We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hugh B
Didcot, United Kingdom

A Delightful Base to Explore and Enjoy the British Countryside at Its Best

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2017
We have just spent a fortnight staying at the Winnets Cottage and loved every moment of it.
As promised we were welcomed with flowers and home-made victoria sponge and we were offered more at the start of our second week too. We found the owners extremely friendly and regularly offering to go that extra mile for us..
The cottage was spotless and extremely well resourced. The kitchen area had all the utensils that we needed - saucepans, frying pans, a wok, weighing scales, quality crockery and cutler plus plastic crockery if we wanted to have a barbecue (the owners also will lend a gas barbecue). The bookshelf has enough books about walks and cycle routes in the area to satisfy months of exploring.plus a laminated OS map for the area. There is also a TV, DVD player, radio and CD player plus a number of boardgames for those rainy days. There is also good wifi.
And for a working farm, we couldn't believe how quiet and peaceful it was.
One of the most enjoyable holidays we've had in the UK. We will certainly hope to return in the near future.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Spa Buildings in Snow!
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
0.9 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
ZenHotels.com
£129
    2.0 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Vio.com
      £185
    • Booking.com
    2.8 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Booking.com
    £129
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      £129
    • Expedia.com
      £139
    • Hotels.com
      £129
    2.9 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View of our room.
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      £30
    • Expedia.com
      £30
    • Agoda.com
      £30
    3.3 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    4.1 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free parking
    Damson Pod
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    5.5 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    3.4 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    1.6 miles from Church Farm Holiday Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Alsop en le Dale
    Reviews (64)
    Filter reviews
    64 results
    Traveller rating
    61
    2
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    61
    2
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews peak district working farm chris pinster cottage walks comfort
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 64 reviews
    Reviewed 8 July 2017

    We really enjoyed our week in Winnetts cottage. It is suitable for a family of four, or three singles like us. The cats, dogs and ponies are a bonus for animal lovers, not to mention the very friendly turkey who is partial to cake crumbs! Christine & Chris with their family are relaxed and welcoming hosts, and we were impressed by all the work they themselves have done on the farm and cottages. They are also very conscious of the need to protect the environment, so there is an emphasis on recycling and other ecologically friendly practices. Alsop en le Dale is a fairly isolated hamlet, but is within easy reach of Bakewell, Buxton and at least 2 stately homes for the historically inclined. It is also in the midst of very beautiful walking country. The one thing we felt the cottage lacked was a dishwasher, but then again, we didn't know where they could put one! All in all, this is a delightful place for a holiday, and I for one, would be happy to return. RW

    Date of stay: June 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank ruthw00d
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

    Now, generally speaking Church farm is good. Nice size rooms, good facilities, stunning location. However, there was nothing that made it stand out from other similar locations. The rooms were not clean, with small stains and marks on the walls and floors. The bathroom was good enough but had mould on the sealant and stains and hairs on the bath. We were given a lovely vase of flowers and freshly made brownies and in general the hosts were lovely. Look, I would stay here again and I would enjoy it, but if you plan to come slightly lower your expectations.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank grizllyfur
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 June 2017

    Great base for exploring the dales. I took my road bike and was able to explore the quiet lanes. Plenty of climbing.

    The A515 is 1/2 mile away meaning it is easy to get to other parts of the national part by car.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Jeremy B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 June 2017

    We had a relaxing week in Winnetts Cottage, the three bedroom cottage. The beds were extremely comfy and facilities were great. Christine made us feel at home with a slice each of her homemade lemon cake!
    There is loads to do in the area, especially long walks

    Date of stay: May 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Chinkymart
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 May 2017

    Our daughter had booked this cottage for our stay during our visit to Peak District last week. The 3 of us enjoyed the stay in this barn converted 2 bedroom cottage. The cottage is extremely comfortable with comfy beds, sofas, TV, Wifi and a kitchen with all amenities and utensils. Watching the cows and sheep grazing in the meadowlands was wonderful. Tea houses and restaurants are 10 mins drive from here and the location is an excellent anchor point for driving around Peak District. The mobile networks are not well serviced in this area but compensated by WiFi.

    Date of stay: May 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
    1  Thank Sasi360
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews