We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MMM...Port Hardy!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
C&N Backpackers Port Hardy
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“MMM...Port Hardy!”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here for one night prior to catching the Inside Passage Ferry to Prince Rupert.

The staff at the place were very friendly and helpful. Very nice. But they seemed really bored and VERY chatty! We were checked in quickly and without any issues, checkout was also good.

This building is a converted cinema, so it has very high ceilings, lots of cement on the floors covered by runner carpets that could use a wash. Our room had a bed 2 folding chairs and a table (do not rest anything of value on this table as it is pretty close to collapsing!) The bed was comfortable. Linens were provided as were towels which was good. It was very echo-ey in there with the cement floor and bare walls.

The communal kitchen was well stocked with pots pans and utensils. The fridge was adequate in size and there were 2 stoves to cook on. The kitchen really needed a deep clean and the dish rags were really stinky.

There were communal mens and womens toilets which were aqeduate. The floor was sticky though, perhaps from too higher concentration of floor cleaner (at least thats what I am hoping!) The shower I used was okay, low water pressure, needed a good deep clean. There was a floor mat in there that needed a wash and I left my thongs/jandles/flip flops on in fear of picking something up!

There was a communal lounge with a tele and some couches, they also had dvd's there to watch too. The internet worked well, wifi signal was strong and it was free which is a real bonus!

If this place got a really good scrubbing and a regular clean it would be good. The hostel definitely serves its purpose as a 1 night stop over before catching a ferry. This town is really struggling with a population drop from 10000 to around 3200 and this really shows with a lot of buildings empty and not a lot happening for people.

My biggest downside to my stay was leaving my awesome soap in the shower! But on the plus side, it can be used by the staff to do some cleaning! Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkdoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    4
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Overall, all I really want from a hostel is a clean and comfy bed to get my head down in, and a good natter with some like minded travellers.

I actually thought the guy was pretty friendly, really keen to help us. All that really let it down for me was the bed - the maress was really poor. I'm no princess, but the bench under the Eiffel tower I once slept on has a fonder place in my heart than this matress ever will. I could feel every spring.

Other than that, the place definately still needs some work - the concrete floors are not a great touch - but there was free coffee in the morning included, and the price was about right.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2010

When my partner and I stayed here, we found the place clean. The rooms themselves were extremely spartan, but perfectly tidy. The guy running the place however was rude and made our trip unpleasant. The front door was locked at 8 pm at night, and when we came there from dinner the employee sat watching tv while we knocked on the door and we had to be let in by a guest after a couple minutes. He scolded my partner and called him 'boy' warning us to make sure we tidied up after ourselves in the kitchen, (despite no sign of us making a mess), and was generally unwelcoming. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pembertonQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Hardy hotels

Munich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This place was the worst on our 2 month trip through B.C. We travelled on a budget, and stayed in hostels or well priced B&B's, all of them met a certain standard, when it comes to cleanliness etc. This one not: In our private room there we found a used condom packaging on the window sill, the showers were really dirty and this at 2 p.m. in the afternoon (after all the guests had showered in the morning, so there would have been enough time to clean them, but the managing lady and her freaky helper guy preferred to hang out in front of the tv etc.), the state of the kitchen disgusting: you could not open the lid of the bin because the malodour would make you faint, the same with the cloth for washing dishes - it stank so bad, we thought it hadn't been changed for months.
Then the freaky part: A really private picture in a frame, showing the managing lady smiling next to a basket with sanitary tampons in the women's washroom I found very weird!! That picture belongs into a private bedroom, not into a public hostel's washroom! This small detail actually describes the whole weird atmosphere of this place, which might substantially also be like that due to the people who work there / manage the place.
Last but not least, everything was set up in a very unpractical way: there were no closets or just some hooks to hang towels to dry, the showers and washrooms were very far away from our room. We had to stay for two nights, because we reserved, not knowing that there are much better places to stay in Port Hardy...check out the other hostel that has just opened in the center or find a nice, clean Bed & Breakfast for the same or even a better price and come to know the lovely locals...but do not go to the C&N backpackers.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellagri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at this hostel which, as per our guidebook, does look like a warehouse on the outside (apparently it was actually the local cinema previously). We had a private room which was basic but clean with a very comfortable bed. No breakfast was provided, however the communal kitchen was well-fitted with a large number of store cupboard items and free freshly-brewed coffee was available in the mornings. The hostel is conveniently situated near to the small downtown area which includes supermarket. We had dinner at the Quarterdeck Inn which is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the hostel to the harbour area. The food was good and the staff were generally helpful, offering to coordinate transport i.e. the bus shuttle to the ferry. Although friendly and helpful, one member of staff seemed to find it necessary to be overly present without obvious need, which we found slightly disconcerting. We had an excelling day trip from the hostel with North Island Daytrippers to San Jo Bay, which was beautiful. Driving the active logging road to the area would not be recommended in you own car and certainly not in a hire car.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevsterEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We stayed here for two nights. When to San Joeph Beach etc. Dinning area small as noted by other reviewer. We stayed in a private room and found it very noisy. Also thought it was abit over priced for what was offered. On the plus side we met alot of great people and interesting travelers.

  • Liked — Location, fellow travelers
  • Disliked — Noise, limited seating in eating/kitchen area.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Stayed for 1 night after ferry got in. Most customers would be travellers on or off the ferry for 1 night. Pretty nice place, renovated not that long ago. Large private rooms ( basic ) clean bathrooms.
It's a short walk to supermarket. Kitchen Ok but a little messy. Only a small eating area. Good lounge area.
Not much going on in Port Hardy so this place is good value for a night ( or 2 )

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Kitchen could be more tidy
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Hardy hotels
0.8 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
0.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
1.1 mi away
Ecoscape Cabins
Ecoscape Cabins
#2 of 15 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C&N Backpackers Port Hardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C&N Backpackers Port Hardy

Property: C&N Backpackers Port Hardy
Address: 8740 Main St, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Port Hardy
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
C&N Backpackers Port Hardy Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing