We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet retreat in a good location but a long way to the loos!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat in a good location but a long way to the loos!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We hired a couple of pods in "the Shire" which was one of the more remote pitches. We chose a quiet place and were pleased with the privacy and views. The disadvantage was a five minute plus walk to the toilet block. This was advertised but we did find the journey wearisome. Rivendale is well placed for access to the Peaks and some of our party went to Alton Towers about 30 minutes' drive away. It was the start of season so quite cold but the pods were snug and robust which we valued on windy nights on the hillside plot. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we much enjoyed the on site pub and tea room and were disappointed that it was closed on Wednesday. WiFi reception was v limited so we were short on information at times. Riverdale is very much a "work in progress" in the part of the campsite where we were located and the immediate area of the pods included a barbed wire fence and a briar patch and there were a lot of earth moving ground preparations evident which was disagreeable to view. Showers pulsed hot and tepid and the toilets were not always very clean. We enjoyed waking to the sounds of willow warblers and goldfinches and had a very good time, but the disadvantages listed means only three stars.

Room Tip: Pitch locations for pods are quite varied-you could be much closer the toilets than we were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review, which was fair enough; we are re-surfacing an old hard-standing near the Shires so that there is less far to walk to the Pods which will improve matters. We have improved the hot water system for the showers by doubling the stored hot water capacity. I am surprised and disappointed about the toilets not always being clean as we have substantially increased the number of checks and cleans every day; we will do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    96
    81
    39
    20
See reviews for
135
101
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The one day glamping experience on buyagift can be used at this site and it lists on the main section that this ONE day experience can be used all week, however, when you try to book, they make you aware of the small print which says there is a minimum stay of two nights on a weekend. So how can they say that the one day experience can be used all week?????

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tom_mott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for alerting us to this issue. Unfortunately, we do not have direct control over the content on the buy-a-gift website and there is a contradiction within the buy-a-gift website content which neither we nor they had not spotted. However, it does state in Important Information that ........This experience is available Sunday to Thursday. There is a minimum two night booking for Friday and Saturday nights and a minimum three nights booking over bank holidays.........Furthermore, we have hitherto taken single night bookings even at weekends in the run up to Easter - and there is nothing to stop a customer buying an extra night direct if they should so wish. We also anticipate we will continue to take some single night buy-a-gift coupons at weekends outside of the main school holidays and bank holidays in some (but not all) of our Pods & Yurts. So our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alsop en le Dale hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at Rivendale.
This was our first visit to the site and have to say we were very pleased with the facilities and the friendly staff. The site is well laid out and the pitches are a good size.
However I have major concerns as to the reasons for cctv cameras INSIDE the shower blocks, surely this is an invasion of privacy.
Both my husband and I questioned whether the footage was recorded and if it was monitored, especially in view of the fact that my 12 year old daughter was using the facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kev h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Guests are notified CCTV is in operation in and around the building - restricted to recording the common areas of the building - not showers or loos where guests may be unclothed. It is not monitored & has been inspected by the local constabulary. Its purpose is to help prevent inappropriate behaviour by people using the buildings - by recording it. This might include people taking pets in the showers, emptying chemical waste down the showers, protection of children and so on. The recordings are automatically overwritten, unseen - unless anything untoward is reported. The children of our staff and friends frequently use those toilets; we take reassurance from the CCTV system bearing in mind there are thousands of people we know very little about visiting this park every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is our second trip to use the pods at this site. Ideal for Winter camping, very clean toilets, plenty of hot water & a warm shower block. Very dog friendly, cosy bar for the evenings. Great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanyais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words, look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes

Staff at Rivendale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights on the camping meadow.

In this time the uncovered scrap bin in the washing up area was emptied once. We had two days of overflowing and rotting food smell everytime we washed up.

It's next to a national speed limit road and virtually impossible to escape the road noise.

Took my niece to the playground which had litter everywhere. It wasn't cleaned up in the three days we were there. The showers weren't cleaned at all. There was mud and grass everywhere.

If it had been maintained it would have been much pleasanter but I wouldn't recommend it because of the price (there are lots of cheaper and better maintained campsites nearby) and the road noise.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank imacosmicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I was both disappointed and surprised to read this review. Disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations so badly. Surprised, that it has taken 6 months for you to tell us of the problems experienced last August.
The loos and showers are cleaned at least twice a day everyday in August, checked by our staff additionally when they are in the vicinity - and anytime a customer lets us know of a problem. Bins are emptied at the same time.
The main road actually has had the speed limit reduced below the national limit, although that will not prevent it being noisy if you choose to camp adjacent the road; better to move further away - albeit at the price of a longer walk to the loos.
I am very sorry you were disappointed - but would recommend (regardless of the type of accommodation & venue) if you have a problem - let people know about it, then hopefully they can do something to fix it. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the New Year and had a great time.

+ve's
Friendly staff, good facilities, on site bar, great base for walking and cycling

-ve's
Toilets were not very clean, food from the bar ok but give the soup a miss unless you like to each your soup with a knife and fork!

Overall a nice site and we will go back in the summer

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RegularHotelUsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

What a great site this is. Great base for walking around the Derbyshire. Great bar serving nice food. Very friendly staff. Nice warm clean toilet block. Will definitely stay again. Take a good torch and sturdy walking boots.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lynne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
3.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peak District Spa
Peak District Spa
#2 of 2 in Alsop en le Dale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park

Property: Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Park surrounded by fabulous scenery offering Yurts, Camping Pods, Pine Lodges, B & B rooms, Holiday Caravans & tent or caravan pitches for rental. WiFi cafe, pub & restaurant on site. Ideal for walking & cycling just 100 metres from the Tissington Trail with footpaths from site leading into Dove dale. Convenient Alton Towers, Chatsworth, Matlock, Carsington Water, National Tram Museum etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendale Caravan And Leisure Park
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Hotel Alsop En Le Dale
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Peak District National Park/Alsop En Le Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing