We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So upsetting”
Review of Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So upsetting”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We booked to stay here for our long awaited short honeymoon as we could not get away any sooner and money was an issue. Getting there we walk into the bar area to everyone in there stop talking as we walked in. Bloke behind bar was a bit snotty and told us we could not check in till two, we said that was fine and got our drinks and sat down. Got to our room to find it so small we could not even walk round the bed. Dusty and very cramped. Toilet seat kept falling down. Fan extractor is so loud. Food at night was horrible, we wanted the belly pork as stated on there website but not on the menu. :-( sleep, didn't get any as the noise from outside as well as the people in the next room kept us awake. Bed very noisy as not good when its your honeymoon and the walls being paper thin. Breakfast was not bad but the sausages had gristle in them, only nice thing was the toast. I have done nothing but cry this weekend as its so upsetting that we wasted our money on this place and we called it our honeymoon. Won't recommend to anyone. :-(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyjayfreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    46
    23
    10
    17
See reviews for
29
83
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Overall a great little Inn. Great location and 5 mins from Alton towers. Service was fantastic, a real local feel, great local beer as lovely food. They stayed open for us arrivingate from Glasgow, around 1130pm and stayed up to allow us a few beers.

Rooms were fine, but not amazing, but for the price you pay they are absolutely perfect.

If we were ever visiting Alton towers again we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a superior double room for £69 B&B and it was spacious and comfortable. Service was a little slow at dinner due to staff shortages but this was explained and managed well. The bar was friendly (both staff and locals) serving well kept Marston's Pedigree and couple of other local ales, the Sauvignon Blanc could have been colder. The dinner was good: I had goats cheese to start - a large tasty cheese well cooked and served with a walnut and leaf salad and a balsamic reduction and my wife had pigeon breast. For mains I had sea bass on a seafood risotto and she had perch. It was all very well cooked and presented (except my wife's vegetables which were under-cooked, presumably die to the staff problem, but this was quickly rectified.).

Breakfast was excellent with good quality eggs, sausages and bacon and hot toast.

All in all we would definitely recommend the Crown for a quiet stay in an attractive part of the country.

Room Tip: Base on what other travellers have said about small rooms, I'd definitely say: "go for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The Crown is in the middle of an upmarket hamlet with its own car park. The room price of nearly £70 meant I was expecting something more than what it is , which is just quite a nice a pub with rooms, There is no reception and the room, although clean and reasonably modern was rather small with the double bed taking up 70% of the room space. Even as only a single occupant it felt cramped. Bathroom was also small but was modern and clean. Bed and bedroom furniture were flatpack type. I understand there are a couple of bigger 'superior rooms ' but presumably more expensive still.
Although in a rural setting it was not very peaceful due to Kitchen extractor fan being next to window, plus the very noisy bathroom fans and thin walls.
The pub itself is traditional with the usual modern update of leather sofas etc. Range of drinks is good with an excellent pint of Marstons Pedigree on handpump. The food menu was not very long but what I had ( Perch) was very good. On the website the dinner menu had a number of options below £10 but in reality there was only one . Also the wine list was lacking in a reasonably priced house wine with the cheapest bottle being £14.
Breakfast was freshly cooked with hot good quality coffee, something often not found in many hotels.
So some good and not so good points but as a general guide I would say that altogether the bill was about 20% more than I would normally expect to pay for this standard.

Room Tip: Try to get a superior room but without paying more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Good points:

- Short drive from Alton Towers
- Nice location


Bad points:

- Could do with a face lift
- Food not value for money or of a good standard
- Not many food choices for evening meals
- Difference between each of our portions at breakfast even though we ordered the same, as had ran out of sausages but failed to tell us before hand. Could have mentioned this before and offered an alternative

Very average stay - food held it back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HANNAH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Read reviews on hear . Looked at web site. Noticed they had belly pork on menu, ordered belly pork but where a little disappointed with what was served. Pork was tastie but fat needed to be cooked longer to give nice crackling. Potion was average even thou waitress said portions were large. Also deserts were nice but over priced. It's avert nice pub but that's what it is a pub and not a restaurant.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were very fortunate to get the last available room at this Inn. It is situated in a beautiful little village away from the hustle and bustle of the surrounding towns. Our double room was very clean with en suite shower room and the bed was so comfortable. I would agree with the fact that the walls are a little thin as unfortunately we had a heavy snorer next door! Unlucky, I guess. The bar area and seating area are very comfortable and all the food is made freshly to order. The full cooked breakfast with local sausage was delicious. The owner and staff were very friendly. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_benson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Montgomery
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
3.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
172 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.7 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
335 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Property: Crown Inn
Address: Riggs Lane, Marston Montgomery DE6 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Marston Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marston Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Marston Montgomery
Crown Inn Marston Montgomery, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing