We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend this place highly enough”
Review of Orange Tabby B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orange Tabby B&B
Ranked #4 of 16 Port Hardy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed here far too briefly between arriving from Prince Rupert on the inside passage ferry at midnight and leaving for a bus to Victoria at 8am the next morning! Despite the late hour, James gave us a warm welcome and showed us to a lovely room where we slept incredibly well! He was then up early to cook us a wonderful breakfast and chat about our trip and tell us about Port Hardy. Would love to go back and spend some time exploring the area as it sounds great - and would most definitely stay at the Orange Tabby again! Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

The Orange Tabby is in an excellent position tucked away just across the road from the Visitor's Information Centre. We stayed just one night before leaving early to take the Inside Passage Ferry. James gave us a great welcome.We offloaded the luggage and then had to drop off the hire car at Port Hardy's airport. James offered to pick us up from there rather than get a taxi then gave us a glass of wine and some nibbles on our return. He is a fantastic host and so helpful. We had a lovely comfortable room with everything we needed. James recommended eating places, booked our taxi for the morning as we had to be at the ferry Terminal by 6am. Originally we were going to take the shuttle ($13 for the 2 of us and leaving at 5 am) but James was able to say we could leave by taxi just befor 6am for only a few $s more, if we wanted to. An extra hour in bed ...! He provided us with a magnificent packed breakfast (melon, yoghourt, cheese, biscuits, hard boiled egg, a muffin and a cookie both home baked by James and fruit juice!) and fresh coffee we could make for ourselves in the morning. Sadly we didn't get to meet Susan but from the other reviews she is as completely welcoming as James. Definitely the place to stay in Port Hardy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EccentricExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The breakfasts are first class unmatched by the best hotels I've been to. The area is full of wildlife and interesting places to visit. I am without a doubt planning a return trip

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skodajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Private rooms with, private bathrooms in each unit
Great hosts!!
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R2mbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

What a pleasure it was to stay here, shame that we only had one night as very very comfortable bed in a very nice room with everything that you could possibly need in it.

To top it all James and Susan are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet, it was like having breakfast with 2 friends rather than 2 people you have met minutes before.

Even arriving at 23:00 off the ferry James is there to meet you and help with the luggage and then up again at 05:00 to say goodbye to guests leaving on the ferry next morning, always ensuring that any disturbance for sleeping guests is minimised.

A fantastic place that we do not hesitate recommending.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packingbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed at the Orange Tabby for 1-night after a long drive up from Tofino as we were catching a ferry to Bella Cool the following day. James greeted us with a welcome glass of wine and nibbles. The room was very comfortable and quiet but despite a full days driving we were straight back in the car after James suggested that we may be able to see bears a few minutes away. We sat for an hour on the bridge and watched 3-black bears catching salmon just below us.

Even though we had an early start the next day, James and Susan made us a filling breakfast in a box to take with us with a hot coffee. My only negative was that we only stayed for 1-night! I would really recommend a minimum of a 2-night stay as there are a lot of nature trips such as bear and whale watching to be done in the area and James and Susan (and Rocky the dog) are great hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Arrived tired from our drive. Host offered us a seat in the back garden. Served a good white one. Accommodation was excellent, modern and clean. Left for the ferry at 05:20 hrs. Host supplied us with a boxed breakfast, which included a hot coffee. We ate it with great enjoyment while we were waiting to board the ferry. Highly recommended.

Al & Linda, Delta, B.C.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank elkwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Hardy hotels
0.2 mi away
Telco House B&B
Telco House B&B
#2 of 16 in Port Hardy
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
53 reviews
4.9 mi away
Airport Inn
Airport Inn
#5 of 6 in Port Hardy
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tabby B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tabby B&B

Address: 8755 Hastings Street, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hardy
Price Range: £61 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe rooms with private entrance one block from the beach and walking distance to all amenities. All rooms have private en-suite bathrooms, queen beds, TV, DVD, bar fridge, bistro tables, bathrobes and slippers to make your stay more comfortable.We now offer a brand new common area and a kitchen has been aded downstairs for longer term rentals. A fully cooked breakfast is served every morning to start you on your day. James & Susan have an extensive knowledge of the North Island and are always willing to help. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orange Tabby B&B Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing