We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Refuge”
Review of Ecoscape Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ecoscape Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Texada Island
1 review
“A Welcome Refuge”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

After a long drive up the Vancouver Island coast we had a peaceful, hospitable stay at the cabins. Dan and Donna couldn't have been more gracious. What a pleasant find!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
75
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, AB
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Dan and Donna were very friendly helpful individuals, and they helped us to plan our stay in the area. We chose to stay in April, even though it was rainy, because as of May 1 the price of the cabin became out of our price range. With the rainy weather, we were in doors at night, and an oven/stove in the kitchen would have made meals easier to prepare. The cabin was very clean, and exceptionally decorated, with the vaulted ceilings and slate tile bathroom being our favourite. The kitchen was well stocked with all necessary amenities (except for a stove), and was located in a quiet subdivision outside of town. Our only complaint was with the owners staying on the property, we felt that we were always being watched.

Room Tip: There are 3 sizes of cabins, so double check what you have booked. Cabin 1 is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

All I can say is the entire experience was first rate. Dan and Donna are the kindest, warmest people you'll ever meet and the cabins and scenery are oustanding.

Room Tip: No matter what cabin you choose the experience is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_10x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

6 cabins, 3 have views of Port Hardy. The other 3 have views of RV/boat storage, Big YUK..
Cabins are very cute, very clean and nicely done, with a few details that need tweaking.
Our cabin had two comfortable generous sized twin beds, with lovely duvets that DID NOT HAVE duvet covers on, gross! The whole idea behind duvets is washable covers. (also consider adding a inside duvet protector) the duvets are on top with blanket and sheet under, guests sit on these uncovered duvets in all manner of dress and undress!
There are 2 small kitchen type chairs and table set which is nice, but for anyone who wants to sit for reading or relaxing they are small and hard, so one must sit on the bed, on the duvets with no covers....
A padded chair with arms would be a welcome addition.
The bathroom was really beautiful, with a huge slate walkin shower. Sorry, two minor complaints... The sink is microscopic, feel like you are splashing everywhere when using it. As this unit has microwave and fridge and dishes and cutlery you have to wash the dishes in a sink the size of a cereal bowl. The shower is so pretty, and the rainfall shower head seems like a good idea, but is not practical for anyone who may have mobility issues, elderly folks for example, or for small kids. Since there is no bathtub one would want to have a handheld showerhead to bathe kids, and for ease of rinsing oneself if one is not physically capable of the contortions required to rinse the personal bits. Also... isn't it a lot harder to clean this big shower without a handheld?
Cute, clean, good value, nice hosts, some minor issues, and really disliked looking at a storage facility from the nice deck.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanislandgirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

There are 7/8 fairly new cabins situated on a hillside only 2k from the ferry terminal. well signposted. The rooms are small as is the bathroom with a walk in shower. Outside is nice with decking and a sitting area for each cabin. I did not feel the price was good value at $150.There are no restaurants in the area and it is necessary to go into Port Hardy for food. The choice of restaurants there is poor. As with many family run establishments the family feel they should be able to use all the facilities. Just outside the cabins was a barbaque area which was taken over in the evening by a large party of children and adults who did not appear to be staying in the cabins and created unwanted noise. If you are to run a commercial establishment the family and friends should be excluded.I may have been unlucky to stay on a warm sunny evening! For this reason and the price,I am unlikely to stay again.

Room Tip: I believe there are different size of cabins, ask for a large one if you can aford the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shakor, Owner at Ecoscape Cabins, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Firstly, the room was $130 per night, not $150, also we gave you the opportunity to go into the room to check it out before renting. Maybe if it was too small for you at this time, you could have chosen a larger cabin. Secondly, the guests enjoying the bbq area were staying on the premises and were not friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Ecoscape Cabins provide all the creature comforts any urbanite would need while still providing quick access to the rugged outdoors of northern Vancouver Island. The cabins are new, modern and well equipped. The grounds are very attractive with outdoor seating areas. Donna and Dan are friendly, gracious and accommodating hosts.

Room Tip: The cabin was fully equipped with microwave, induction cooktop, fridge/freezer and coffee maker (wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 726352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights here....slept like a log. Super comfy bed (as in crazy comfy), spotlessly clean cabin; just a perfect retreat/base for exploring the area. Dan and Donna incredibly helpful and pointed us towards some fantastic scenery and interesting local sights.

Highly, highly recommended and I'd have no problem staying again. Soon.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bhaforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
0.9 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
1.3 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
159 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecoscape Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecoscape Cabins

Property: Ecoscape Cabins
Address: 6305 Jensen Cove Road | Box 2505, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecoscape Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecoscape Cabins, the Natural Alternative, provides a luxurious relaxing get-a-way. Cabins include queen beds, satelite TV, kitchenettes, custom one of a kind bathroom, large cedar deck and fabulous views. Located on Bear Cove highway, we are minutes from BC Ferries and 7 minutes to down town. Come and enjoy the peaceful surroundings and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ecoscape Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecoscape Cabins Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing