We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hostest with mostest !!!!”
Review of Orange Tabby B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orange Tabby B&B
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Hardy B&B and Inns
Edmonton Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hostest with mostest !!!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We had a wonderful experience staying at the Orange Tabby B & B!!!
The rooms were bright, clean and spacious. It was the most relaxing sleep we've have had in a while. We woke up to a delicious breakfast made by happy host's James and Susan who made the trip just that more comfortable.
The house was a short walking distance from the beautiful beach, and downtown Port Hardy.
I highly reccomend staying at the Orange Tabby, and plan on returning myself :)

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinterCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wokingfieldbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2008

This is a true example of how B&Bs outshine hotels every time.

James was a perfect host, nothing was too much trouble, from a delicious breakfast to booking our next 3 nights stay on the island, all at great B&Bs too. We just mentioned we were playing it by ear, and the contact book appeared, phone calls were made and we were sorted.

As we were leaving, James was helping another elderly guest down to the bus with his bags, which just summed up his attitude.

If you want to feel uplifted, this is the place to stay!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jdathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed at the Orange Tabby on the way to Alaska. We rode the bus from Victoria to Port Hardy and only had to walk 1/2 block from the bus station. We were there during peak season, so the price was $115 - and worth it. Great food, great hosts, comfortable beds. Other guests from mainland Canada, and New Zealand, all agreed it was a top place to stay. Their guest book had raves from all over the world. Oh - BTW - we had a 5:00 am ferry to catch - and hosts still made us a delicious breakfast.

  • Liked — the hosts, food, beds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rvr2mtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
500 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We booked for two nights as we were catching the ferry to Prince Rupert. The owners wrote us ahead of time to watch for the black bears. To our amazement we saw black bears a few miles from town.

Owners greeted us with a glass of wine and tea for my wife. Awesome breakfasts. They suggested and arranged for us to meet a local bear guide who took us out for magnificent bear encounters at a very reasonable price. (Try to arrange ahead of time as the guide gets booked and when went in evening when photographer was poor)

Since we had to leave at 5:15 to catch the ferry, we assumed no breakfast. Our host got up and prepared us a second gourmet breakfast. Port Hardy is rather drab as to shops and motels so be sure to book this gem of a b&b.

  • Liked — Friendly owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Excellent. We had a wonderful 2 day stay. We were made to feel one of the family and nothing was too much trouble for James and Susan. Even getting up to cook us breakfast at four in the morning to enable us to catch the Prince Rupert ferry. Staying at Orange Tabby was a wonderful way to start our holiday a complete stress remover!! We had our own bedroom and bathroom, everything you needed was provided including towelling robes and slippers. We had our own entrance and we breakfasted upstairs with other guests. All the food was freshly cooked and not to be missed. From the dining room there is an amazing view over the water the scene completed watching the visiting hummingbirds feeding on the deck.
I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation that offers 4 star quality at a very reasonable price.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jmsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We liked the room, it was clean and with a lot of extra's.
The owner was kind and made us a nice breakfast.

  • Liked — Good service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DutchTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Hardy hotels
0.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
0.3 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
5.2 mi away
Escape B&B
Escape B&B
#1 of 16 in Port Hardy
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tabby B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tabby B&B

Property: Orange Tabby B&B
Address: 8755 Hastings Street, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe rooms with private entrance one block from the beach and walking distance to all amenities. All rooms have private en-suite bathrooms, queen beds, TV, DVD, bar fridge, bistro tables, bathrobes and slippers to make your stay more comfortable.We now offer a brand new common area and a kitchen has been aded downstairs for longer term rentals. A fully cooked breakfast is served every morning to start you on your day. James & Susan have an extensive knowledge of the North Island and are always willing to help. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orange Tabby B&B Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing