We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and friendly hostel in area that's not a lot of use without a car...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice and friendly hostel in area that's not a lot of use without a car...”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Okay... Port Hardy... as i said without a car we were told (in the tourist information center) that there's not a lot to do. But the hostel was nice anyway - i made a friend who was also traveling alone so we hung out together. The hostel is interesting... there's smaller rooms for the girls and one big room for the boys (beds on the side) - with the dinning area, a soccer-table and the tv-set in the middle. There's a small kitchen and you get breakfast. Anne lives in the house too and gives a lot of advise and can engage you in talk - if you want to. It's a nice and friendly place to stay though the big dorm-eating-playing room takes a little getting used to. And as long as you don't spend all night downloading movies you're welcome to use the wireless.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
23
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in (and I've stayed in many). Because it was winter, this was the only place open in Port Hardy - according to the website we would be staying in a hostel environment. However when we arrived we discovered that we would be staying in the proprietors own home with their family. For the price we paid ($26.50 each) we found this unacceptable. We felt very uncomfortable in the house and as though we were invading their home. The owners were also quite creepy and I felt on edge and did not enjoy our stay. There was no lock on the bathroom (shared with the family) and the entire house smelt like the dog (there was also dog excrement on the carpet). If you are in Port Hardy in summer we highly recommend you stay at the C&N hostel (we haven't stayed there but anywhere would be better than this place). If you're passing through in winter it's probably worth paying the extra to stay in one of the motels.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pikelette999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northcoasthostel, Guest Relations Manager at North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for your input into our Hostel; we are always looking to do better and appreciate your feedback.

As the year is very diverse and our hostel must adapt to the quieter winter season, we have our guests stay in the private suites section of the hostel, which does have a more homely atmosphere.

However, where we've made mistakes in terms of service and/or comfort, we'd like to apologize. You've brought it to our attention and we look to move forward from your feedback, as our aim is for everyone to have a excellent and welcoming experience in our hostel community, no matter the time of year.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Best regards,

--
North Coast Trail Backpackers Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I was pleased to be picked up from the ferry at no additional cost. The hostel is functional, rather than attractive and is split into two parts. The part I stayed in is in a separate large flat next door to the main body of the hostel. Check in was efficient and I was given keys for the front door of the main building, the street level door of the hostel's flat and a bedroom key. There was a persistant very odd chemically smell at the base of the stairs, which happily did not extend up into the flat. I had a private room, which contained a bunkbed with a double bed on the bottom and a single bed on top. There was a chair in the room next to the bed. The mattress was a bit of a problem, sloping a bit in the middle. A towel and clean bedding were provided. There was a communal kitchen and lounge area - but most people seemed more drawn to the communal area in the main hostel. The bathroom was shared - possibly between quite a few rooms, as I am not sure if other rooms were ensuite. The bathroom wasn't great - the surfaces were kept clean, but the floor stayed somewhat hairy while I was there. The shower was an overbath one, which had some problems.

I have explained some negatives, but there were a number of positives to the hostel. The main part of the hostel was eccentric but fun. There is a large communal area with games like table tennis, comfy seating and a large TV with a big DVD, book and board game selection. There is free internet and wifi (the wifi seemed to be causing some people a few problems, but the computer internet was working fine). Somewhat surprisingly, there are a number of bunk beds in the communal area (so if you need a quiet sleep, do think about making sure you are not in this area), but the people staying in this area seemed happy enough. I noticed a number of pleasant looking small dorms off this main area, and I used a modern bathroom with a fresh looking shower. There is a small shared kitchen which was well stocked with the usual equipment. Toast and spreads were provided for breakfast at no extra fee.

The owners were very nice, providing good information, making phone calls and trying to help out with any problems. Several times, they went out of their way to help sort things out for me, which I appreciated. For anyone with dog issues, it is worth noting that they have a very nice non-barky small dog (seemed not to shed) which had a day bed in the communal area. Most people staying at the hostel were either passing through as part of a big trip, or were busy with some type of adventure, so there were plenty of opportunities to get chatting. This was one of the most pleasantly sociable hostels that I have stayed in.

Overall, if you expect a rather eccentric hostel which could do with some refreshing, but with a very friendly atmosphere in the main building and kind hosts, you'll be thinking along the right lines.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

No, I am not one of those travellers who expect hotel luxury for backpackers prices. I have stayed in youth hostels and backpackers throughout europe, australia and new zealand, and so I know what to expect. We were promised a private room with ensuite bathroom in a separate part of the hostel, with its own cooking facilities for a very reasonable rate. It sounded too good to be true and it was. The ensuite had no shower or bath, the private room had no way of being locked and we were sharing this part of the building with other travellers., so we had concerns about security. When we arrived late evening after a long ferry trip, there was no-one there because the manager had gone to pick up other guests from the ferry. So we waited some time before being able to check in - even though we were expected. The whole hostel had a smell of dope and the towels and linen smelt musty. To be fair, when we complained, the management did offer to accomodate us at the motel that they owned which we declined because it was already so late and we were exhausted. We were given a part refund as a result of our complaints which I acknowledge was a genuine attempt to compensate us. Unfortunately the damage was already done, as we had argued over what action to take and so this part of our holiday was spoilt..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I stayed here the day before actually hiking the North Coast Trail. I was with six other people and we had a dorm room to ourselves. The service was super friendly and everything was kept clean. Our beds were comfortable and there was never a long line at the washrooms. Our room was perfect for our group to get ourselves organized before the big trip. The only thing I noticed that I may not have liked is that there are several dorm beds in the common area (with the games and t.v. etc). However, it seemed like all of the guests were quiet and respectful for anyone sleeping in that area. Bonus .. they have shuffle board, ping pong and other entertainment. They are also located quite close to a yummy pub, breakfast place and convenience store. This was a great stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightlily79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were not sure whether to stay in a hostel or a hotel, but my wife suggested to check out the hostel, and I am glad she did. It has been so great there. As someone else mentioned, this is THE place to stay in port hardy. Rooms are clean and big, kitchen great with the basics already there (coffee, olive oil., butter etc). Rates very reasonable. Wifi for free. We were really happy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This is THE place we'd recommend for a stay in Port Hardy - very cozy, clean and comfortable Hostel in the centre of Port Hardy. Very close to the waterfront, a small grocery store or the Greyhound Bus stop; more shopping nearby.

We've stayed in a private double room with ensuite washroom in the building adjacent to the main hostel and felt like at home. Imagine a guest apartment with a few bedrooms, big kitchen with all amenities (including breakfast toast, coffee/tea!) and living room (no TV, thanks!).

The place is very nice, safe, clean and an absolute treasure in its category. Family owned and run with a personal touch - and a great place for any hiking / outdoor vacation on the north part of vancouver island (owners have also lot of hiking/trail recommendations to offer).

A great place to stay for a very good value!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nature2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
0.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
159 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecoscape Cabins
Ecoscape Cabins
#2 of 15 in Port Hardy
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel

Property: North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
Address: 8635 Granville St, Port Hardy, British Columbia V3X 1L5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is in downtown Port Hardy just steps from the beach. We have wonderful ocean views, a great lounge room with table tennis, billiards, and shuffleboard. We have both dorm beds($24-$26), private rooms($60-90) and family rooms available. Our staff is friendly and knowledgeable whether it is where to eat, which trail to hike or where the local eagles nest is we are happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing