We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
219
17
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
219
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old vicarage homemade jams bread on arrival peak district the pub dining room at home royal oak made us feel cake high standard self catering cottage warm welcome local area country house few days
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of stopping for one night at the old vicarage b and b and what a fabulous stay it was. I really wanted to stay longer, I would certainly recommend to others and plan to return myself someday. Rooms are spacious, very clean and tidy and very well furnished and comfortable. Big beds, comfy mattress and great pillows. Had a peaceful comfortable sleep. Big bathrooms with plenty of towels and toiletries. Peaceful large garden to relax in. Breakfast was great, just fill your breakfast form in the night before and leave in the lounge. Good choice of hot and cold and very enjoyable. Hot drinks and water available in the comfy lounge at any time of day. Also an honesty box with snacks water etc.. also homemade jams are available to purchase...yum. Nicky the host is just marvellous. She is so in tune with her guests and will do anything for you if possible, going out of her way to help you or make your stay better in any way she can. Her home and business is a credit to her, she clearly works hard and is proud of what she has achieved, and rightly so! Wonderful dogs too. I miss them already! They are fantastic little characters and will bring a big smile to all visitors. Infact, the whole place will. Just somewhere that you will be so pleased that you went to, and will always remember with affection. Thanks Nicky x

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Gemma
What an amazing review - thanks so very much. Got me a bit choked. I can honestly say the feeling was mutual and I absolutely loved meeting you all - albeit very briefly. The photos you took are fab - I really struggle to get good ones of the dogs together. It means a great deal to me that you enjoyed your stay and I really hope that you will manage to return. Hope the festival was great and best wishes to you all. Nicky xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed at Nicky's B&B at the Old Vicarage for a long weekend whilst we explored the stately and unstately homes in the area. Nicky is a great host, warm and welcoming. We had a room overlooking the back garden with an ensuite bathroom overlooking the courtyard at the front. All the amenities were there, including shampoo, body wash and body lotion. Although the accommodation was full, the place was peaceful and quiet - no disturbance from the neighbours. The full English breakfast was an indulgence for us. The only downside was the wifi, which was not working most of the time, despite resets attempted by Nicky. There were four dogs, one with a leg injury and three lively ones who love to play throw-me-a-ball with the guests. They are so cute and they added a bit of fun to our stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Diana Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for The Old Vicarage Country House. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both. My apologies once again for the booster for your room not working during your stay.It has now been replaced! We do usually have a good signal but with a big old house we do rely on the booster to give a good signal from the main WIFI to your room. Thanks again for entertaining the dogs who will always be grateful of a ball or two! Take care and we hope to see you again in the future. Nicky x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

I stayed at the Old Vicarage with my outdoors mate at the end of May. Lovely rooms, nicely furnished and very clean. Couldn't ask for more. You can walk from the house to the Manifold Valley and Thor'a Cave, and there are cycling trails - with bike hire - not too far away. Interesting villages and pubs everywhere you go. Nicki Drummond was a great host.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andygryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Andy
Hi - it was great to meet you both and I am SO glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that this beautiful area has to offer. Really kind of you to take the time to write a review for us too - it is so important to us to hear how your guests feel about their stay - especially when its good!!!!!
nicky x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Excellent B&B. Faultless really. Very comfortable beds, lovely house, great breakfast, beautiful gardens and friendly dogs. Our daughter couldn't stop playing with them and we could have spent the whole weekend in the back garden. Thanks again for looking after us. I would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Robert
Hi - it was an absolute deligh to meet you all - and see you all smartly dressed for the wedding! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us and thanks for playing with the dogs of course!!! That's what large gardens are for after all!
Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

We have just returned from our 4th stay at this superb self catering accommodation. The accommodation is to a very high standard with everything that you could need, and in a excellent location for walking and exploring the area. Nicky always makes you very welcome also provides lovely treats of home made bread and cake. She also has B &B next door if you want an excellent cooked breakfast!
We look forward to our return visit

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarageWetton, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi both
It was so great to see you again and we were so sad to see you leave. Thanks once again for your kind words - it really does make a difference and glad to hear standards haven't slipped! I hope you are both well and really hope we see you again soon!
Nicky xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews