We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, lovely welcom”

An Ocean Storm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
An Ocean Storm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 16 Port Hardy B&B and Inns
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely welcom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This accomodation was the best in our whole trip! Michele and Dave are the sweetest couple and they have so much to tell about the wildlife. They love to share their experiences and know so much about nature and whales, and the way they share: we felt like being amongst friends we know for ages! Breakfast was too good to be true,and Daves smoked salmon the best! The 'private' beach at the back of the house forces you to make a stroll. We would have stayed longer if we were not taking the ferry up north.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisIngeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Nice quiet B&B that backs onto Storey Beach.
I have nothing but good things to say about this place.
Rooms nicely decorated, quiet and you also have internet access. Really feel at home and the bed was so comfortable I had a hard time crawling out of it the next morning.
Host are amazing people that made you feel right at home. Michele is an awesome cook.
A small foot path from the spacious backyard and patio leads you directly onto Storey Beach which is one of the those magical places to go visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonicfreefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

An Ocean Storm is a very welcoming B&B in a lovely house and garden with a view of the ocean and just a short walk to a beach. Michele is a great host who has lots of local knowledge and is happy to provide information on the wildlife and things to do in Port Hardy. The house and garden are really nice, with a big guest sitting room and a lovely garden that you can walk through to the beach. Breakfast is served in the kitchen and was excellent the morning we were there, with home caught and smoked salmon and fresh bread and baked goods.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We are so happy having found this superb B&B. It cannot get any better than this. The hosts are very welcoming and helping wherever they can. The rooms are just gorgeous and super clean. Breakfast is really tasty and meeting everyone's taste. Last but not least the great scenery around. The beach in the backyard inviting for long walks with a high chance of seeing eagles. In late August even whales show up in that area. We felt very much at home and basically never wanted to leave. We'll be back! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senor_Chang_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

We have been to this B&B after the 15 hours boattrip with the Inside Passage and it feels like we came home. It was very late but everything was arranged. The room was very spacious and clean with a huge bed. The next morning the breakfast was excellent and the owners told a lot about the points of interest in the area. Unfortunately we were only 1 night here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Meeuwsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Wonderful location a few miles from Port Hardy, very quiet place where to sleep and fantastic breakfast. Very close to the beach where you can walk looking at whales and eagles. Dave and Michelle are very nice and friendly. Expert fisherman he can give you useful advice to get some salmons.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luisagenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

this is a new B&B in the Port Hardy area recommended to us by the owner of another B&B who did not have room for us on the dates we requested. We stayed 2 nights and thorougly enjoyed our stay. We were in the penthouse suite which is perfect for a romantic getaway. It has its own jacuzzi and steam room as well as a fireplace. A complimenatry bottle of wine and some chocolates awaited us in our room. With a fridge and microwave we were able to self-cater our evening meals.

The B&B is situated at Storey's Beach - perfect for beachcombing and an easy drive to the Prince Rupert Ferry Terminal.

The first morning we had a wonderful breakfast with hot choices as well as raspberries fresh from the garden and home made muffins. The next morning we were leaving for the ferry at 5:00 so our hostess, Michelle, made a great "brown bag" breakfast to take with us. Breakfast was available in our room as we were in the penthouse suite, but we opted to have our breakfast with the other guests in the lovely kitchen.

Michelle is the perfect hostess - ready with information, directions or a chat, but not intrusive. At breakfast the first morning a taxi arrived early for one of her guests who had not yet had breakfast, so Michelle drove him to the bus station so he would have time to eat - talk about service!

I would recommend this spot for people who are going to the ferry (or coming from the ferry), for fishing, relaxing walks on the beach or a base for exploring the northern part of Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
2.9 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
3.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Escape B&B
Escape B&B
#1 of 16 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ecoscape Cabins
Ecoscape Cabins
#2 of 15 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
24.1 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Ocean Storm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Ocean Storm Bed & Breakfast

Property: An Ocean Storm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5885 Beaver Harbour Rd | Storeys Beach, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hardy
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
An Ocean Storm Bed & Breakfast Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing