looking for a special stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 - Dorothy is light and airy with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at Callow Hall after our friends wedding was rearranged at short notice and the people at Callow Hall stepped up to the challenge and made it a truly magical day to remember. We had a four poster bedroom and the setting is stunning. The total day was so very special from start to finish, the ceremony, the wedding breakfast and evening reception. The staff were courteous and could not do enough for you. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, full english and I had poached eggs. A lovely place to have an intimate wedding.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at Callow Hall and have had the most relaxing weekend in a long time. Callow Hall and the grounds within which it stands are beautiful and very peaceful and the views are stunning. The staff could not be faulted, we received a warm welcome on arrival and were greeted whenever we passed through reception, the bar and waiting staff were excellent too, attending to our every need in the restaurant. Our room (17 - Sarah) was accessed from outside the main hotel and the fact it was a suite was a lovely surprise, we had a spacious, cosy living room and a bedroom with a very comfortable large bed. The bathroom was on the compact side but perfectly adequate and the shower was great. As others have mentioned, if you were going to be picky the room could have done with a bit of attention decoration wise but was otherwise clean, cosy and charming. We ate in the Restaurant for dinner and the food was excellent, likewise the traditional Derbyshire breakfast the morning after. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0rseymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mappleton
2.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
331 reviews
13.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
17.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,079 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Property: Callow Hall Hotel
Address: Mapleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callow Hall Hotel Derbyshire/Mappleton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing