We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date night!”
Review of The Saracen's Head

The Saracen's Head
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Shirley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Award winning family run Derbyshire gastro pub close to the market town of Ashbourne. Listed in the Michelin Guide 2017 & Harden's Best UK Restaurant Guide 2017.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent meal again at the Saracen's Head...I had garlic mushrooms and the Deli Burger..HUGE!...and hubby had pate and Seabas...couldn't fault a thing!...thank you x

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jesterpoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin-Terri-Hunter, Owner at The Saracen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for rating your visit 5 out of 5: we're so pleased you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you both for another date night soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Saracens head last night for tea with my partner and friends. We booked for 7 and we’re outside having a drink as we’d not seen each other for a year, we were rudely interrupted by who we assume was the manager demanding we ordered our food because we were booked in for 7 and it was 5 past. We moved inside to our table and ordered being told they had some ‘big’ tables coming in so ours needed to be out of the way. We left at half 8 and the only ‘big’ table we saw was a 6. During our meal, an older man went to the bar asking if he could order. And the same lady refused him and said ‘I’m talking to my colleague.’ Then became defensive and rude when he said she was just stood behind the bar chatting. She refused to take his order and said she would go over. After 5 minutes she went over and then she came back to the bar and we overheard her say ‘I’m not putting it through yet because they weren’t booked in till half 7.’ But it was 7.35. Her attitude was terrible and uncalled for.
The food was absolutely fantastic and faultless. It’s a shame the staff are dragging it down. It ruined the whole experience.

Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin-Terri-Hunter, Owner at The Saracen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Saracen’s Head, we were pleased to read that “the food was absolutely fantastic and faultless” however we were obviously disappointed to read the rest of your review and even more disappointed that fantastic and faultless food resulted in a 1 star rating: our worst review in a very long time.

We have spoken to the member of staff you have referred to and explained that even when we are busy and a member of staff short in the kitchen customers should not be aware of the stress levels felt by staff and customers should certainly never be spoken to in a rude or disrespectful manner. We can assure you and other potential customers reading this response that we take customer service very seriously and we were truly upset to hear of your experience with a member of our team.

We can only apologise and hope that by reading some of our 4 & 5 star reviews you will see that this is a very rare occurrence at our pub. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyable drive through the countryside to the village, the Saracen's Head is a lovely looking pub and we were met with a warm friendly greeting with that all important smile. The menu is on boards on the wall and the restaurant has a great feel to it, well decorated and well laid out. The food was superb, well presented, tasty and a good portion size. However, three niggles bothered me, why set a table with a side plate and not offer bread/butter to start, we ordered a bottle of white wine when it came to the table it was warm, yes they put it in a wine bucket but don't they store it in a cooler and finally two of us ordered the same meal, one cooked blue the other medium they were brought to the table and just put down in front of us, yes you guessed it they had given us the other persons meal, a quick question of "who is having the blue/medium" would have been good. Perhap these niggles crept in because it had been a long day I don't know but at the end of the day the food was excellent and it is well worth making a reservation here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnhp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin-Terri-Hunter, Manager at The Saracen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Saracen's Head. We're really pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and we've taken on board your three niggles from the night and shared them with staff. Thank you for forgiving the service niggles to score us 4 out of 5 and for choosing to recommend a visit to us to other Trip Advisor users. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its a pub that's really a restaurant. Its set up for dining and that is the first question the front of house person asked of us - are you dining with us? Big reputation for good food and it lived up to expectations, plus the portions were large. If you are going out for the day then the surrounding area and village are lovely .
If I was nit picking I'd say that it felt odd to walk to the loos with open kitchen spaces either side. We also had a table for 3 and we weren't entirely comfortable. Front of house were pleasant, but need to be more attentive. Twice we had difficulty getting attention for drinks, and once you were at the bar they didn't offer to bring the drinks across to the table ( pub or restaurant ? )

Recognise that I am nit picking. The 3 of us enjoyed the food and would definitely go back, but for some reason we can't fathom we will not rush. So we appreciated it, liked it, but didn't love it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elliotts197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I went to this pub for Sunday lunch and loved it so much we returned for dinner the following Wednesday. The roast pork was really excellent with beautifully cooked vegetables and proper crackling. My dessert was ginger Parkin with confit of rhubarb and glacé ginger ice cream. Absolutely gorgeous and very imaginative. Dinner was excellent with a beautifully cooked piece of hake served with a fricassee of pancetta, peas and little gem lettuce. In addition there is a varied and interesting gin menu.

We only wish we lived nearer to go back often!
.

Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saracen's Head also viewed

 

Been to The Saracen's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing