We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Peak District Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peak District Spa
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We searched high and low for a site where a number of friends could choose a type of accommodation to suit their preferences and budgets and all be near each other. With camping, pods and yurts, holiday homes and B&B, this was it. We opted for B&B. The room (room 2) was beautifully presented. we were a tad jealous of our friends in room 1 which had a small balcony with a wonderful view, but I think we had slightly more space and we needed it to put kids on airbeds. They have no family rooms but were happy for us to bring our own bedding for the kids. Breakfast was fantastic - cooked exactly to our slightly fussy orders. Not the fastest service ever but that was ok - we didn't want to rush and didn't feel rushed. We found the staff very willing to please and I loved the fact that you could request complimentary fresh milk for the tea/coffee tray in the room so we could have a decent cuppa in the afternoon and not use those little longlife thingies. The location is a spectacular base for walks/outings in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j0t0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

It is a lovely position overlooking the Dales, just off a road but no traffic noise at all.
The room was very well appointed, but a bit noisy with doors not being shut and just letting them bang, the breakfast menu was comprehensive cooked to order, staff very helpful and always smiling. The time we stayed the pub was only open at the week-end and we were not there then. So it was very quiet, one of the other guests said it was not really a spar and we did look at the hot tub!!!!! Not good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakefordjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Peak District Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your review and kind words. The doors are fire doors and have to be self-closing - which makes them very solid and sound proof when closed , but noisy if people let them slam shut, we will look at possible solutions for this.
The hot tub is washed and disinfected between every use, but lives outside or the timber shrinks and it will then not hold water - we clean the leaves out before use. This will shortly move to an eco spa area currently under construction that will feature saunas, tubs etc all fired using waste wood. We are clear on our web site that we do not offer a conventional spa, although long-term there will be both types.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were really disappointed with our stay at Peak District Spa over the May bank holiday weekend. The name and description on the website are highly inaccurate - it is in no sense a spa ...there are some old hot tubs that have been abandoned and are not currently available - that is it. I am currently looking into whether they are legally allowed to be calling themselves "peak district spa". The room was small but clean, however, the staff let themselves down by not servicing the room on one of our days there....which at £80 a night was just not the level of service we thought we might reasonably expect. Having just got back from a long day hiking I went to find a member of staff to at least get some clean towels to shower with but was told that as it was 8pm at night it was too late to get clean towels. The food at breakfast was ok but croissants were listed on the menu but were only available 1 of 3 mornings that we had breakfast. The service at breakfast was terribly slow and the staff didn't seem focused or well trained at all. In addition, the portions of food in the bar were ridiculously small and not tasty at all. Also, the lights on the bathroom mirror and the tv remote didn't work at all. This place might be ok if it was half the price but it should in no way market itself as a 4* b and b - the level of service provided was really poor and the rooms are nothing special. We could also hear a lot of noise from next door when the tv was on. The location is nice so I would recommend shopping around the local area for somewhere else to stay - best to avoid this place as you'll just be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you must go here - go for bedroom 1 which has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyneska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We wanted a small, friendly venue for a wedding with 28 guests and we had stayed at the Rivendale Caravan site next door so knew the venue was in a picturesque location. The building is attractive and the wedding room absolutely lovely. The staff there are very pleasant, friendly keen to accomadate what we wanted for our informal-as-possible wedding. We talked over the possible menus with Chef Jo and settled on one at a very good price.There are only 4 rooms in the hotel at present but there are plans for more. The current rooms are lovely, very clean and with a modern theme. Dressing gowns and slippers provided too, and excellent value. On the day Vicki and Kim made sure everything went to plan and all of our guests-mainly family so they didn't have to be polite! - said how much they enjoyed the food and how good the service was. The family all want to stay there again too.All in all the experience was exactly what we wanted and we can't recommend the venue highly enough.

Room Tip: We had the room with a small balcony with lovely views over the countryside behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 14Mark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed for a weekend and were really impressed with the room itself. New and clean, comfy bed, big bathroom with a great tub, robe and slippers, fluffy towels. We had a balcony with a view onto the land that was gorgeous - we sat outside and drank tea, watching the cows go by.

The adjoining pub has pretty good food - it's a popular place on weekends. Even though the room handbook says no noise after 11, the pub had a singer one night and the music was loud past midnight. I'm a light sleeper and it bothered me, but my husband slept through.

There are endless walks nearby, so if you're a walker I highly recommend. The little cafe is open with cakes and sandwiches that provides a nice snack.

The breakfast is in a room upstairs above the cafe with four tables for the four rooms. It's a bit cramped but the breakfast was good. They take your order based on set options, and were slow in service, but they do have to wait on cafe customers as well. I think I heard one server mention they were short-staffed so that could have been the reason.

I was ill one morning so I asked the cleaner just to skip our room. She was so kind and made sure I had everything I needed. She even saw me later in the day and inquired as to how I was feeling.

The website says they have plans to build a spa centre and that will be nice. I was really looking forward to using the hot tub but we couldn't. The website just says to inquire at reception for rates and booking, but I never dreamed it would be £70! Also, you can only book it for the whole day, not hourly or anything. I found that a bit strange.

The sign is a bit hard to see in the dark - we passed it a few times, so be on the lookout. The b&b is on the same land as a campground further down, so there are a lot of people around, but other than the pub noise we found it quiet. We would stay again, probably after the "spa" part is finished.

Room Tip: Choose with a view - beautiful! The lower floor might be quieter as the pub is on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyphenista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed three nights in room 2 and had a wonderful weekend. We took our bikes as this B&B is a stone's throw from the Tissington Trail. Our room was beautiful with a large en-suite, it was spotlessly clean and more comfortable than many 5 star hotels we have stayed in. We ate in the bar on our first night and enjoyed a lovely meal which was excellent value in a very friendly environment. The choice of breakfasts was vast and our food was freshly cooked and delicious. The best bit though was definitely the staff. We have never felt as well cared for and valued as we did here. We are going back next spring as we loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebsTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in this lovely B&B. The rooms are beautiful, modern (looks like it's been very recently refurbished) and spotlessly clean with underfloor heating.

The cooked breakfast was fantastic - there was also a great choice for the continental breakfast. There is also a cafe and a pub on site (the pub was closed when we were there as it wasn't peak season).

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

This is a lovely, relaxing place to return to after a days' walking, it is very luxurious and has more of a hotel feel rather than a B&B. It is in a peaceful setting with nice views of the peak district.

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Peak District Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak District Spa

Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park DE6 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range: £64 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak District Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a secluded location overlooking Eaton Dale only 1.5 Kilometres from Wolfscote Dale, Peak District Spa lies within the heart of the most spectacular limestone scenery of the Peak District National Park, in between the picturesque villages of Tissington, Hartington and Parwich. With the Tissington Trail cycle way just a few hundred metres away and footpaths leading directly from our rooms into Eaton, Alsop, Wolfscote and Biggin Dales, this is the ideal location for walking, cycling, climbing and other outdoor pursuits. We also offer fly fishing on our lake with the possibility of tuition and excellent fishing opportunities on some of England's most famous limestone rivers such as the Dove & the Wye. However, if the weather is poor, there is loads to do with Chatsworth, Alton Towers, the National Tram Museum, Gullivers Kingdom, Buxton Opera House, Derwent Valley World Heritage Site, Ashbourne, Matlock and Bakewell all within easy reach. With its own landscaped gardens, hot tub and cobbled parking area, Peak District Spa's bed and breakfast rooms offer luxurious accommodation in which to relax and unwind in a tranquil location overlooking Eaton Dale. Our guests also benefit from a WiFi cafe, bar and licensed restaurant on site just a 100 metres or so away from the accommodation serving simply-cooked excellent local produce (please see our web site for details of opening times). Rivendale caravan park is about kilometre away, offering caravan and tent pitches, holiday caravans, Yurts and luxurious lodges for hire the ideal solution for groups of friends or relatives with different accommodation preferences. Accommodation Converted from a picturesque stone barn overlooking Eaton Dale, the four bedroom suites all include showers, or baths with showers ensuite. Despite the traditional external appearance of the building, the suites have an uncluttered contemporary interior and are technically superior to many hotel suites charging twice as much. The two ground floor rooms are graded M2 wheelchair accessible suitable for occasional & accompanied wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Peak District Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peak District Spa Peak District National Park/Alsop En Le Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing