We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julie
Leicestershire

Everything we needed for our trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Aug 2014
Mum and I stayed at Pinster Cottage which was a great base to explore Derbyshire. Easy to get to and peaceful location within large courtyard. Beautiful surroundings, with a very interesting little church next door. The Cottage was very comfortable with the a well equipped kitchen. So much to see and do we ran out of time so will be going back there. Discovered some lovely villages and some quality pub/restaurant meals. Breakfasts and some evening meals in too, as the kitchen was so well equipped it was like home from home. Christine and her family made us feel most welcome. All in all, well worth a repeat visit. Julie and Cath
Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£132
  • Lol.travel
2.0 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
£120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £120
  • Agoda.com
    £120
2.1 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
£90
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £90
2.8 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
£159
  • Expedia.com
    £159
  • Agoda.com
    £148
  • Hotels.com
    £159
2.8 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free parking
Breakfast included
£129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £139
  • Hotels.com
    £129
  • Priceline
    £129
2.9 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View of our room.
£30
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £30
  • Agoda.com
    £25
  • Expedia.com
    £30
3.3 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£135
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £135
  • Priceline
    £135
  • Expedia.com
    £135
3.5 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
£40
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £37
  • Expedia.com
    £30
  • Agoda.com
    £31
3.7 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
Charles Cotton Hotel
£105
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £93
  • Agoda.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £92
3.8 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
£123
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £123
  • Hotels.com
    £123
  • eDreams
    £123
3.8 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Alsop en le Dale
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
61
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
61
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak district working farm chris pinster cottage walks comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned home after a lovely weeks stay at Church Farm. Our 2 children (6&8) and ourselves had a fantastic week in Winnets cottage and exploring the local area. The children loved the ride-on tractors that were provided for them and the cats, dogs and turkeys that came to spend time with them in the excellent enclosed yard! The cottage was clean and tidy and was easily big enough for the 4 of us and was stocked with everything we needed. Christine went out of her way to ensure that we had a restful stay and had lots of advice about the local area to share with us. We had some wonderful family days out; Alton Towers is very close and there are some excellent family-friendly walks around the local towns and villages, Dovedale valley being especially lovely.The farm is in a lovely quiet area and the view from the windows is gorgeous, just what you would want in a Peak District holiday.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the most amazing venue for a holiday. We had a week staying in the lovely and well equipped Pinster. We couldn't have been made more welcome. In fact we have come away feeling like close friends of Chris and Christine. The area has so much of interest to see and do. We had to restrict ourselves to not too much walking and even then there were so many attractions available. To come 'home' each evening to the Farm Cottage was great. Wonderful food available to bring back and also great pubs. A holiday never to be forgotten.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marnie-kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Oh my gosh, what a wonderful place. We have just returned from four nights in the Winnets cottage. There were 4 adults and one baby and it was comfortable, clean, well equipped, homely accommodation. My 16 month old daughter just loved waking up to the horses, sheep, cows, turkeys, dogs and of course Doogle the pony! It is also a good location to see other areas but be away from the busy towns...a really awesome place for some "down time", long walks/runs and exploring of the Peak District. Christine, Chris and their family were just wonderful with regards to their knowledge of the area, their friendliness and welcoming. We will definitely be going back!

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our four day stay in Winnets cottage was wonderful. Booked at the last minute with little time to research the accommodation and area, but we were not disappointed. The cottage is very well furnished, equipped and clean and it was lovely to overlook the farmyard and fields beyond. The hosts were very welcoming, genuinely friendly and helpful but not intrusive. It was fantastic to be staying somewhere so peaceful with immediate access to walking and cycling in a stunning part of the Peak District.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 687xeniat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from a week in Pinster cottage. We found the cottage to be very warm, comfortable and well equipped. It was lovely to return here after each day in this beautiful part of the world. The hosts couldn't do enough to please, right down to the finer details like the home baked cake awaiting us on arrival, and the wealth of knowledge of the area. Our 2 children, Charlotte (6) and Alfie (17mths), were particularly impressed by the ride on pedal tractors kept in the barn. it was also great that we could use part of the barn to store our bikes, keeping them dry and out of harms way. We will return!

Date of stay: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo23277
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews