We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Gem of Galiano Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serenity by the Sea Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galiano Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serenity by the Sea Retreat
Ranked #5 of 11 Galiano Island B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“The Gem of Galiano Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Serenity by the Sea Retreat is the gem of Galiano Island. It is a place of tranquility, peace, beauty and inner healing, a place that provides a deep “sense of home.” Its buildings and other aspects of the place, such as a flowing creek and pond, gardens, and walkways to the seashore, mesh very well with the surrounding natural environment. Our chalet was comfortable, open, filled with light and contained books, art works, board games and other items which enhanced the relaxation and privacy of our experience. Hosts Shera and Chidikash are open-hearted people, and the energy of love flows through them into the place and all of their guests. Shera’s art work and her teaching concerning self-expression through art were very helpful and inspiring to me. Shera and Chidikash both found useful ways to communicate with my teenage son which definitely improved the quality of our stay. You can view some of our pictures of Galiano Island and the Serenity by the Sea Retreat at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CfEvjOR_DE&feature=share

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saidat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    16
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
35
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

It was serendipitous to find this getaway in Galliano at a time in my life when I needed this type of vacation.
'Serenity By the Sea' has great karma,lovely charm and lots of natural beauty.
Hosts Shera and Chidikash are gracious and giving.
The architectural design of this retreat is beautifully thought out.
The round table breakfast of french toast with an array of fruit sauces was comfort food par excellence! Not to mention the delicous orange juice accented with ginger.
I will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhavusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Recently our family spent some time at the "Serenity by the Sea Retreat", on Galiano Island in BC's Gulf Islands.
We had a wonderful time at Serenity by the Sea, starting with a warm, hospitable and light-hearted welcome from hosts Shera and Chidakesh Street. We found them to be charming and genuine hosts, most willing to do anything in their power to make their guests' visit special. The view over the Gulf Islands from our room was spectacular by any measure, and the highly creative landscaping soothing to the soul - an aesthetic treat. Highly recommended - we're already looking forward to a return visit.
Tom and family

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Beautiful, peaceful, private, life in harmony. No phone, no internet, no key. We stayed in the cottage with kitchen and the deck overlooking the forest and ocean. The cliffside tub is a must. Amazing natural beauty. This was trip was a welcome retreat from the crazy life we live in the city.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereIsKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Serenity is a retreat focused on contemplation and relaxation. The hosts provide a b & b type atmosphere, more family-style than hotel-style. Our room was the Windsail - it was magnificent. The entire experience (almost 3 days) was too short and we will be going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djwgilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Loved the amazing view from the bath tub carved into the cliffside, the babbling brook into the sea, the funky outdated decore, the meditative labyrinth and welcoming hosts!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kuba154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Français à Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Me and my partner at the time went to Serenity by the sea on a complete random impulse. It was a last minute trip to spend new year's eve and we decided we would rather spend this time together than party with lots of people. We decided to take the Sunrise suite as the other cottages were already taken but we were not disappointed at all by our choice. I think the pictures cannot speak enough about how amazing is this place. We were lucky to see the sunset from our warm and cozy room by the sea, the calm and spirit of the place is really re-energizing and we spent the days roaming Galiano Island under a clear blue sky or me practicing Yoga with our hosts early in the morning.
Our hosts Shera and Chidakash were amazing, welcoming and generous. They directed us to beautiful places on Galiano and we also connected on a really high spiritual level. These are real people that will connect to you honestly. I cannot thank them enough for this time of peace and reflexion that they gave us. I think that Serinity by the sea and Shera and Chidakash are filled with the same energy. The house, its beautiful location and the spirituality that lies in the place and its host are comforting.
Anyhow, I can only recommend this place, looking back to when I first found it using TripAdvisor I realize that some people did not like their experience. I would only suggest that these people were merely not looking for a Bed and Breakfast but for a 5 star hotel or something alike where their experience would have been the same anywhere else . This is different here, you are entering a really special place and welcomed by really special people, expect to be surprised.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rigden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
4.8 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
6.7 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#8 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
15.7 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity by the Sea Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity by the Sea Retreat

Property: Serenity by the Sea Retreat
Address: 225 Serenity Lane (off Ganner Dr) | RR2 Galiano Island 42-14, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galiano Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity by the Sea Retreat is a waterfront retreat haven with quiet, creative spaces--perfect if you are seeking quality time alone or with a friend, for re-connection, reflection, or healing and creative play. Cocoon yourself in a cozy, nurturing accommodation to relax and recharge your batteries. Enhance your retreat with massage, reiki, and a myriad of special features and services. Enjoy nature, sky and sea from our cliffside tub by the sea. Our garden embraces the dynamic vibrancy of waterfront, the soothing energy of our ponds and waterfall gardens, and the personal gifts of our meditation circuit and classic labyrinth. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing