We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and near the ferry”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pioneer Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Colwood, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and near the ferry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a very old building and it needs replacement. I will not stay there again but if you are arriving late, leaving early and trying to minimize the price it is clean and the bed was fine. It may look better in the daylight but I found a better place for my return trip anyway..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    13
    6
    14
See reviews for
8
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
748 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 707 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here as the other motels in town were full. Located 5 minutes out of town on a quiet side street, this 2 floor motel, with outside access, has seen better days. Our room was on the second level. The concrete walkway on the second level was cracked...not a good omen....but the room, which had a double and a single bed, microwave, fridge, TV, and desk, was clean, where it counted, with nice sheets. Bathroom towels were on the thin side. Limited toiletries.The decor was definitely not modern with its wood grain wall panels, floral bedspread, and pink bathroom fixtures. The windows opened for fresh evening air. Rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is allowed outside the rooms and this smoke can drift into rooms when the window is open. We had a good night's sleep, but one can be woken up early by those leaving to catch the early ferry out of Port Hardy. There is no complimentary breakfast...make do with room coffee (paper cups) and your store bought pastries for breakfast. There is an Overwaitea grocey store in the mall in town. The ferry provides a substantial breakfast.The front desk lady was friendly and helpful with information about the ferry schedules and the town. IMO, this motel was just OK for our one night sleep, but it was pricey considering that similar rooms in the American mid-west would be charging 1/2 the amount we were charged.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Hardy hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

The motel is not only old, it is decadent!
Rooms are clean but stinking. Bed was unconfortable, the bathroom was small and old. Price is TOO HIGH for what you get (120 CAD)! No help from the young guy at the front desk. Next time we will definitly sleep in another place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elyteoontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean and not bad place too stay if you are way tired and not over thinking the atmosphere... As long as you are not there to watch snl on the tv you are are good to go........The management is friendly and is quick to get you signed in and in your room in minutes ....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootyfruity07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is a tired, old, run down motel, used predominately by people for one night to use the ferry, or by fishermen. Its saving grace is the manageress, who is extremely friendly and helpful, and the fact that the room is clean. Otherwise, the decor is extremely shabby and dated, and is in need of a complete re-vamp, if not demolition and re-build. Be warned: the restaurant adjacent is closed and derelict, but if you don't have a car, the manageress offered to order us takeout pizza. If you do have a car, find a decent restaurant in Port Hardy (impossible), or go to Overwaitea supermarket and get provisions. The rooms do have a working oven and fridge. Having said all this, it's ok for a one night stand for the ferry leaving at 5.20 the next morning, but you'll be disappointed given the cost. We liked the rusty tin outside the room door for your cigarette butts and the grungy RV camper site behind the rooms (nawt!).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I think that most people who stay here are either on their way to or from the ferry terminal as it is only a ten minute drive away. The hotel is located in beautiful woodland if you have time to stick around and explore (we didn't)

The receptionist was incredibly friendly and efficient considering she was dealing single handedly with a queue of about 20 tired and grumpy people who had just arrived off the ferry.

The accommodation is pretty basic but very clean and comfortable. The walls are thin and you are likely to hear your next door neighbours in the shower at 5am getting ready to leave for the ferry.

Overall, a good choice for a one night stopover.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed overnight here before catching the ferry to Prince Rupert. This motel had rooms on ground level and first floor accessible by outside steps. My husband and I are both not vrey good with stairs so the receptionist changed us to ground floor room without any hesitation - ver pleasant staff. good value we paid 131 dollars plus tax for a suite (my daughter travelled with us).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigtrippertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
1.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
2.3 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
19.0 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn
Airport Inn
#5 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Inn

Property: Pioneer Inn
Address: 8405 Byng Road, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pioneer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel Port Hardy
Pioneer Inn Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing