We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winnets cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alsop en le Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned home after a lovely weeks stay at Church Farm. Our 2 children (6&8) and ourselves had a fantastic week in Winnets cottage and exploring the local area. The children loved the ride-on tractors that were provided for them and the cats, dogs and turkeys that came to spend time with them in the excellent enclosed yard! The cottage was clean and tidy and was easily big enough for the 4 of us and was stocked with everything we needed. Christine went out of her way to ensure that we had a restful stay and had lots of advice about the local area to share with us. We had some wonderful family days out; Alton Towers is very close and there are some excellent family-friendly walks around the local towns and villages, Dovedale valley being especially lovely.The farm is in a lovely quiet area and the view from the windows is gorgeous, just what you would want in a Peak District holiday.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the most amazing venue for a holiday. We had a week staying in the lovely and well equipped Pinster. We couldn't have been made more welcome. In fact we have come away feeling like close friends of Chris and Christine. The area has so much of interest to see and do. We had to restrict ourselves to not too much walking and even then there were so many attractions available. To come 'home' each evening to the Farm Cottage was great. Wonderful food available to bring back and also great pubs. A holiday never to be forgotten.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marnie-kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Oh my gosh, what a wonderful place. We have just returned from four nights in the Winnets cottage. There were 4 adults and one baby and it was comfortable, clean, well equipped, homely accommodation. My 16 month old daughter just loved waking up to the horses, sheep, cows, turkeys, dogs and of course Doogle the pony! It is also a good location to see other areas but be away from the busy towns...a really awesome place for some "down time", long walks/runs and exploring of the Peak District. Christine, Chris and their family were just wonderful with regards to their knowledge of the area, their friendliness and welcoming. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our four day stay in Winnets cottage was wonderful. Booked at the last minute with little time to research the accommodation and area, but we were not disappointed. The cottage is very well furnished, equipped and clean and it was lovely to overlook the farmyard and fields beyond. The hosts were very welcoming, genuinely friendly and helpful but not intrusive. It was fantastic to be staying somewhere so peaceful with immediate access to walking and cycling in a stunning part of the Peak District.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from a week in Pinster cottage. We found the cottage to be very warm, comfortable and well equipped. It was lovely to return here after each day in this beautiful part of the world. The hosts couldn't do enough to please, right down to the finer details like the home baked cake awaiting us on arrival, and the wealth of knowledge of the area. Our 2 children, Charlotte (6) and Alfie (17mths), were particularly impressed by the ride on pedal tractors kept in the barn. it was also great that we could use part of the barn to store our bikes, keeping them dry and out of harms way. We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo23277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a wonderful 1 week stay at Church Farm in September. It was our second stay and just as good as the last. The cottage is gorgeous (beautifully decorated, well equipped, very clean) and the setting is picturesque and peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in Pinster cottage in July. It was wonderful. The cottage is lovely. Clean, spacious, fully equipped for self - catering. There's a TV, DVD, with plenty of books and reference guides on the area. We took our 4 year old son who loved it. He was bowled over the moment we arrived, when he saw the dinosaur duvet in his room that was kindly put on for him ! He loved the farm. Chris and Christine showed him around, he watched whilst the sheep were fed and they even left out a toy tractor for him to ride around in the yard. He adored the dogs (which were very gentle) and cat, and was very disappointed to leave them ! The location is perfect, just outside Ashbourne, so a good distance from Dovedale, Chatsworth and Matlock. In the evening, the location is so peaceful and very relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will definitely be back ! Church Farm comes very highly recommended. Thank you Chris, Christine and family, for a fantastic stay at the farm ... We look forward to coming back again !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tb12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
2.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#1 of 1 in Newton Grange
528 reviews
3.7 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bentley Brook Inn
Bentley Brook Inn
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanshope Hall
Stanshope Hall
#78 of 160 in Peak District National Park
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peak District Spa
Peak District Spa
#2 of 2 in Alsop en le Dale
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: | Ashbourne, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park DE6 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Farm nestles alongside the historic Norman church in the tiny village of Alsop en le Dale, at the head of one of the most beautiful but undiscovered dales in the Peak National Park. Our topsy-turvy cottages were created from an old barn on the farm. They have a wealth of character with high ceilings and and exposed beams, are at the top end of the Tourist Board Scheme and inspected annually. They are situated in the cobbled yard of our Rare Breeds farm and are just the place for your Peak District Derbyshire holiday. Winnets is the larger of the two cottages. There is a downstairs single bedroom, another single bedroom upstairs and a double bedroom that overlooks the courtyard. Pinster has one double bedroom and one single. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Farm Holiday Cottages Peak District National Park/Alsop En Le Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing