We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst accommodation of the 13 we stayed in” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Cove Cottages Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Cove Cottages Resort
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worst accommodation of the 13 we stayed in”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I rarely need to give negative reviews but feel the need to here.

Accommodation
Firstly there is absolutely nowhere to put away any clothing as there are no drawers, shelves or cupboards just a couple of coat hangers on a wall. There is also nowhere to sit apart from a couple of wooden chairs. Everything about the cabin felt tired almost as if the owners didn't really care about it.

Staff
We were there for 2 nights and as we arrived late off the Prince Rupert ferry the first night we met a lady the following day who insisted on taking payment for both nights there and then, something which has not happened either before or since. All in all not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raingod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearCove, Owner at Bear Cove Cottages Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are often told this is the "best place on our trip",or "wish we could stay longer".I was very surprised that you said we were the worst place you've stayed.I can assure you we did not receive our Certificate of Excellence this year by "not caring".I have never "insisted"somebody pay. Alot of my guests pay upon checking out,some I do not even see.Some of our cottages are set up for families,others for couples.We have chosen to remove some furniture as most guests preferred more space in the cottage.If you had expressed your disappoint while here, we may have been able to compensate you somehow.We are also excited about some upgrades as we move in a new direction.So in addition to new HD TVs,jacuzzis,fireplaces,and a superb view,we will feature an outside sauna,hot tub,cold shower plunge all in a great outdoor setting.This is a small blemish on our otherwise perfect record here.We will maintain our 5 star rating with Trip Advisor,thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
36
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband, son, & I stayed in Cabin 2 at Bear Cove Cottages the 2nd week of August, 2012. We had an amazing trip. By the time we came home, we were already planning to return for summer vacation in 2013. This year, our son brought his best friend & we stayed in Cabin 1.

Getting there:
We prefer to fly Pacific Coastal into Port Hardy (instead of the riding the ferry or driving). While costlier than the other options, spending the extra money amounts to more time doing things like whale watching and fishing. Hertz seems to be the best regarding car rental. Book on line WELL IN ADVANCE and Rob will most likely be the fellow at the counter inside the terminal. There is a gas station on Byng road (on the way back to the airport) so it's very convenient to fill up before turning in the keys. It has the old-fashioned pumps... the kind where you flip the lever... I hadn't seen one like that in forever!

Around town:
It takes 10 minutes at most to get from the airport to Bear Cove Cottages. The trip from BCC into town takes about the same amount of time. In town are a grocery store, a liquor store, and a sporting goods store (inside the mall) where things like pink buzz bombs, fishing licenses / stamps, & other gear can be purchased. Those places (for us, anyway) are the most important. Port Hardy also has a few restaurants, shops, etc. to visit. We did find that eating in restaurants added quite a bit of cost to our overall vacation, so this summer, we prepared meals in the cabin.

We did have lunch one afternoon at the Quarterdeck Pub (minors are not allowed in the bar area & parents cannot leave them unattended in the family room). Bella was our server; she is the sweetest lady and the oyster appetizer is a MUST HAVE.

About the cabins:
The cabin is equipped with everything you need: coffee pot, microwave, stove / oven, dishes, & utensils. My husband is 6'5" and the shower head is high enough so he doesn't have to duck. That is a huge plus for him (rarely have we traveled & had that small luxury) & the jacuzzi tub is a fantastic addition! A gas fireplace will take of the night's chill and the sky light will help you wake in the morning. Then again, you should be fishing with Wade, so you'll be up before sun-up anyway.

If you intend to cook in the cabin, get a few basics (salt, pepper, spices, napkins, etc.) @ the store. The cabins are tidied up each day & the beds are made. Each cabin has its own deck with a spectacular view of the bay. The sunsets are simply gorgeous and watching / listening to all the eagles is a joy. You might even see a bear.

Fishing:
Book with Wade as far in advance as possible. His skills as a captain and guide are stellar. Last year, we returned with 86lbs (39kg) of fish & this year we returned with almost 100lbs (45kg) of halibut, ling cod, coho salmon, quill back rock fish, and yellow eye snapper. We will eat well all year!!

The owners:
Wade and Shannon are helpful, friendly, courteous, funny, and I could go on and on. Each cabin in Bear Cove Cottages is well-appointed and the location is convenient to area activities. It's the perfect place to stay; we will continue our tradition and travel from Texas to Port Hardy each year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziMarie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked a multiple day stay. Let me start by saying that the kitchen was well stocked with good cooking pots and dishes. The full sized stove was appreciated. The cottage was extremely quiet although the cottages are very close together. It may have been because of the rain or the courtesy of the other guests. The gas fireplace took the damp chill away very quickly. The bed and duvet were very comfortable and the towels were changed often and the coffee replenished daily.

Because we had a double queen room, we did not have a comfortable place to sit. The choice was either the wooden chairs at the table or resting in bed. The cottage front window that overlooked the bay was too high to enjoy the view unless one sat right in front of it or stood. I was surprised that for the daily rate there was not a hairdryer in the bathroom.
I would recommend Bear Cove Cottages for anyone taking the ferry as the location was excellent for departure. I would hesitate to recommend a longer stay for someone who wanted to spend time in relaxing, but if one is out fishing all day then the cottages would be good for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coast_to_coast_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights while waiting to board the ferry to Prince Rupert. The view from the dining table window was superb, I don't think I have spent so much time just gazing out a window. Self contained. Jetted tubs. If you need accom in Port Hardy look no further than these stunning cottages.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_muzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here after a late night arrival on BC ferry from Prince Rupert. It was a nice comfortable place to stay. I would recommend staying here and will stay again in the near future. This would ideal for a longer stay as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webfeetads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband & I spent the Easter long weekend at Bear Cove Cottages and we really enjoyed ourselves. Darren (the onsite manager) was there to greet us and provide us with a few of Port Hardy's secret spots to check out, we took Darren's advise and I suggest you do too!! The cottage is just what we needed. A nice jetted soaker tub, a gas fireplace and views beyond compare.

The kitchen has EVERYTHING you could need, 4 burner stove, oven, fridge, all the pots and pans, plates, cutlery etc. We had lovely meals by the fire gazing out at the ocean views.

Their were so many eagles we seriously lost count, we also saw turkey vultures, hawks, stellar jays and robins. Many fishing boats were coming in and out and the ferry to Prince Rupert left on Saturday evening.

My husband slept like a baby both nights. I found the bed not quite as comfortable as at home.

We plan on returning to Bear Cove Cottages.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have stayed at Bear Cove Cottages located in Port Hardy British Columbia at the Northern tip of Vancouver Island. The cottages are very quaint and cozy! Very comfortable and perfect for our getaway. The incredible view that over takes you as you enjoy your morning coffee or a romantic glass of wine with your loved one is amazing! The marine traffic that is on constant display, whether commercial boats or recreational boats always gives you some viewing pleasure! Not to forget about British Columbia's beautiful Bald Eagles and various other birds are simply hanging out in the trees before you or laying in the wind! On top of all that comfort and Northern Vancouver Island beauty, I went fishing on Bear Cove Cottages owners Wade and Shannon Dayley's 25' Grady White. What an incredible expeience that turned out to be! Beautiful BIG Spring Salmon that peeled off yards of line and Coho Salmon that danced all over the surface of the ocean! We were fortunate enough to come across some Orcas ( killer ) Whales, Pacific White Sided Dolphins, Seals and Sea Lions and plenty more marine life! We had such a great visit to the northern end of Vancouver Island during our stay with Bear Cove Cottages! Have rebooked for next summer and cannot wait till my vacation time next summer to relax and fish! I know I will run out of the fish we brought home, the pictures though should last us a life time!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19741978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
1.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn
Quarterdeck Inn
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ecoscape Cabins
Ecoscape Cabins
#2 of 15 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Cove Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Cottages Resort

Property: Bear Cove Cottages Resort
Address: 6715 Bear Cove Highway, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Cove Cottages Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove Cottages is located 1 km from the ferry terminal. We specialize in saltwater fishing packages, ecotours and whale watching. All of our cottages overlook Hardy Bay and are equipped with hydrotherapy tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and wireless internet. Stay tuned for outdoor Wellness Spa, coming Spring 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Cove Cottages Hotel Port Hardy
Bear Cove Cottages Resort Port Hardy, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing