We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess the word is 'homely'”
Review of Glen Lyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Lyon Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Like most travellers we stayed because we were taking the Inside Passage the following day, and it was perfectly adequate with helpful staff when the laundry did not work and we ran out of tea etc. I am not sure what the horrible bed covers are made of but they were very old fashioned and of a miserable texture but we enjoyed seeing the views of the port from our balcony. The room was clean and functional, and we ate in the very basic restaurant which has a very limited choice and very little in the way of ambience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerwoodChurchmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

It appears that many of the guests who stay here do so solely because they are waiting for a ferry or have just come in on one late at night. As others have pointed out, there are not many options for these needed accommodations in Port Hardy. But the room was fine, not quite as expensive as the other motel next door, and the check-in was surprisingly swift despite a lot of folks coming off the ferry at the same time very late in the evening. It wasn't until daylight the next morning that we saw the panoramic view of the waterfront from the room. We were storing some food. So the refrigerator in the room was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We did not have great expectations of the Glen Lyon Motel, but in fact it is surprisingly modern and spotlessly clean. Good quality cosmetics in the bathroom and a very friendly and helpful receptionist. Food was good and fresh tasting. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoteljunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked here for the eve of taking the BC Ferry's "Inside Passage" trip to Prince Rupert, BC. We almost waited too late to book accommodations in Port Hardy - probably because of the popularity of this fabulous trip.

Word of advice for Port Hardy accommodations. The ferry departs Port Hardy on odd numbered days, and leaves Prince Rupert on even numbered days. This translates into heavy bookings in Port Hardy on the even numbered nights because ferry passengers coming in at 10:30pm from Prince Rupert have made reservations, while passengers leaving early the next morning are there too. Book far in advance.

The Glen Lyon room was clean and comfortable. Once checked in, we immediately opened the sliding doors onto the small deck to have a beer while watching the harbor traffic, and bald eagles outside. Fisherman have left fish remains at certain times and places, and the eagles have learned!

We enjoyed the ability to be outside on our sunny day, and kept the deck door open during the night without worry. Night time is quiet in the area.

Parking is provided. We ate in the dining room which looked out at the harbor, but was nothing special, but there aren't many options in Port Hardy. The BC Information person recommended the restaurant as one of her favorites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Glen Lyon Inn one night before we took the ferry to Prince Rupert and another night upon our return. It's an older motel that is adequate for the purpose: a place to sleep before or after the 15-hour, day-time ferry trip. The rooms were characteristic of older motels, but they were clean. Second-floor rooms have a good view of the harbor. There is a restaurant on the premises, but it was closed for Canada Day when we would have used it for breakfast. The woman at the front desk couldn't tell us which restaurants were open for breakfast that day, but she suggested we try the restaurant at the nearby Quarterdeck Inn, which turned out to be open. The room rates at the Glen Lyon are a bit pricey for what you get, but you have to pay a premium to stay in Port Hardy to catch the ferry.

Room Tip: If you don't need a ground-floor room because of mobility or luggage issues, choose a second-flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very limited choice of hotels in Port Hardy but the Glen Lyon Inn provides reasonable accommodation. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. Staff are polite and friendly with the front desk staff being particularly pleasant and helpful.
Every room has a view over the harbour.
We ate at the on site restaurant - it is fairly basic but the food and service was OK and we would use again if staying in Port Hardy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Like Sheena C, we usually stay at the Quarterdeck too, but we needed 3 beds this time and the Glen Lyon Inn was able to full fill that need. The room had two queen size beds in one room and a queen size bed in another. The room was a little small but the beds were wonderful and the view was amazing. The gal at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful. She suggested eating at the restaurant (ribs for $15.00) and it was very enjoyable. We go to Port Hardy every year for fishing and we will be staying at the Glen Lyon Inn from now on.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view and seem to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBrownsPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
0.9 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
0.8 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecoscape Cabins
Ecoscape Cabins
#2 of 16 in Port Hardy
154 reviews
4.8 mi away
Airport Inn
Airport Inn
#5 of 6 in Port Hardy
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Lyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Lyon Inn

Address: 6435 Hardy Bay Road | P.O. Box 103, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Price Range: £78 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glen Lyon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
44 Room Motel Type with Doors to the outside - 3 floors, with 2nd and 3rd floors all having balconies overlooking Hardy Bay All rooms have a great Ocean view. We have Restaurant and Lounge on the Premises: open Daily Walking distance is 1 mile to the center of town along the Inner Harbour and 15 minutes driving to the Airport and 7 to 10 minutes driving to the ferry terminal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glen Lyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lyon Hotel Port Hardy
Glen Lyon Inn Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing