We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best cottage you will ever stay in”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hollington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janehumbe...
Humberston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best cottage you will ever stay in”
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

As soon as we arrived felt at home we were met by the owners who are wonderful and can't do enough for you. The mews are breath taking no expense has been spared even feather quilts. The hot tub is amazing on an evening with glass of wine overlooked by a field of sheep of which Neil the sheep is very much in charge. He alone is worth the visit such a character. The pub down the road Red Lion is fantastic food well worth a visit. Overall wonderful place wonderful family who run it and of course the pets are fab. We will book again and bring all our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelley b
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic place, great location, friendly welcoming owners”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

A great place to stay if you like animals. It was close to Alton towers which suited us. The mews is lovely inside, perfect for relaxing. The hot tub was super! The owners were extremely inviting and helpful. We will be returning....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kids loved playing with owners dogs and pet sheep! also loved the hot tub!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best holiday let we have ever stayed in!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

I can not rate this holiday let higher!! The property is fantastic and although the photos look amazing on the website, they really don't do the property justice!!
We were greeted by the owner, who could not have been friendlier. This is the first property that we have rented that we felt at ease with the owner and could really relax and enjoy our stay!
The owner could not have been more helpful and even let me have some paracetamol for a headache! (The nearest shop is a drive away and while this is probably a good thing, you do have to be organised?!!)
My 4 year old daughter LOVED the animals, especially the sheep she befriended. We have had two outbursts of tears since our return (only yesterday!!) about not being able to go and feed and play with the sheep!
I would definately would like to return for another break away and would definately recommend to others (in fact we have already!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of hosts
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn lancashire
Reviewed 12 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lucy035
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 28 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We had a super stay at the Mews. The owners were friendly and approachable, happy for us to arrive before the usual check in time as it was available. The cottage was spotless, cosy and welcoming. The beds are extremely comfortable. There were some crumpets, butter, milk and jam laid out for our arrival, and other small touches like dishwasher tablets/washing powder.
The hot tub was superb, especially in the evening with a glass of wine!
We had 4 young children with us and this presented no problem, they loved feeding the sheep at the back of our property!
My mum also rented the Retreat and it was of a similar high standard.
Only minor problem was although the owner kindly lent us her code for internet access, we could only pick up a signal by standing near the front door. Probably not a major problem if you are on holiday but we did need to spend a fair amount of time online for work purposes.
We look forward to returning next year for another family break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: building work going on in adjacent barn which generated some noise, although this is a short term issue
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Reviewed 21 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nottingham
Reviewed 4 January 2011 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing