We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent fishing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Cove Cottages Resort
Bowsman, Manitoba
1 review
“excellent fishing”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and I purchased the two day three night fishing trip. Fishing was fantastic!!
Wade will go the extra mile to find the fish. The cabins are very clean, comfortable and provide a great view of the ocean.
Highly recommend this operation to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
36
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We picked this property because it is about the closest thing to the Port Hardy Ferry. Checking into the room we were just stunned by the place. Wonderfully appointed, nice touches, full kitchenette, Wi-Fi, TV. It was just great. Only are about 6 or 8 rooms, all overlooking the ocean/trees. Opened the curtains to watch the bald eagles landing on the trees. If it weren't for the fact that we were there just to take the ferry, we would certainly have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler98761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schagen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights. We were welcomed by the friendly owners. The cabin was very clean and even had a whirlpool in it! The location was very very great, splendid views over the sea, eagles flying around and we even had a black bear walking on the property.

We thought the inside of the cabin (furniture) didn't match with the outside and the splendid views. It was good though, but basic. If they would change that it would be an incredible to stay here. But I would definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Again we enjoyed our time staying at the cottages. So quiet and peaceful.....could watch the eagles from our bed! Amazing ocean view...always changing. Very nice owners.....very clean.....nice little kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Our first trip to the northern half of Vancouver Island. For the same price as a hotel room you get a cute, cozy cottage with fireplace and million dollar view! The hosts - Wade & Shannon were extremely helpful with information about the area. Each day was an adventure exploring the region from Cape Scott Provincial Park to Coal Harbour. Lots of wildlife viewing - deer, black bear, blue jays, and bald eagles soaring above the bay in front of the cottages. The drive up was spectacular with snow capped peaks, mountain streams & rivers. Form Victoria, BC we did the drive in 6.5 hours and that included a half hour stop for lunch. We are definately going back and are recommending Bear Cove Cottages to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northerntour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Incredible location overlooking Hardy Bay, perfect west coast cabin amenities and wildlife at your doorstep, Bear Cove Cottages offers it all. Combine that with exceptionally nice owners and you have a Tofino/west coast like experience at a fraction of the price.
It simply doesnt get better than this for the North Coast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkushner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I always enjoy staying at Bear Cover Cottages. The view of the bay is spectacular and the scenery is stunning. The accomodations are roomy, comfortable and clean. I recommend these cottages to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparklingDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
1.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
1.5 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ecoscape Cabins
Ecoscape Cabins
#2 of 15 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Cove Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Cottages Resort

Property: Bear Cove Cottages Resort
Address: 6715 Bear Cove Highway, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Cove Cottages Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove Cottages is located 1 km from the ferry terminal. We specialize in saltwater fishing packages, ecotours and whale watching. All of our cottages overlook Hardy Bay and are equipped with hydrotherapy tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and wireless internet. Stay tuned for outdoor Wellness Spa, coming Spring 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Cove Cottages Hotel Port Hardy
Bear Cove Cottages Resort Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing