We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bear hugs and bear pictures” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orange Tabby B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orange Tabby B&B
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Hardy B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bear hugs and bear pictures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon in Canada - wish we'd stayed for longer. We arrived late at night and left at dawn the next morning to catch the ferry up the inside passage. We received a fabulous warm welcome (with hugs, snacks and wine) and were given directions to the local bar where we could get a late meal and a local beer. The bedroom and bathroom were great - everything we could want and high quality bedding, towels, toiletries. They managed to strike that perfect balance of being both comfortable and welcoming but very modern, clean and swish. In the morning we left super early but still had a great take-away breakfast and hot drink to take with us. We'll definitely be back when we holiday on Vancouver Island again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munkigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orangetabby58, Owner at Orange Tabby B&B, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to write a nice review about our property. We really appreciate all the feed back as anything we can do to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible is one of the main reasons we started this business. thank-you


James & Susan Emerson
Orange Tabby B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Susan and James were the perfect hosts - friendly, informative and helpful. Sadly ours was a very brief visit of one night to make a ferry connection the next morning - I wish we had been able to stay longer .

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted with wine and snacks and then within a few minutes we had been invited to dinner at a local restaurant with the hosts, their visiting family and the other B&B guests. Amazing hospitality !! And James even drove us to the ferry terminal really early the next morning. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We didn't get to try the full breakfast that many other guests have commented on as we left pretty early in the morning but they prepared lovely breakfast boxes for us.

We would definitely stay at the Orange Tabby again !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mynci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Came off the Prince Rupert ferry and then stayed several night.
Lovely room with own bathroom, TV and DVD player ( and choice of films) and small fridge/ wine glasses in the room.
Glass of wine each evening and breakfast to die for each morning.
Nothing too much trouble for the owners Susan and James who will give lifts, sort out dining reservations and accommodation for future nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

This is a great B&B, due in no small part to the incredible hospitality of James and Susan, the couple who run it. This was the case from the moment we arrived, when we were welcomed with a glass of their home made wine. We didn't really have any plans for the evening we arrived, and they advised us about a talk by a local wolf expert (with his wolves!) and a nice restaurant nearby. They made us a reservation at the restaurant and James even gave us a lift as it was slightly out of town. This really is incredible hospitality!
Also, the breakfasts were great, and different every day you are there, really setting you up for the day! And on our last day, we had to leave really early to get the ferry, and they did us a breakfast box to take with us, which was great.
Our room was spotless, and very nicely decorated. You have your own key to the downstairs, which is also good as you can come and go as you please. The location is good as it's close to the centre of Port Hardy.
We'd definitely recommend this place - we stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel really welcome.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerset_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
big island hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We only spent one night at the Orange Tabby but would like to go back and stay longer next time. Port Hardy is a lovely little town and Susan is a great hostess. We got in late at night from the ferry and she was waiting up for us with a glass of wine and cookies. The next day she went out of her way to get us to our rental car with a short tour of Port Hardy on the way. Her breakfast was very good! Thank you, Susan!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed one night at the Orange Tabby and thoroughly enjoyed our host James & Susan and everything about our accomodations. We had a private entrance and private bath. The bed was very comfortable and all the linens were fresh and good quality. The breakfast was excellent with generous portions of home cooking. Our hosts were full of good suggestions of ways to kill time before leaving for the ferry. We also arrived late at night and were greeted by James who helped carry our luggage in. It is also conveniently located to walk downtown. The Orange Tabby is a really nice little place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Very nice B&B. Best bedding we had in Canada for 3 weeks. Host is a very nice retired fisherman. The rooms are new and very nice, they also have a comfertable bathroom. Breakfast is good with home made waffles, and finally a man in the kitchen!
We felt very at home. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenSholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Hardy hotels
0.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn
Quarterdeck Inn
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
5.2 mi away
Escape B&B
Escape B&B
#1 of 16 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telco House B&B
Telco House B&B
#4 of 16 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tabby B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tabby B&B

Property: Orange Tabby B&B
Address: 8755 Hastings Street, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe rooms with private entrance one block from the beach and walking distance to all amenities. All rooms have private en-suite bathrooms, queen beds, TV, DVD, bar fridge, bistro tables, bathrobes and slippers to make your stay more comfortable.We now offer a brand new common area and a kitchen has been aded downstairs for longer term rentals. A fully cooked breakfast is served every morning to start you on your day. James & Susan have an extensive knowledge of the North Island and are always willing to help. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orange Tabby B&B Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing