We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
annette s s
London, United Kingdom

cosy cottaage

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Apr 2015
This is ideal for a break away the farm is great for all ages my 3 year old grandson loved it . The cottage Pinster is clean and welcoming on arrival we were given home made sponge and a pot of tea . The views from the cottage are excellent looking over fields and sheep The owners are friendly . Its centre to many lovely walks a great time by all highly recommend it . we will be back .
Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Spa Buildings in Snow!
Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
ZenHotels.com
£135
    2.0 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    4.1 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free parking
    Damson Pod
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    5.5 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Beechenhill double room
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    2.5 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Cottage Courtyard
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    7.8 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    4.2 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    3.4 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    1.6 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Alsop en le Dale
    Reviews (64)
    Filter reviews
    64 results
    Traveller rating
    61
    2
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    61
    2
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews peak district working farm chris pinster cottage walks comfort
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    31 - 36 of 64 reviews
    Reviewed 12 November 2014

    We have just stayed at Church Farm Cottages, Alsop, for the third time. Although we normally stay in Pinster this time we stayed in Winnets (more bedrooms) As always a very comfortable, cosy and extremely well equipped cottage. It is extremely clean and always ready for guests. Lots of information provided plus the friendly Duffells are on hand to check everything is all right and whether we needed any information. Their thoughtfulness extends to providing delicious home made cake and having tea ready to make on arrival as well as ensuring the cottage and yard were well lit for us when we had cause to return very late one evening. Always a warm welcome. The situation is ideal with Ashbourne, Tissington, Bakewell and Chatsworth near by as well as a host of other places to visit. The Tissington Trail is just up on the main road and ideal for walking, strolling or for the more energetic, cycling. A great holiday base or just a place to relax. Ideal for all ages with chickens, ginger cat and friendly turkey to meet as well as the stunning views from the upside down cottages (sitting room upstairs). Excellent wifi helps to keep in touch with nearest and dearest if you need to. We'll be back - thank you Christine and Chris.

    Date of stay: November 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
    Thank Crommers
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 October 2014

    What a lovely cottage to stay in. We stayed for a long weekend, with our two boys aged 4 & 7. Christine and Chris, the owners could not have been more welcoming. Even the Turkey was pleased to see us! There was tea and freshly baked cake on the table (still warm) when we arrived, the cottage was beautifully clean, cosy and well furnished, and we wanted for nothing. The boys had lots of room to ride their bikes in the courtyard and we were able to store all our bikes in one of the barns.
    The cycling in the area is absolutely superb, perfect for children as there are miles and miles of traffic free cycling paths, all built on disused railway lines, so all the hills are extremely gentle.
    I would highly recommend this gem and am sure we will return.

    Date of stay: October 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank ADunnage
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 October 2014

    From the moment we arrived for our stay at Winnets Cottage we knew we had made the right choice. I was born in The Midlands, but moved to Canada at 16, and coming back to the area was my choice to celebrate my 60th birthday. We could not have made a better choice! This cottage was a great home-base from which to travel, and a very comfortable accommodation for the week of our stay. A beautiful greeting, replete with a home-made Victoria Sponge (mmmm!) from our hostess, Christine, started the week on a great note - thanks to Christine's granddaughter who made the cake. Having the opportunity to meet Chris and the guys working on the next barn conversion, and meeting the dogs and Tessa the Turkey added to he enjoyment. Also, learning more about the Gloucester Herd, and getting a special private trip in the Land Rover to see these beautiful animals was an extra-added bonus - thanks to Christine's daughter Claire for this special field trip, which was literally a field trip. We also received advice on local attractions, shopping, places to eat and drink (The Coach and Horses - very good!), and even some assistance in trying to get an unusual package shipped back to Canada. All-in-all, a great week spent in the Peak District, made extra special by our fine hosts amid a lovely country setting. We look forward to our return in a few years. Submitted by Neville & Dee-Ann Jones and Jan & Mike Dixon

    Room tip: We stayed in Winnets cottage, but I imagine Pinster is laid out just a well. I don't think you could go wrong with either one.
    Date of stay: September 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Nevillestoke
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 August 2014

    We've just had a wonderful week in Pinster Cottage. The cottage is well equipped and cosy and had the most amazing views across open fields. When we arrived we were welcomed with a home baked cake and lots of helpful advice for touring the area by Christine and Chris. It was the perfect base for our two boys (13 and 15) and ourselves to enjoy all that the peak district has to offer, walks to Dovedale, long cycle rides and a trip to Alton Towers. Our youngest son particularly enjoyed spending time with the dogs, cats, turkeys and chickens in the farm yard. We would definitely recommend this cottage and may well be back soon.

    Date of stay: August 2014
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank EmmaJBaldock
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 August 2014

    Mum and I stayed at Pinster Cottage which was a great base to explore Derbyshire. Easy to get to and peaceful location within large courtyard. Beautiful surroundings, with a very interesting little church next door. The Cottage was very comfortable with the a well equipped kitchen. So much to see and do we ran out of time so will be going back there. Discovered some lovely villages and some quality pub/restaurant meals. Breakfasts and some evening meals in too, as the kitchen was so well equipped it was like home from home. Christine and her family made us feel most welcome. All in all, well worth a repeat visit. Julie and Cath

    Date of stay: July 2014
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank GipsyRoseLee2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews