We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing and peaceful getaway!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Cove Cottages Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A very relaxing and peaceful getaway!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband & I spent the Easter long weekend at Bear Cove Cottages and we really enjoyed ourselves. Darren (the onsite manager) was there to greet us and provide us with a few of Port Hardy's secret spots to check out, we took Darren's advise and I suggest you do too!! The cottage is just what we needed. A nice jetted soaker tub, a gas fireplace and views beyond compare.

The kitchen has EVERYTHING you could need, 4 burner stove, oven, fridge, all the pots and pans, plates, cutlery etc. We had lovely meals by the fire gazing out at the ocean views.

Their were so many eagles we seriously lost count, we also saw turkey vultures, hawks, stellar jays and robins. Many fishing boats were coming in and out and the ferry to Prince Rupert left on Saturday evening.

My husband slept like a baby both nights. I found the bed not quite as comfortable as at home.

We plan on returning to Bear Cove Cottages.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
37
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have stayed at Bear Cove Cottages located in Port Hardy British Columbia at the Northern tip of Vancouver Island. The cottages are very quaint and cozy! Very comfortable and perfect for our getaway. The incredible view that over takes you as you enjoy your morning coffee or a romantic glass of wine with your loved one is amazing! The marine traffic that is on constant display, whether commercial boats or recreational boats always gives you some viewing pleasure! Not to forget about British Columbia's beautiful Bald Eagles and various other birds are simply hanging out in the trees before you or laying in the wind! On top of all that comfort and Northern Vancouver Island beauty, I went fishing on Bear Cove Cottages owners Wade and Shannon Dayley's 25' Grady White. What an incredible expeience that turned out to be! Beautiful BIG Spring Salmon that peeled off yards of line and Coho Salmon that danced all over the surface of the ocean! We were fortunate enough to come across some Orcas ( killer ) Whales, Pacific White Sided Dolphins, Seals and Sea Lions and plenty more marine life! We had such a great visit to the northern end of Vancouver Island during our stay with Bear Cove Cottages! Have rebooked for next summer and cannot wait till my vacation time next summer to relax and fish! I know I will run out of the fish we brought home, the pictures though should last us a life time!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19741978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

What a great place. Clean, modern simply the best! Highly recommended. The cabins are warm and cozy with all of the amenities. Spectacular view of the bay! They also offer great charter fishing Wade is one of the best.

Thanks

Mark

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We came back for our second year to Bear Cove Cottages this July. NOT A DISSAPOINTMENT! Once again the cabins were awesome, the weather was the best and the fishing was first class all around. Wades boat is awesome to fish from! He is a great guide with the utmost spect for his clients, the fish and the wildlife you get to see everyday. We caught many fish above 25 lbs, with the top three 26,27,28, a 74 lb halibut, saw whales, dolphins and sea otters. What more could you ask for?! We will return once again in 2013 for the great hospitality, fishing and fun. Thanks Wade!

Room Tip: Any room is great! All have great views and well outfitted for fishing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanPendergast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouer, BC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Returning for my second fishing trip in August 2012 with Wade, we again enjoyed EPIC fishing adventures on the water. Along with an average size fish of 26 pounds, we enjoyed endless laughs and amazing scenary including whales, dolphins, and bald eagles. An oasis of wildlife and "buzzing" reels. Wade ensures that each experience betters the last; a true fisherman, captain, and friend of the open waters.

Room Tip: Each and every room has a breath-taking view of the ocean; wake up early enough to watch the sun ris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Shannon and Wade are doing it right. The cabin are well furnished and the views are the best in the area from the porch. Wade took my wife, son, and me on our first salmon trip. We had a great time. He is one of the best! My 10 year old son said he was going to give me all of his money he had saved so we can come back again next year. How is that for a review? Thanks Darrrin.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefield, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed in this cottage for two nights. It was very clean and well laid out, even a jacuzzi tub. We had a nice view of the water and watched the ferry come and go. The property was well maintained and very quiet. We had a hard time finding it because we googled it and got incorrect directions. Once we phoned and got directions from the owner, we found it no problem. It was well signed, but we had missed the signs as we followed our google directions...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
2.0 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
59 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
1.7 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
45 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
233.4 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Cove Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Cottages Resort

Property: Bear Cove Cottages Resort
Address: 6715 Bear Cove Highway, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Cove Cottages Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove Cottages is located 1 km from the ferry terminal. We specialize in saltwater fishing packages, ecotours and whale watching. All of our cottages overlook Hardy Bay and are equipped with hydrotherapy tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and wireless internet. Stay tuned for outdoor Wellness Spa, coming Spring 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Cove Cottages Hotel Port Hardy
Bear Cove Cottages Resort Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing