We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
1
6
19
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
6
19
17
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked this hotel online as a place to stay overnight before taking the 5:30 a.m. ferry from Port Hardy to Prince Rupert. The hotel is located close to the local shopping centre, gas stations and A&W restaurant; however, the exterior is run-down and not terribly inviting. That said, the receptionist on the desk was friendly and helpful. She provided us with our room keys and told us that because we were leaving so early in the a.m. there would be no overnight clerk to check us out so we were just to leave our keys on the front desk. She also provided us with a code to access the hotel if we went out in the evening and there was no desk clerk when we returned. My first thought was: "so what if there is an emergency?" Apparently, we have to call 911...The room, although a bit run-down is clean and although there was is no air conditioning, the front desk clerk provided us with a fan when we requested one. In fairness, this is a small, rural town and the selection of hotels is limited. Also, as the saying goes "you get what you pay for" and at $100 per night, this is it.

Room Tip: No Air Conditioning; close to ferry; no elevator
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedroverOttawa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This was the only place we could find with availability on short notice in Port Hardy. We were catching the ferry out early in the morning, and wanted to spend the night so that we wouldn't have to be driving in the middle of the night.
The furnishings were old, the beds tired, and the bathroom was dark. Although tidy'ish, it didn't seem very clean. Thank god we were only there for one short night.
The positives though was the lady at the front desk was very nice. The room had a mini fridge and microwave, which was great for traveling with our 15 month old, and it was in walking short distance to the gas station (which sold milk and snacks), and the Mall which has Subway and A&W.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseyWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a church-based low-income residence peddling rooms on the side for exorbitant fees. At least the sheets appeared clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank macaronic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We payed $117 for a room at this motel which is far too much for what is provided however given the demand for accomodation in Port Hardy good luck to them.
The hotel surrounds are badly in need of a facelift and a good lick of paint would be a good start.
Check in was good with a pleasant young lady helping us out. The room was large and airey with two double beds, frig, microwave limited coffee making facilities.
The carpet was an off white colour and I don't know what genius chose that colour for a motel -
was a bit grubby however the remainder of the room and bathroom were nice and clean.
Beds and pillows were comfortable except the sheets seemed a bit worn to me but did the job.
The room was adequate after a long ferry trip.
Free wifi and parking and was nice and quiet

Room Tip: Overpriced but not a lot of other options
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Port Hardy is basically the end of the line, north on Vancouver Island.. there is not a lot of choice of hotels, and that’s why this very ugly hotel charges way TOO MUCH ! But do yourself a favour and pay even more to stay somewhere else..
It was extremely rundown, bare and smelly, very big but empty basic room and an old bathroom with thin, tiny dirt spotted bath towels, also no coathangers - the corridors flooring was dirty. I think they are renovating with all the noise that started early in the morning
We also had drunks hanging around outside our window.
..you know your not alone in your thoughts when the talk between patrons at a local venue for dinner was how bad the hotel was !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlieandannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews