We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
bucks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

As a regular to Rivendale, may I suggest that people read the descriptions of the site. It is very clear that there are no entertainment facilities as such, no swimming pool, no people to entertain you, this is the beauty of it. The play area is big enough for parents and children to play cricket, football etc. The no dogs in this area is because not all dog owners are responsible and pick up dog mess, If people stepped in it, they would complain about that as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your observations - which are bang on target.

I would just add that with Go Ape, Alton Towers, Splash landings, Chatsworth house, farm & play area, the attractions at Matlock etc all within about 25 minutes drive or less of Rivendale, it is completely pointless investing large sums of money trying (and failing) to replicate fantastic facilities that have already been built a few miles down the road. We would rather concentrate on providing new facilities that do not already exist - such as our fly fishing lake, the hot tubs and so forth.

Thank you very much for your support - it's great when our customers get what we are trying to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    92
    81
    38
    19
See reviews for
132
100
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We hired a camping pod in the Shires which was a great alternative to a tent and couldn't fault it. The facilities were good with many toilets and showers and the on site bar and cafe were very good. It was a great base for walking to Dovedale which is beautiful and the Tissington Trail.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review & glad you liked your stay, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights for the spring bank weekend just gone, in the meadow camping field (see the previous reviewer's comments!). We had pretty bad weather which is never great for camping but just a note to warn families - avoid the meadow! It's very muddy and crossed by muddy vehicle tracks. There are also large piles of bulldozered earth which is pretty unsightly. The worst problem in the meadow however is the proximity to the main A515 which is really busy at all hours and guaranteed to give you a terrible night's sleep.

On a more positive note the staff are friendly and helpful and the on site facilities are pretty good, including the pub. The café is very nice but blighted by terrible service - slow, forgotten orders, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review, in the context of the thunderstorms experienced, the Camping Meadow was not too bad; my wife camped at a festival at the same weekend - and it was 4" deep in mud after the first day on that site - our meadow has not remotely been anything like as bad as that since we stopped vehicular access. The earth bank sub-divides the 10 acre field, reduces road noise and has been planted out - but has yet to mature; the advantages will become clear over the next few years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Recently spent a couple of nights camping here in the meadow field. This is basically a field which has nothing done to it... The grass obviously hadn't been cut for a long time and there are no paths marks out with gravel (or even shorter grass). As it was wet weather when we stayed this meant that even in wellies we got wet and muddy walking to the toilet block.
By the end of our 2 night stay the field was very muddy with big puddles forming.
This field is also right next to the main road, although this didn't keep me awake.

The portacabin toilet block for this meadow field is unisex, with CCTV inside - suggesting issues in the past. Only 4 toilets and showers - could be improved with separate male & female facilities.

We tried the cafe for breakfast one morning - never again. The ordering process was slow, the order was wrong and we waited ages for the toast which comes with the 'full monty' breakfast (over £10) and never received this - apparently it was burnt the first time and then they must have just given up! We just got the bill slapped down on the table, without even asking for it!

A bit more effort with the meadow camping field and better service in the cafe and this could be a nice place to stay. We won't be returning until then though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemGem599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review. With reference to the grass, you are quite correct - the Camping Meadow has not seen a lawn mower for years over most of the area - because it is a protected wild flower meadow and this would be illegal because it would prevent them from re-generating. A small part of the field (about 1 acre) can be mown - and was last week - the remainder will be eaten off by sheep about the end of July - or cut for hay about then. However, our web site, reception and so on are clear that this is traditional Camping with fire pits in a meadow - if regularly mown grass, power, and toilets segregated for the sexes are required - please book in the main pitching area.
I can only apologise for the breakfast shambles; it has been very busy and we have been short of staff - which problem has now been sorted out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the site for 2 nights in May and hired 3 camping pods. Myself, my husband and my 4 year old daughter had a standard size pod, the size was just right. Two other families of 4 joined us and had the family size camping pods which were also adequate for their needs. The site itself was clean and nice as were the showers and toilets. The site was quite busy with tents around us but there was hardly any noise. We were very lucky with the weather, it was a stunning weekend which added to the fun.

My only slight complaint, if you can call it that, was that only one of the pods had an outside light. I think it would be much better for all the pods to have outside lights as the site is quite dark at night. The site tells you to bring a Torch and warns of the limited lighting on the paths etc but where the pods are positioned is dark and the lighting would have made manoeuvring around much easier.

All in all we had an amazing time and would visit the site again and have recommended it to friends already.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ceriwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your email & the constructive suggestion; we will look at adding lights when it is possible. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our second visit to Rivendale, the previous being in July last year, so we had a good idea of the standards and general set up.
However a couple of things have slipped...I feel that to check the toilets once a day and to clean them once a day is a little poor especially as the site was getting busier and as a result the cleanliness did get worse as the day progressed.
The site roads are showing increased signs of wear and potholes, most likely due to the winter weather, but do not seem to have been attended too.
As the weather improved it would have been nice for the pub to open in the early evening...but it didn't....weekends only?
However the main issue was the constant noise from the excavation work which was taking place to extend the park. Due to the curved rock face of the quarry the noise is projected around the whole site from approx 8.30 in the morning till 4.45 in the afternoon. It was just like being in a working quarry with the sound of rocks being loaded into trailers.
If you use Rivendale as a base and are off site all day you probably wouldn't even know anything was taking place.....if like ourselves we were there to relax.....well we couldn't.
The fact that it was Rivendale carrying out the work showed a complete lack of consideration for the onsite guests. Suffice to say we will not be having a third stay at Rivendale as this stay for all intensive purposes was a waste of leave time and money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
The loos have a major clean once a day, but are checked and problems sorted at least one additional time at this time of the year, however, I think we need to reconsider this in terms of looking at occupancy, which has been busier this year.
The roads had the potholes filled and rolled last month but have come back as a result of the tropical thunderstorms that have replaced the spring showers we used to get. We do add opening nights to the pub in the transition from low to high season (but not that week)
however, the licensed café is open 7 days per week all year until 5 p.m.
Due to the heavy snow last spring, we could not complete sorting stone for the new toilet buildings and Eco spa at that time. We have tried to work at times when people have gone out for the day, started late, finished early - and responded to this complaint by moving the machine to a different job over 1/2 km away from the pitching area. Unfortunately, the only way to avoid any possibility of noise blowing into the pitching area is to cancel the work because we are only shut for 3 weeks in January which are usually snowbound. That would get us in hot water with the guests that are asking us for new facilities. The good news is that the remaining stone reclamation will require just a few more days work - which we will be carrying out when the wind is blowing away from the pitching area, several hundred metres away, separated by a series of high earth banks and trees. Our apologies to anyone who has been affected meanwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked Easter weekend 2014 with another family on adjacent pitches with hook-up - having spent several weeks nervously checking long-range weather forecasts. All forecasts were wrong and while it was a bit windy one night, the weather was great. The pitches are generous and all within good reach of waste disposal and water points. The toilet and shower block was excellent, kept clean and had underfloor heating. Only occasionally was the water not hot. Only real criticism was that the site needed a second pot-washing facility. The on-site shop was great and the reception staff very helpful. There is a fly-fishing lake which was a helpful way of occupying 2 boys time. Despite the fact the lake was too weedy and needs some TLC, our party caught, cooked and ate a decent sized rainbow trout. It is great to be able to give the kids an xBox-free weekend. The location is excellent, being adjacent to the Tissington trail, which is brill' for running or cycling. Lots to do and will come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are on the case with removing the weed. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
3.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
853 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
2.9 mi away
Peak District Spa
Peak District Spa
#2 of 2 in Alsop en le Dale
22 reviews
3.1 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park

Property: Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Park surrounded by fabulous scenery offering Yurts, Camping Pods, Pine Lodges, B & B rooms, Holiday Caravans & tent or caravan pitches for rental. WiFi cafe, pub & restaurant on site. Ideal for walking & cycling just 100 metres from the Tissington Trail with footpaths from site leading into Dove dale. Convenient Alton Towers, Chatsworth, Matlock, Carsington Water, National Tram Museum etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendale Caravan And Leisure Park
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Hotel Alsop En Le Dale
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Peak District National Park/Alsop En Le Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing