We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Place on the North Island”
Review of Ecoscape Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ecoscape Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicest Place on the North Island”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I had the pleasure of spending six months on Vancouver Island. And spent a lot of time in the Port Hardy area. The Ecoscape Cabins are by far the best place to stay on the North Island. Dan and Donna are the nicest people! They make your stay very enjoyable. The cabins are very nicely done and the beds great. I look forward to my next trip to Port Hardy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
75
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We had the most wonderful stay here. Not only did we love the our tidy, cozy, beautiful cabin but Donna and Dan, the owners were so helpful, friendly and welcoming! They totally made what would have been a miserable weekend (our car engine exploded so we had no transportation) a completely wonderful experience. We most definitely will return to stay here and would give it our highest recommendations. We have already recommended it to our friends and family. Thank you for having us!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Marika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We arrived in Port Hardy with the rain. After camping in a tent for a week, it was a glorious, luxurious treat to come across Ecoscape Cabins for a good price and still be somewhat out in the wilderness. The outdoor kitchen area was really just fun, even in the rain. Can imagine some sweet bbqs and beers out there in the summer! The beds were large and comfy and the showers were definitely utilized! Dan and Donna were welcoming hosts. We appreciated the hard work they've put into the place to make it what it is already, plus we heard a bit of their plans for more cabins and the like. Appreciated the fair trade coffee, but would love see organic/fairtrade/eco friendly tea and sugar etc, keep the 'eco' theme going. Thanks for having us!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simbonosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The web site for Ecoscape Cabins gives you a good preview of what to expect upon your arrival. Then your arrival confirms that you are getting way more than you expected. The cabins are exceptionally well planned in the design and implementation of amenities to provide a upscale yet enviornmentally friendly lodging experience. We arrived after 11:30 PM on the ferry and were glad that our accommodations were just a couple miles from the terminal. We stayed in Cabin #3 and enjoyed viewing the deer from the front porch. Dan and Donna have every reason to take pride in the work that they have done to make Ecoscape Cabins a place you want to make your destination, rather than just a stop on the way to the next attraction. It is the place to stay in Port Hardy. There is no breakfast offered, but the beds are so comfortable you will sleep through breakfast anyway. A short run into town for a late breakfast/early lunch is no problem. Then pick up some groceries and eat the rest of your meals at the cabin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinklady007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayd at Eco Cabins at Port Hardy after arriving late, coming from the boat. The owner received us very friendly although it was very late. The cabin was clean and the design luxurious, spacious and warm. It was still and relaxing with animal and environment friendly gardens. The hummingbird feeders were filled and we had an excellent nights sleep. When we returned we stayed there again and it was a pitty that the owner, Dan, was gone for a trip. Otherwise we would have loved to go with him on a boat tour for salmons and bears nearby. We will go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Dan and Donna have created heaven on earth. We stayed for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Beds were super comfortable and we can not wait to come back! Cabin 1 is the best, great view, fairly private. Even though you're right next to BC19 and a ferry terminal, you don't notice the traffic generated by the ferry arrivals.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The name fits the setting as well as the owner's committment to caring for the environment. Best sleep/shower we had during our entire vacation! No need to imagine enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning and seeing a deer walk past the porch - we lived it!! Beautiful setting and well-contained kitchenette allowed us to continue to cook our own meals and enjoy them in such a magical setting. (Wrap-around porch and BBQ were definite asset) Very close to the ferry which was quite convienent for a 5:30 am check-in. The owners take pride in their property and are very accomodating in responding to needs of guests. We appreciated the fact that Dan was there, even at 10:30 pm to welcome us to our cabin. He also had great suggestions for hiking in the area. Would definitely stay there again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is set at the top/corner of the property and we felt offered the most privacy from the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
0.9 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
1.3 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
159 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecoscape Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecoscape Cabins

Property: Ecoscape Cabins
Address: 6305 Jensen Cove Road | Box 2505, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecoscape Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecoscape Cabins, the Natural Alternative, provides a luxurious relaxing get-a-way. Cabins include queen beds, satelite TV, kitchenettes, custom one of a kind bathroom, large cedar deck and fabulous views. Located on Bear Cove highway, we are minutes from BC Ferries and 7 minutes to down town. Come and enjoy the peaceful surroundings and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ecoscape Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecoscape Cabins Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing