We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable,friendly pub accommodation with good food.”
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middle Mayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were made to feel at home and the food was of a high standard. Room fairly basic but clean, warm and comfortable and not over priced. I would stay here again.and would recommend this pub. It is near to Dovedale and other local attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suedek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband took me here for Valentine's day evening meal.
Parking is ok but car park is dark and no direction to the main entrance.

Choice of different wines by the glass is limited and draft beer choice also limited.

We had a really nice meal, food was fresh and very good. Staff were all very pleasant and we didn't have to wait for anything or ask twice for anything.

Main draw back is the lack of atmosphere. Most of the tables are in rows and there are no features to break them up.

We may go again but during the day for lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank BlondeGirlGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just spent a weekend at the Rose & Crown 11th - 13th October 2013.Dan and Henrietta were perfect hosts,rooms were clean,warm and comfortable.Enjoyed two wonderful evening meals,Dan been an excellent chef all food was freshly prepared.Dan had time for his guests and all his staff were friendly and very accommodating.
Alan & Chris,Steve & Jean - Hull

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After being an occasional, but regular,customer of this establishment for a number of years, it was long overdue for a personal review. Recently, I was a guest at a birthday lunch here, a well-maintained pub in a quaint countryside village, one that reflects life and local history of the village that it located in. All courses were delicious and tastefully presently, especially considering the number of people sitting down at one "sitting" and at the same time handling other customers! Service was timely and friendly, with no mistakes with pre-ordered dishes. Way above the average pub grub. I would recommend it to anyone, local or visitor passing by. Beware of traffic when exiting (situated on a sharp blind bend).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We found this lovely pub and restaurant by chance, we usually meet up with friends in the Ashbourne area and were running out of places to try, then i spotted the Rose and Crown on a search engine site, What a find!
The restaurant is spacious and well decorated, the staff are welcoming and very helpful, the food is superb with lots of choice, one of the best Sunday lunch menus I have come across in recent years. The food is fresh and nicely presented. It was excellent value, pre lunch drinks a bottle of wine with a two course meal averaged £23 per person. we will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salmon-tors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just got back from a two day stay at the Rose & Crown. I have to say, this is a gem of a place to stay when visiting Derbyshire. Our hosts, Danny,Hen and all the family and staff make you so welcome, it makes for a very relaxed chilled out break. The food served by Danny is a marvel, fresh local ingredients brought together in an imaginative menu makes for a great dining experience. We use the Rose & Crown as a base when walking in the Dales and this stay was our fourth. After a day tramping across the beautiful Derbyshire hills, the great beers and fantastic foods prepared by Danny makes for a complete perfect experience. Looking forward to our fifth stay already.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jeccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my Dad, whilst we visited the area where he grew up. Although the pub was closed, as it was Monday, Danny, the owner met us and showed us to our room. We stayed in the family room as we wanted a twin bedded room. Beds are very comfortable, linen and décor is pleasant and the tea/coffee supplies are abundant. We didn't get a chance to eat in the pub in the evening, as it was closed, but the cooked breakfast in the morning was very tasty. Service was friendly and price is very reasonable compared to other lodgings in the areas. Would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middle Mayfield
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
337 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
325 reviews
1.7 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#2 of 26 in Ashbourne
228 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Main Road, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Middle Mayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Middle Mayfield
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose and Crown is situated in a village 2 miles from Ashbourne and 10 minutes drive from Alton Towers. We are a freehold, family-run business, with a focus on excellent food and drink and professional service in a friendly environment. Our guest accommodation comprises of 1 family room (children are welcome in the bar) or 3 double bedrooms, all of which have en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Middle Mayfield
The Rose And Crown Middle Mayfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing