We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing site - beautiful Peak District location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing site - beautiful Peak District location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Have just got back from a 2 night stay at Rivendale. Had a really fab time!!! We stayed in one of the camping pods. Wasn't really sure what to expect as we'd not stayed in one before, but what a wonderful alternative to tents!! - So glad my husband talked me into it!!!
The pods are like a small a timber mountain hut . There's nothing in them apart from a heater and light so you need to take everything as you would for a normal tent such as sleeping bags etc but the one really great advantage is that there's none of the messing around with guy ropes late at night in the pouring rain and because they're really well insulated, (apparently with recycled sheeps wool as I found out later ) we were wonderfully cosy and snug despite the freezing temperatures outside.
We were there during the bad snow and the park looked absolutely stunning!!! We walked down to the bar on site and had a couple of really nice meals which were good value for money and served in a nice, warm, cosy room with log fires.
Also walked down to Dovedale which looked spectacular...
On the whole we had a really great time.!! Wonderful site, fantastic location, great value for money and a magical time had by all..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoyaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    93
    81
    38
    19
See reviews for
133
100
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

We rented one of the static caravans which turned out to be fantastic.. Comfy lounge with good sized tv and stereo... Great kitchen with everything you could need .. Clean comfy beds and in a lovely setting.. After reading the reviews on here i must say we were a bit worried that we were going to regret booking but we found the complete opposite. Van was wonderful the bar was hosted by friendly staff (lovely lady named kim made us really welcome.) and everyone we met was pleasent.... Def no grumpy staff as we found.. Will definitely recommend and come back ourselves... Thanks .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahwoochie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Just returned from a weekend away at Rivendale with husband and friends and really enjoyed our stay. The site was very tidy and the staff very friendly and helpful. The site is opposite the Tissendale trail and is excellent for walkers and cyclists alike. There is obviously a lot of investment going on and we hope it is appreciated by the visitors to the site. We are taking our grand children in November and are very much looking forward to our return. Thank you to all the staff for looking after the site the way you do and see you soon. Have already recommended to friends!
Thanks - Maureen and Ralph Coleman Warwickshire

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharnacoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We booked the large yurt at Rivendale for easy access to Alton Towers (which was fantastic) 2 of us were celebrating birthdays and we wanted to try something different.

Firstly, we could not get the website to work - there is a small & a larger yurt, but the site would only display availability for the smaller so we called in, no real issue but it's a personal preference that I like to be able to assess different sets of dates/ prices online.

We booked the larger yurt, I believe it was £150 for 2 nights, pricey but it's the only ones in the area & it's a unique accomoddation experience, besides they offer free wood/ fire pit use and parking next to the yurt for 1 car. Unfortunately what they offer and what they provide/ are happy to provide at reasonable times is another thing.

We arrived, having brougt cooking stuff as there is a wood stove in the yurt - but they provide this so don't bring your own (just utensils/ cutlery/plates) the website didn't mention this so although it's a positive, it was frustrating for us as space in the car was limited & it would have been nice to know not to bring pots/ pans/ a kettle.
Luckily we arrived before reception closed & had a pain free & friendly check in.

We got to the yurt (the most out-of-the-way accomodation on the site, furthest from the faciliies, but fair enough) to find no wood as advertised, so on our way out to the local supermarket we popped in to reception, which was closed by 5pm, so we knocked on the wardens cabin & were told we'd be brought some - which we were by a really nice man.
The log fire is small & the squares of chopped up furniture we given to burn, burnt too fast and you could not even get enough heat on the stove to boil water or cook anything. It wasn't suitable for the fire at all and we were only given 1 bag, which didn't last a full evening in the yurt so the night was freezing.

The next day we went to the theme park, had a great day & came back to find, again, no wood, so obviously the free wood advertised has to be relentlessly asked for and not effortlessly provided as the site alludes to. The yurts are locked, so the wood could be put in ready for the guests, but for some reason they don't. So we knocked on the wardens cabin as the reception only opens 9-5, (which is not convenient for those wishing to go out for the day) to be met with a grouchy warden, saying we were too late and would not have any wood for the night (no way of 'cooking' no way to stay warm, nothing!)
We left, gutted, to see the nice man who gave us the wood the next day by another cabin & a massive bin of wood (sorry, broken pallets/ furnite) so we asked him if we could have some, it was his day off so he said we'd have to ask the warden for permissionn to take any... back we went to be grumpily told we could, 'but just 1 bag'. Which is not enough as it's not wood suitable for the stove, but as least we would have some warmth for a bit so we were made to feel grateful & left.


The site also advertises fire pits, but there is no sign of these, none are offered despite being offered as part of the facilities. It seems it's another one of those things you have to ask for, when reception is open, so don't assume you can be out for the day because you will need to cut a day short to go to reception - which you will HAVE to do if you stay on certain days as the code for the facilities changes and you can only get this from reception.

The facilities are adequate, clean, but dated - we met another couple by the washing up area who had also been told off for arriving late, due to traffic, by a warden and begrudgingly 'allowed' to check in...it's just so amazing to me when campsite's receptions only open during working hours/ local attraction opening hours and offer a warden service only to be unhappy to help.
Also the anti-theft bollards (The recception lady said they've had issues with caravan theft) are up in the mornings and although you're told cars can get through it was a tight squeeze for our small car.

The campsite itself though is beautiful, in beautiful surroundings, a really breath-taking location with gorgeous towns & villages nearby. Also really convenient for Alton Towers, which is why it's disappointing we had the difficulties we did. Perhaps if we were just paying for a pitch for a tent we would have enjoyed it more & got better value for money, but we spent a fair bit & don't feel we got what was even advertised.

Just too much running around is required as a guest and the customer service is not good outside of 9-5. I find that is a big factor in sorting the ok campsites from the great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeftMyHeartInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
We are very sorry you found our staff to be grumpy after reception was closed and we unreservedly apologise for this. We are very disappointed by your report in this respect and it certainly is not what the vast majority of our clients experience - see the 150 odd reviews on ukcampsite.
With reference to the fire pits, when these were left by the Yurts 2 got stolen. When they were left locked in the Yurt they were dirty & smelled of burgers ........so there were complaints and we now keep 2 firepits reserved for Yurt clients at reception.
With regard to wood we try and mix some off-cuts of joinery timber which is dry & good for lighting fires with some ash or sycamore logs, which being hard-wood burn longer but are harder to light.
Despite the wood being "waste" however, it still costs around £120 per seasoned cubic metre to buy from the tree surgeon - or an equivalent amount of staff labour. The last time we left a half cubic metre pallet next to the Yurt, the occupants burnt the lot overnight in the firepit, which was both incredibly wasteful and financially non-viable - so we now provide it a bit at a time as requested.
With regard to value, that is for our clients to judge. Suffice to say the nearest competitor we know of offers the same size Yurt (with no timber) at £30 more per weekend in a far less popular location. That cost reflects the fairly high initial costs of a Yurt & deck, frequent costs of re-proofing and limited life of the canvas, which we guess is why few others offer them.
We do offer electrically- heated, insulated timber Camping Pods (which sleep 4) at £48 per night as a lower cost alternative - which also removes any issues regarding lighting and cooking on the stove. Whilst I have personally succeeded in cooking a full English breakfast for 3 on that stove in that Yurt, it does take time for about 80kg of cast iron to get hot. However, we do say in our email bring everything you would for camping except the tent - which could include a gas ring for use outside as a more rapid alternative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

My husband booked this campsite has a last minute get away before my son starts back at school - He'd already booked it before reading the reviews and I have to admit it left us a little apprehensive to say the least after reading some peoples comments but we thought hey its only for a couple of days. How surpriced we was to find how lovely it was -Great pitches for tents, lovely shower /toilet facilites hot water available the whole time we was there and certainly what a difference it makes that they are heated especially for that morning dash to the loo first thing in the morning!!! I found the staff to be friendly so no problems there but I cant comment on the cafe or the pub as we didnt use either of those prefering to either cook ourselves or eat out. I guess we did go at the end of the season so yes it was quieter and i can see that maybe it would become a little crowed at the tent pitches but the thing is people are prefering the larger tents, which on booking we did inform Rivendale our tent was large so they accomadated us with a suitable pitch and i guess as for it being unclean, you have to remember that you are actually in a middle of field that sometimes can get muddy but Rivendale do leave a mop and bucket out so people can just mop the showers after they have finished which i thought was a good idea and they appeared to be cleaned quite regular. My young son enjoyed the small play area Take a torch as recommended by the campsite but also take a moment to look at the stars at night - Fantastic :))))

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rivermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We booked a two night stay in a tranquil yurt here's what happened.....i) had lunch at the cafe - warm soft drink, tasteless food, very over priced, ii)arrived at the 'yurt' - kitsch version of a shed / kiosk hybrid, reminded us of a child's wendy house, iii) 3 windows, one reluctantly opened and closed, 2 faced other campers, no curtains...no privacy, iv) yurts so closely spaced together that we could hear every word of our neighbours' conversations, seating areas faced each other no privacy or space, v) internally, no hooks and could only cook on woodburner - no external firepit vi) wood provided was offcuts from decking - burned incredibly quickly, vii) showerblocks dirty, no hot water, toilets dirty and smelly,used nappy in the gents, wee all over the floor, viii) advice for a 'juddery shower', turn the one on next to you (in a separate cubicle!), ix) washing up area dirty, smelly, no hot water, no sink plug, no washing up bowl, x) reception open 9-5 STRICTLY, xi) tried to leave early (after 1 night) - managed 18 hours of a 2 night stay but locked in - the bollards only move after 9am! Very clever website. Have fun.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gonzo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
We are very sorry to hear of Gonzo's unhappy experience, however, we would have appreciated the chance to rectify some of his/her problems had they passed them on to somebody in reception. For instance, we now provide people with fire-pits at reception, rather than leaving them out near the Yurts because two were stolen this summer. The Yurts are in a group of 3 because they are a popular group booking - but they are still at least 6 metres apart. The wooden ones are obviously better sound insulated than a canvas tent would be - but if sound insulation is paramount - why not book a Pine Lodge or B & B room?
Our web site explicitly states that all wood used at Rivendale is waste wood - that includes joinery waste and tree waste - we usually try and include a bit of both so that the fire is easy to start - but at £2.50 per bag for additional bags it is hardly extortionate.
As to Kitsch, let's not take ourselves too seriously, this is not a safari to outer Mongolia - clients arrive by car rather than Yak, dressed in denim rather than animal skins and (mostly) enjoy a bbq and a beer. At the end of their break they go home without having to wrestle a muddy tent into the car having paid just £38 per night for a family of four incl. power and a wood-burner - not too bad for a Kitsch structure costing £6500 that is warm and does not leak!
With regards to the toilets, we are very sorry they were not up to our usual high standard of cleanliness. Regrettably, to some extent we are in the hands of our clientele; it takes 3 hours to clean them thoroughly - ten seconds for some inconsiderate person to pee on the floor - we check them about 4 times a day and will sort out any problems between checks if clients let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alsop en le Dale hotels

Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

we stayed at rivendale for 4 nights on the camping meadow,really enjoyed our stay,cant understand some the reviews,we didnt encounter any problems,the staff are very helpfull &polite,we are going back end of august,would recommend,great for sightseeing!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
3.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peak District Spa
Peak District Spa
#2 of 2 in Alsop en le Dale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park

Property: Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Park surrounded by fabulous scenery offering Yurts, Camping Pods, Pine Lodges, B & B rooms, Holiday Caravans & tent or caravan pitches for rental. WiFi cafe, pub & restaurant on site. Ideal for walking & cycling just 100 metres from the Tissington Trail with footpaths from site leading into Dove dale. Convenient Alton Towers, Chatsworth, Matlock, Carsington Water, National Tram Museum etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendale Caravan And Leisure Park
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Hotel Alsop En Le Dale
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Peak District National Park/Alsop En Le Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing