We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey - but that is Port Hardy”
Review of Glen Lyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Lyon Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pricey - but that is Port Hardy”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Not much to choose from in Port Hardy - this is about the best. Quoted $145.00 for one night - but got it for $130.00 as that is what the tourist information bureau had told us. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean, with a microwave and mini fridge. The bathroom was clean and well appointed and the bed was really comfortable. Wonderful view from our 3rd floor balcony room, we sat for a couple of hours watching the fishing boats coming and going, and the fish jumping. The pub food was average at best - it was wing night and the place was full. The wings were very small and drenched in bottled sauce, but the service was good. Next morning the breakfast was pretty good and excellent service. The hotel itself is rather run down and could do with a bit of loving care - but hey it was clean and I could have easily stayed another night (except for the price!).
There is a really nice walking trail right next to the Glen Lyon - along the estuary and up the river. The salmon were spawning and it was neat to see them jumping and waiting for their swim up the river, we spotted more than 25 eagles all lying in wait for a good feed too.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor - they have balconies over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    70
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
73
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Arrived for a Monday night stay along with most of the passengers disembarking from the Bella Coola ferry at 8:30 p.m.. While the hotel was convenient and easy to find, the place seemed tired and in need of a facelift. The room was as basic as they come, the bedcovers made of some fabric from the 1970's, but the view of the harbor area in the morning was welcome. In light of the other places we stayed on our Coast/Cariboo Tour, the $165/night price tag for this overnight seems overly steep, and they don't have any sort of complimentary continental breakfast since they have a restaurant on site. I can only assume other hotels in Port Hardy with a lower price would have sufficed just as comparably for the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Easy check in front desk was helpful . This hotel offers large clean rooms our group of 11 was well treated . We booked through Chad's Coastline Fishing Charters and what a professional well managed weekend of fishing we enjoyed

Room Tip: The fitness center is currently closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comingforthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We liked our short one night stay at Glen Lyon. The service was very nice, all 4 rooms were very large and had a very nice view. Rooms were very clean. The service was very nice even though we arrived only around midnight! It is an excellent choice when planning to catch the ferry to Prince Rupert. We would stay here again! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilderness09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, england
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here for one night having caught the ferry over from Prince Rupert.
Room was okay but sheets could have been ironed as they gave the impression of not having been laundered though they probably had been.
Nearly missed breakfast as info in room stated that restaurant was closed until later in the summer. Luckily we went down for something else and found it was open and our coach driver was tucking into a full Canadian and that we had enough time to join in which we did.
Apparently - from talking to fellow travellers on the coach - this was the best option to stay at in Port Hardy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsverygrimupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel has friendly staff, clean rooms with views and Internet access. Meals were basic pub fare. The seafood is fresh but drowned in their respective sauces. Two wines were on offer It's a bit of a hike from the bus drop off to the hotel. Staff at the bus station were happy to phone a cab for us. If you are catching the ferry to Prince Rupert there is a shuttle bus with a 4.50am pick up from the hotel. Town is a short walk away but not worth the effort if the weather is bad.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SargentMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed there for a night after getting of the ferry late.
Clean and tidy, but badly needing updating.
Good food though and very friendly helpful staff
I am surprised at the price though, it cost me $160 for one night, very expensive!!
I should have pre booked through trip advisor!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammyjo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
0.2 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
0.9 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
190.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Lyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Lyon Inn

Property: Glen Lyon Inn
Address: 6435 Hardy Bay Road | P.O. Box 103, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Lyon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
44 Room Motel Type with Doors to the outside - 3 floors, with 2nd and 3rd floors all having balconies overlooking Hardy Bay All rooms have a great Ocean view. We have Restaurant and Lounge on the Premises: open Daily Walking distance is 1 mile to the center of town along the Inner Harbour and 15 minutes driving to the Airport and 7 to 10 minutes driving to the ferry terminal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Lyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lyon Hotel Port Hardy
Glen Lyon Inn Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing