We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic getaway!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hollington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ameliakay...
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic getaway!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We wanted a long weekend away for a bit of rest and relaxation and The Old Smithy was absolutely perfect! Modern yet cosy, we had everything that we could need. The luxurious stand alone bath was a highlight and the huge bed super comfy! It was great curling up on the sofa after a long walk with a glass of wine and the tv or a book. The Sarasons Arms in the next village served superb food and the service was brilliant. Within good driving distance from most places that we wanted to visit and the many cafés in Ashborne kept us occupied on particularly rainy days! Can't wait to come back - thank you Phillipa!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Calm after a December storm”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We really needed a getaway after a stressful December and this place hit the spot perfectly. We knew we'd dropped onto a good thing when we arrived and met Phillipa - she is fantastic, easygoing and has done a great job with the old Smithy. We had been hankering for some kick back time together and the cottage was perfect for that. The added touches of luxury - the stand alone bath, the super kingsize bed and in fact, all of the top floor, is a real oasis while downstairs is comfortable, warm and had everything we could need. We happened to have our first anniversary on the Sunday and Phillipa recommended a superb pub with great food. We also met Neil the sheep who is quote the character. It has great access to nearby walks including Dovedale which is just lovely. We will, without doubt, return. I'm saying I'd recommend it to a friend and I would, except I'm tempted to keep it to myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom and bathroom plus location
Liked least: The weather on Sunday night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for much needed R&R”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked The Old Smithy for a 5 night break after our wedding as we couldn't face travelling abroad....we are so glad that we did.
The cottage is amazing in a lovely peaceful location with a lovely pub (serving delicious food) just a short walk away.
The owner, Phillipa, welcomed us on arrival and was very friendly (as were the pet cats and dogs) and helpful.
Perfect for a much needed break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetclif...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SIMPLY PERFECT”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

As a couple we have stayed in numerous locations throughout the UK & Ireland.
This one we would have to say was perfect in every way, one the BEST in fact.
Lovely location, very welcoming owners & pets. Everything we needed was provided and we thoroughly enjoyed the scones.
We found it great for travelling to many locations within the area and even beyond.
We would fully recommend "The old Smithy" to all.
We have had a full 10 day relaxing Holiday and have enjoyed it thoroughly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The cottage is beautiful, has a brilliant host and is in a great location which allows for some good walks and is within a 5 minute stroll to the local pub.
The Old Smithy made a great relaxing break in the countryside and we wouldn't think twice about going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“It does what it says on the tin!!”
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

On arrival Phillipa the owner greeted us, very friendly and informative about the area. The Old Smithy was tatstefully decorated, the attention to detail on every level i.e. decoration, comfort and contemporary appliances was first class.
It was full of character, as were the pets, which made the holiday special. Dopey Dogs, crazy cats, and serious sheep who studied every move made in the yard.
Nothing too much trouble for the owners, but always discreet and non intrusive.
The village pub served good food and Beer. Lovely area, plenty to see and do. Beautiful local walks, plenty of peace and quiet.. Perfick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bugs18
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“brilliant setting, lovely accomodation and wonderfully welcoming, A****”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

we have just spent a fantastic weekend at this lovely conversion. Very pretty and friendly village, owners could not have been more welcoming.
Accomodation spotless with lots of lovely extra touches, furnished to a very high standard.
Ate at village pub one night would highly recommend.
Ideally situated for touring peaks, also ideal to just laze around!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing