We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stop”
Review of Orange Tabby B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orange Tabby B&B
Ranked #4 of 16 Port Hardy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My daughter-in-law had to do some work in the area and I came along to help with the baby. Susan loaned us her stroller so that I could take the baby out for walks every day. She loaned her grandkids toys to the baby and he has played and played with them.
We wanted to bbq some salmon and Susan arranged for us to have a huge salmon fillet.
There is a living room, dining room and fully stocked kitchen plus laundry room. Town is only a couple of blocks away.
At the end of the street is the bay with a long park and walk along the water. You can find birds and fish.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g-maonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

From the moment I stepped into the door of the Orange Tabby B&B I felt like I was at home, Susan and James have created a lovely space for their guests. The B&B has a private entrance so you can come and go as you please and the whole place is bright, clean and modern. There is a real style to the B&B, which after a chat over breakfast with Susan and James, you can see it is a real reflection of their passion for the Port Hardy area. What I mean by that is that the rooms are decorated with pictures of their surroundings, the wildlife and fauna, shells and coral from the beach and other little interesting finds. If the B&B wasn't enough to pull you in, then a moment with Susan and James would certainly seel the deal, as they are both happy and bubbly hosts who can definitely put on a hearty and delicious breakfast spread, with home made muffins, eggs, fruits and more.
I was lucky enough to stay at the Orange Tabby for one night on my way to the ferry for the inside passage journey. After arriving late and then heading to the ferry the next day, it was clear after a short stroll around the town and a chat with James that this is a place that you need more than a day to take in. I was lucky to return to Port Hardy for an extra 2 weeks at the end of my trip and I'll always be pleased that I did return. Even in autumn / winter this was a beautiful place to visit, so I can imagine what treats you could find in summer.
Port Hardy and the Orange Tabby B&B will always be a special part of my journey and I would not hesitate in recommending them to anyone else travelling up the northern end of Vancouver Island.

Room Tip: If you are a couple or want extra room or a bathtub, just ask upon booking. Otherwise all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We only stayed here one night due to our heavy travelling schedule, but in retrospect would have loved to have stayed longer! James was most helpful and welcoming, we had arrived quite late off the ferry from Bella Coola, he made us a welcome pot of tea. He has added more to his B & B and we stayed in one of the front rooms, which was ultra comfortable, with a modern clean en suite. Around the room and indeed the rest of the B & B are some of his superb photos of wild life which kept us chatting for ages. Breakfast was a feast and set us up very nicely for our journey onwards. Hot and cold food, juice, tea, coffee, with homemade muffins and jam, truly delicious. We would recommend this lovely B & B very highly. James has also a shed full of knowledge about the local area and indeed to Island, and is happy to put you in the right direction for all your needs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Touring Vancouver Island, we wanted to visit the far north (well, at least where paving went!). Port Hardy pops out as a destination for a lot of stuff...First Nations peoples, animals, fisheries, salmon, etc. And, we wanted to stay in a B&B...thus, the Orange Tabby. Unfortunately, the Orange Tabby after which the B&B is named has died...last year...and the owners, being animal folks, have taken that loss hard. But, they just rescued a big, beautiful dog from Arizona...and named it, appropriately, Rizona!
Susan and James are wonderful innkeepers...attentive, informative, helpful, etc. They took us to see bears (at twilight) coming out to fish for salmon in the tidal river...at one time we saw 5 bears! And, of course, the salmon run, being pretty high, meant thousands upon thousands of salmon in the river, jumping and "frolicking!"
The B&B is located in a fairly commercial area, within minutes walking distance of the neat town of Port Hardy. The rooms are downstairs of their home...and quite small. Our room was VERY small and a bit claustrophobic, being at the back side, buried into the hill/berm. Please ask about the available rooms before booking...you'd want something lighter, larger.
James' breakfasts were very good...the small kitchen he's constructed on the rooms level is very functional and he comes up with some neat eats!
I don't know the cost of the other rooms...but ours was more expensive than, otherwise, we would have paid for what we were assigned. Our subsequent Vancouver Island B&B (the two nights following our stay in Port Hardy) gave us three times the floor space, a commodious bath, also three times the size, with extensive windows, in a quiet upstairs room, in an elegant, residential neighborhood...for $20.00 LESS per night.

Room Tip: Get one with a full window to the outside...and one of the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windsigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Spent a couple nights and Susan & James really made it a great time. James cooks a mean breakfast and they will let you know all about the area. From all the popular spots to eat, shop or enjoy an expresso or other beverage to where the local bears like to fish when the salmon are running. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAT1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My brother and I had a wonderful time staying at the Orange Tabby B&B. James and Susan are so accommodating. We were able to walk to the beach, see bears feeding with cubs, whale watching and relax in a beautiful garden...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our only mistake was to assume that Port Hardy didn't have much to offer the traveller. It is the opposite. Orange Tabby is one of the best bed and breakfasts places you will ever stay with James and Susan truly great hosts. This super house sits adjoining the small but delightful downtown area of Port Hardy. The surrounding area is majestic with plenty to do each day. Let James be your advisor and you will do some amazing things and see some great sights. An area steeped in First Nation history, blanketed with world class forests and lapped by salmon and crab filled waters. Did I mention chef James and his awesome breakfasts!

Room Tip: Stay a minimum of 4 nights to allow time to explore the region
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Hardy hotels
0.3 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telco House B&B
Telco House B&B
#2 of 16 in Port Hardy
43 reviews
5.2 mi away
Escape B&B
Escape B&B
#1 of 16 in Port Hardy
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
0.9 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tabby B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tabby B&B

Address: 8755 Hastings Street, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hardy
Price Range: £61 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe rooms with private entrance one block from the beach and walking distance to all amenities. All rooms have private en-suite bathrooms, queen beds, TV, DVD, bar fridge, bistro tables, bathrobes and slippers to make your stay more comfortable.We now offer a brand new common area and a kitchen has been aded downstairs for longer term rentals. A fully cooked breakfast is served every morning to start you on your day. James & Susan have an extensive knowledge of the North Island and are always willing to help. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orange Tabby B&B Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing