We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back garden of Church Farm which can be used by guests. Snowy day in Kniveton
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Back garden of Church Farm which can be used by guests. Snowy day in Kniveton
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Miles of walks from the front door
Brook at back of garden offers shaded tranquility
Llama in field overlooking Carsington Water
Garden with bridge and swing seat
View across field to Church Farm in the background
Open fields with panaromic views of Kniveton,Ashbourne and Carsington Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kniveton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nannyanni...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Perfectly placed for all we wanted to do, home from home, loved it. Everything we needed was there, couldn't fault it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMarie...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely old country cottage with every amenity you could want.”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I, along with our son and two of our grandchildren (ages 11 and 15), stayed here between Christmas and New Year. When we arrived we were delighted to find that Liam has left two selection boxes for our grandchildren and a plate of mince pies for us adults. There was also milk in the fridge and tea, coffee etc. The cottage is very old and quite beautiful! However the bathroom and kitchen are both quite modern, the kitchen having a dishwasher and washing machine along with ample cooking equipment (even an interesting cookery book) if needed. The beds were very comfortable, lovely crisp white bedding and although small there was enough storage space for us. There were games for all ages, DVDs, books and lots of local information including some good walks. The weather was very cold and frosty each day, although nice and sunny and the cottage was lovely and welcoming to return to after our days out and we enjoyed the cosy evenings. There are some very pretty gardens for visitors to make use of although it was too cold for us to really appreciate those! The Red Lion, a couple of minutes walk down the road, is excellent. Good food, very comfortable with a lovely big log fire and very good food. I would recommend Milkmaid Cottage to anyone wanting a good base for walking and we would certainly return without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_S_09...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We've stayed here a few times before so knew what we were getting. Even though this is under new ownership, the quality of the place has not changed at all.
It's well equipped (people moan that there isn't much phone signal or any wifi - these people should get their head out of their ar**s for 5 minutes and appreciate the place and its setting, and try talking to people instead of burying your head in a laptop/tablet/phone all the time - you're on holiday after all!!)

It's location is great. Ashbourne is a great little town, only 5 mins drive away, and Matlock is fantastic.

I can't recommend this place highly enough, and will be going back again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage, ideal for families”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Milkmaids Cottage for 3 days with our grandchildren. We found the cottage to be very comfortable and surprisingly spacious. It is well equipped with everything you need. The owner was very accommodating and delivered us freshly baked rock cakes on our arrival which were delicious. The village is lovely but does not have any shops however Ashbourne is a short drive away & has supermarkets to get provisions.
We visited the Heights of Abraham during our stay & would thoroughly recommend a trip there.
We would definitely book this cottage again for our next trip to Derbyshire.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbel...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and Cosy Retreat”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed here as four adults in Nov 15 for a long weekend to catch up, there was plenty of space for us all and we were made super welcome, including home,add cakes on the kitchen table! The cottage was beautiful, clean and plenty of space. We had such a great time, and it even snowed overnight! Thanks for looking after us, would totally recommend to others.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverley4...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay, a real home from home. Central to lovely walks and places to visit. Would come again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTrave...
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Good location for peace & quiet to read, write & contemplate life.
Initially chilly but that appeared to be through lack of recent use. Warming the lounge was greatly aided by closing the curtains ...& some extra fan power, which travels with me for such occasions.
Bedroom ceiling wouldn't suite anyone tall.
Oh, worthy of note in these electronic times : an o2 signal wanders in/out of the bedroom, but no other network. There's no wifi to allow Facetime, TuGo or similar. I drove a mile away to get a 4g signal. For this reason, I wouldn't recommend to friends - but my old parents would be fine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy once warm
Liked least: Isolation from comms & data
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing