We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Louise B
Norwich, United Kingdom

Winnets cottage

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Aug 2014
We have just returned home after a lovely weeks stay at Church Farm. Our 2 children (6&8) and ourselves had a fantastic week in Winnets cottage and exploring the local area. The children loved the ride-on tractors that were provided for them and the cats, dogs and turkeys that came to spend time with them in the excellent enclosed yard! The cottage was clean and tidy and was easily big enough for the 4 of us and was stocked with everything we needed. Christine went out of her way to ensure that we had a restful stay and had lots of advice about the local area to share with us. We had some wonderful family days out; Alton Towers is very close and there are some excellent family-friendly walks around the local towns and villages, Dovedale valley being especially lovely.The farm is in a lovely quiet area and the view from the windows is gorgeous, just what you would want in a Peak District holiday.
Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
    0.9 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Spa Buildings in Snow!
    • Priceline
    0.9 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    £132
    • Lol.travel
    2.0 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    • Agoda.com
    • Priceline
      £120
    2.1 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
      £90
    2.8 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £159
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £159
    2.8 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free parking
    Breakfast included
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
      £129
    • Hotels.com
    2.9 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View of our room.
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Vio.com
      £25
    • Priceline
      £30
    3.3 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    7.7 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    4.1 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Alsop en le Dale
    Reviews (64)
    Filter reviews
    64 results
    Traveller rating
    61
    2
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    61
    2
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews peak district working farm chris pinster cottage walks comfort
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    37 - 42 of 64 reviews
    Reviewed 19 July 2014

    This is the most amazing venue for a holiday. We had a week staying in the lovely and well equipped Pinster. We couldn't have been made more welcome. In fact we have come away feeling like close friends of Chris and Christine. The area has so much of interest to see and do. We had to restrict ourselves to not too much walking and even then there were so many attractions available. To come 'home' each evening to the Farm Cottage was great. Wonderful food available to bring back and also great pubs. A holiday never to be forgotten.

    Date of stay: July 2014
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Marnie-kiwi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 July 2014

    Oh my gosh, what a wonderful place. We have just returned from four nights in the Winnets cottage. There were 4 adults and one baby and it was comfortable, clean, well equipped, homely accommodation. My 16 month old daughter just loved waking up to the horses, sheep, cows, turkeys, dogs and of course Doogle the pony! It is also a good location to see other areas but be away from the busy towns...a really awesome place for some "down time", long walks/runs and exploring of the Peak District. Christine, Chris and their family were just wonderful with regards to their knowledge of the area, their friendliness and welcoming. We will definitely be going back!

    Date of stay: July 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Nicci A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 May 2014

    Our four day stay in Winnets cottage was wonderful. Booked at the last minute with little time to research the accommodation and area, but we were not disappointed. The cottage is very well furnished, equipped and clean and it was lovely to overlook the farmyard and fields beyond. The hosts were very welcoming, genuinely friendly and helpful but not intrusive. It was fantastic to be staying somewhere so peaceful with immediate access to walking and cycling in a stunning part of the Peak District.

    Date of stay: May 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 687xeniat
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 November 2013

    Just returned from a week in Pinster cottage. We found the cottage to be very warm, comfortable and well equipped. It was lovely to return here after each day in this beautiful part of the world. The hosts couldn't do enough to please, right down to the finer details like the home baked cake awaiting us on arrival, and the wealth of knowledge of the area. Our 2 children, Charlotte (6) and Alfie (17mths), were particularly impressed by the ride on pedal tractors kept in the barn. it was also great that we could use part of the barn to store our bikes, keeping them dry and out of harms way. We will return!

    Date of stay: October 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Jimbo23277
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 October 2013

    We had a wonderful 1 week stay at Church Farm in September. It was our second stay and just as good as the last. The cottage is gorgeous (beautifully decorated, well equipped, very clean) and the setting is picturesque and peaceful.

    Date of stay: September 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank 72AnnH
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews