We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Callow Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We came to Callow Hall for afternoon tea as part of our anniversary celebrations. On arrival we were met by a very smart and attentive member of staff. The atmosphere was very friendly and the food was nothing short of wonderful. Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John-callow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Callow Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

All aspects of our stay were excellent. The hotel is in a beautiful location and well appointed. Staff friendly and helpful. The rooms were excellently designed and comfortable. We had dinner which was superb.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U9653QDSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been coming to this hotel since it was family owned. The new owners have kept the style and furnishings that make it a special place for dining.The food is well presented and served by courteous staff.The coffee lounge is a comfortable end to a delightful experience. We will be celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary here in November.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Married at Callow November 2013.

Having got engaged in November 2012 we looked for places to get married in the Peak District when we stumbled across East Lodge. We viewed East Lodge in the December and it was lovely, cosy and pretty much perfect for our wedding, the only thing though was I wanted a tipi! It was suggested by the staff that we should view their sister hotel Callow Hall in Ashbourne. So that’s what we did and I am so glad we did, as we both fell in love with Callow Hall the moment we stepped inside. It was stunning and especially visiting over the winter period when it was beautifully decorated with all the Christmas decorations, there was no reason for us to say no.

Mr Hardman although initially reluctant agreed for us to have a tipi at Callow Hall for our wedding, just what I wanted and something that other venues had been unable to accommodate or even consider. Mr Hardman and Diana went above and beyond to source and hire the tipi leaving us free to organise other aspects of the wedding.

We hired Callow Hall on the ‘exclusive use’ basis for a weekend in November 2013 and this definitely proved to be an outstanding option. We had the bridal and grooms parties stay at Callow Hall from the Friday through to the Sunday. On arrival our guests were served delicious afternoon tea in gorgeous surroundings, with roaring fires and attentive staff. This was followed later by a very tasty buffet style dinner which was enjoyed by all. It was the perfect start to a weekend of lasting wedding memories, made all the better by Diana and her fabulous staff at Callow Hall, who worked tirelessly that evening to ensure we had a relaxing night before the wedding.

My bridesmaids and I chose to stay in Room 17 which was the perfect place for us all to get ready on the Saturday morning. We had full English breakfasts delivered to our room which made a lovely start to my wedding day, especially seeing the frosty peaks out the grand windows of the room!

Our wedding day could not have been more perfect. Diana made sure everything ran smoothly. The venue looked absolutely stunning, the Tipi, supplied by PeakTipis was exactly how I had pictured, the food was outstanding and the staff were polite, professional and friendly.

Overall, we could not have asked for anything more from Callow Hall. A special thank you goes to Diana who from the first time we met; through the initial stages of planning, to the wedding itself was nothing but professional, friendly and a pleasure to work with. We must also thank Mr Hardman for agreeing and pursuing the Tipi idea! Everyone commented on how fantastic Callow Hall and the tipi were and that it was the best wedding venue many of them had been too. For us it was simply perfect, we only just wish it could have lasted longer!

We will definitely be visiting Callow Hall again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JR151186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a VAlentine's treat here, dinner B&B and were made to feel very welcome, very comfortable and very well fed! Wonderful view from the hotel and really nice breakfast. The dinner had nice touches like a pre-appetiser which made it extra special for valentines.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Welcoming and professional staff. Lovely well furnished character rooms. Improvements? Can't open a window in the bedroom, wifi signal very poor outside the public areas.
Dining room a bit formal - went out to eat with local colleagues. Looking forward to breakfast, which has a big reputation!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank TimCarter5Fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Its second time that we stayed at this hotel Dinner Bed & Breakfast and it was a lovely experience each time. The hotel is now under new ownership and doesn’t seem to have changed much at all. Situated just outside the village of Ashbourne it has lovely views and walk from the back of the hotel back down to the road just before the village takes around 40 minutes, although it was quite muddy due to the recent rainfall.
We stayed in room 14 (Eileen) at the side of the hotel in a quiet location. It is clean and furnished in keeping with the hotel, very comfortable and includes complimentary mineral water and toiletries.
The hotel staff are very professional and pleasant, always willing to help. We had a delicious cream tea , which was good value, in the lounge with a lovely log fire, adding to the warm atmosphere.
A dinner allowance was included in the price for DBB&B up to £35 each, and we paid just £13 extra to have the three courses that we wanted. The food was beautifully presented, very tasty and altogether a good fine dining experience, and the wine is reasonably priced. We were disappointed with the tasting menu is no longer available at this was wonderful in our last stay. The dining room has crisp white tablecloths and candlelit at dinner.
We enjoyed the English cooked breakfast which was plentiful although a little dry, indicating most of it was precooked and stood around for some time.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: room 14 (Eileen) is quiet
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottsVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mappleton
2.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
333 reviews
13.0 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
17.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
10.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Address: Mapleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Price Range: £91 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callow Hall Hotel Derbyshire/Mappleton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing