We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ruthw00d
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
1
A week in a friendly, comfortable and tranquil location
Reviewed 8 Jul 2017
We really enjoyed our week in Winnetts cottage. It is suitable for a family of four, or three singles like us. The cats, dogs and ponies are a bonus for animal lovers, not to mention the very friendly turkey who is partial to cake crumbs! Christine & Chris with their family are relaxed and welcoming hosts, and we were impressed by all the work they themselves have done on the farm and cottages. They are also very conscious of the need to protect the environment, so there is an emphasis on recycling and other ecologically friendly practices. Alsop en le Dale is a fairly isolated hamlet, but is within easy reach of Bakewell, Buxton and at least 2 stately homes for the historically inclined. It is also in the midst of very beautiful walking country. The one thing we felt the cottage lacked was a dishwasher, but then again, we didn't know where they could put one! All in all, this is a delightful place for a holiday, and I for one, would be happy to return. RW
Date of stay: June 2017
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa Buildings in Snow!
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.1 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.5 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beechenhill double room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cottage Courtyard
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.8 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.2 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.4 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.6 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alsop en le Dale
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
61
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
61
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak district working farm chris pinster cottage walks comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Now, generally speaking Church farm is good. Nice size rooms, good facilities, stunning location. However, there was nothing that made it stand out from other similar locations. The rooms were not clean, with small stains and marks on the walls and floors. The bathroom was good enough but had mould on the sealant and stains and hairs on the bath. We were given a lovely vase of flowers and freshly made brownies and in general the hosts were lovely. Look, I would stay here again and I would enjoy it, but if you plan to come slightly lower your expectations.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank grizllyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Great base for exploring the dales. I took my road bike and was able to explore the quiet lanes. Plenty of climbing.

The A515 is 1/2 mile away meaning it is easy to get to other parts of the national part by car.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We had a relaxing week in Winnetts Cottage, the three bedroom cottage. The beds were extremely comfy and facilities were great. Christine made us feel at home with a slice each of her homemade lemon cake!
There is loads to do in the area, especially long walks

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinkymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Our daughter had booked this cottage for our stay during our visit to Peak District last week. The 3 of us enjoyed the stay in this barn converted 2 bedroom cottage. The cottage is extremely comfortable with comfy beds, sofas, TV, Wifi and a kitchen with all amenities and utensils. Watching the cows and sheep grazing in the meadowlands was wonderful. Tea houses and restaurants are 10 mins drive from here and the location is an excellent anchor point for driving around Peak District. The mobile networks are not well serviced in this area but compensated by WiFi.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sasi360
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Just on our way home from a perfect stay at Church Farm. We were welcomed with a lovely homemade cake and fresh flowers. The location of the cottages is perfect for getting anywhere in the Peak District in very reasonable time, but also far enough away to enjoy the peaceful tranquillity of the dales.
The cottages are lovely, the entrance is just off the Farm courtyard so there are lots of animals to admire from inside and outside of the cottage.
Inside there is everything you need and more! Tastefully decorated and well equipped we didn't miss home at all!
Everyone was really friendly and shared their Farm life with us, which our little boy loved.
Would definitely recommend coming here, we hope to visit again soon!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Amos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews