We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goodness, Gracious, Great Galiano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Galiano Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Goodness, Gracious, Great Galiano”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Southern Gulf Islands between the mainland of BC and Vancouver Island are true jewels and should be visited at least once and if you're going to Galiano Island and you don't have a house or tent to stay in while you're here, you should consider the Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa. Right on the waterfront adjacent to the ferry terminal, this is a quiet retreat that allows you to adjust very easily to 'island time'; a slow paced life style.
We visited the Inn during their off season so much of what they offer normally was not available but being regular visitors to Galiano Island, we knew that there was a fine bakery just up the road for our breakfast and we brought food from home to warm up in our units' small kitchen and on our private barbecue. Our waterfront room had front door access to the Inn's grassy apron that leads to the waters' edge. Our patio was equipped with a wood fireplace, with plenty of wood for an evenings' entertainment, a double sized bathtub and a radiant heater to ward off the chill.
During the regular season, the Inn offers a fine dining room and a relaxing spa environment but were not available to us when we stayed in February.
Come during the summer and explore the Gulf Islands and make sure you stay at the Galiano Inn and Spa when you visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level room to take advantage of the waterfront and grounds of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyguyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoOceanfrontInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We do love it when you call us (the Gulf Islans) "true jewels", because we do think that is what we are. We are blessed to greet guests to this island, with its mild, temperate climate year-round, its safe environment (no bears or wolves oh my), its friendly nature (that's us!).

You found us during our "secret season", mid-week in February, when we are quieter, the beaches deserted, the dining options more limited. but very great value too. Our restaurant is indeed closed mid-week, but I am puzzled by saying our Spa was closed, as we are open every day except Christmas day. Perhaps your preferred treatments were not available.

We hope you will be able to return to us in the full season, when our restaurant is open every night (it is now, in May) and when our Wood-fired Pizza Patio is in full (delicious) swing...and then we will take hat 4* review to 5*!

Warm regards,
Conny Nordin
Owner, Inn Manager, and Passionate Cherleader of the "True Jewels", our Southern Gulf Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    66
    28
    9
    10
See reviews for
61
200
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

It was our first visit to Galiano and it will not be the last. Fortunately our daughter works on the island which drew us over. Our selection of this terrific property was our first choice and turned out to be one of the best choices we have made in our travels.

We had a second floor room and recommend room 8 for the views, jaw dropping. The room faces the ferry dock and the entrance to the passage with Mayne island visible on the other side. The slapping of the waves, while watching the fantastic sunrise on the Vancouver mountains gives a certain quiet pleasure and serenity. The bed is comfortable and the interior of the room is warm with a lovely bathroom and great shower. A wood burning fireplace brings and starts the day.

The Inn has a warm welcome by the manager Connie and the rest of the staff leave nothing to chance. We used the fireplace on the first night and first morning. Imagine our surprise when we returned from a day of touring to find the fireplace cleaned out and reset with kindling for the nights fire. WoW!!

It is our intent to come to the Inn on a more regular basis, A must visit for any and all.

Room Tip: second floor facing the ocean --- worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamesfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoOceanfrontInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Wow! Thanks so much! We cannot begin to tell you how much it is appreciated by a boutique resort to have a great review by a seasoned traveler such as you. And especially since you said we were one of the best choices you made on your vacation? As the staff say to me: 'Awesome'!

The wood-burning fireplaces are indeed a hit with our guests, and our great housekeeping staff are so friendly, they too add to the 'warmth' of our boutique resort.

"Warmly",
Conny Nordin
Owner, Inn Manager and Guest Greeter, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at the Galiano inn for the third year in a row (for the literary festival-also well worth checking out!!). Every year I am blown away-I feel like I have stepped into a fairy tale. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and transport you to a lush, magical world where anything seems possible.

The rooms have exquisite views of the ocean, and I spent incredibly enjoyable mornings wrapped in a blanket, listening to the birds and the waves crashing, sipping on a cup of tea. The beds were comfy and the rooms themselves with every creature comfort-including a very exciting shower. Even the shampoos and soaps they provided were delicious smelling.

I ate a few meals there, and enjoyed all of them. Their ravioli is delicious, and the gnocchi the best I've ever had. Staff were friendly and helpful and attentive.

All in all, it was a most fabulously pleasurable experience and I would recommend this place to everyone. Trust me-when you are sitting in the dining room, looking out the floor to ceiling windows at the magnificent coast line, you'll understand what I mean. I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liveadventurelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Spent an amazing time on a special island at the beautiful Inn on Galiano this past month.
One might think winter might not be the ideal time for such a visit. Wrong!
Despite hosting a book festival simultaneously, the Inn met all my expectations - and more.

I hate to single out individuals, but I will: Conny, Jodie and Tessa (?) made us so welcome.
The setting is spectacular, the facilities top-notch and the rooms lovely.
I've traveled a lot - but this was one hotel I didn't want to leave.
We were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble.

Altogether a magical trip.
And I haven't eaten that well in years.Compliments to the chef too!

Room Tip: Marked down on the last two, because I don't think they have a pool or fitness center. Never s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoOceanfrontInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful words...especially appreciated are the comments about our staff! I don't think most people (including travelers and reviewers) understand the amazing feeling people get from acknowledgement. And your recognition of the staff make it all worthwhile for them, and for us. So thank you, thank you!

And of course, we are glad you liked pretty much everything: the food, the rooms, the setting.

p.s. that's because you ARE royalty, in our books!

Warm wishes
Conny Nordin, Owner, Inn Manager and Grateful Purveyor of Kudos to Staff
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
innmanager@galianoinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galiano Island, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I had the great pleasure this weekend of staying at the Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa during the Galiano Island Literary Festival. What an amazing treat! From the warm and welcoming staff - who couldn't do enough for us - to the sumptuous "villa" accomodations. Loved relaxing at the end of the day in the outdoor tub in front of the wood burning fireplace watching the snow fly. If you are looking for the perfect "getaway" look no further, Conny and staff provide a first class experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seonaid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I visited the Galiano Inn & Spa for a Valentine's weekend and had the most wonderful time. We arrived earlier than expected Saturday am and were thrilled that we could check-in right away. Our villa was gorgeous and well stocked with all of the amenities we needed to feel at home. We spent Saturday afternoon enjoying the incredible ocean views and sounds from our heated patio\outside jacuzzi. It's incredible how quickly the stresses of work fade away at this place.

Saturday evening we shared a romantic and delicious dinner at the Inn's restaurant. The ambiance was lovely and the service was absolutely excellent. Sunday am we made breakfast in our villa kitchen and enjoyed it on our patio next to a crackling fire. It was a perfect segue to an afternoon at the Spa.

And the Spa! Our experience there capped off the most perfect Valentine's weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed the salt float, the eucalyptus steam room and healing massages (RMT Karri-Anne). I now cannot imagine a massage without hearing the sounds of a gentle waterfall just outside the window :)

We extend a big thanks to the staff and owners of the Inn and look forward to our next visit.

M&A Allen

Room Tip: All rooms have a terrific view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aallenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for telling us how much you enjoyed everything at the Inn. The Restaurant staff and food all have a fresh new look this year: and all are getting rave reviews too. All of us at the Inn do our very best to make every stay perfect and special.

I am glad you loved our villa suites: especially the terrace with its wood-burning fire and view.

We are very proud of the excellence of all of our therapists and the beauty of the setting: thank you for letting us know, we are happy to pass it onto staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Conny Nordin,
Owner, Manager and Happy Purveyor of Lovely Couples Weekends
innmanager@galianoinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had the greatest time visiting Galiano Inn and Spa. We stayed in one of the Inn rooms and the atmosphere/experience was incredibly warm and cozy. Staff were very helpful and professional. The entire area was very clean and very well-kept. The location is superbe - close to the ferry (but you cannot hear the minimal traffic that comes through) and close to the supermarket. Every room (they're quite large) has a great view of the ocean and is equipped with all the necessities to make your stay as comfortable and cozy as possible: Great smelling soaps, fridge, very comfortable bed, fireplace, large bathtub etc. I loved being surrounded by nature with so much scenery, wildlife and serveral walking routes nearby. There's a spa too which we didn't visit this time but comes highly recommended by my family members.
I would highly recommend Galiano Inn and Spa for any type of getaway and/or relaxation trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are great with amazing views. I stayed in the Inn room which was truly wonderful but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicYvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello, Nick W,

Wow! Thanks for your great comments. I just returned from being away and was understandably concerned about another review that spoke of the housekeeping issue. And so happy to see your review, and others, that complimented us with lots of 5 stars: thank you for making our day!

It is always heartening when someone takes the time to provide compliments and thanks, in our busy world...and in such detail: you are a star. And you are right..our Inn rooms are larger than standard hotel rooms, and filled with lots of built-in treats. The soap you mentioned? An article in a U.K. newspaper said that it made the whole room smell of blackberries!

Thanks again to you.
Best wishes,
Conny Nordin, Owner, Inn Maager and fellow-lover-of-all-things-blackberry
innmanager@galianoinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
8.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
227 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
421 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
91 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa

Property: Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Address: 134 Madrona Dr, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galiano Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular West Coast island resort, minutes from Vancouver, yet a world away. Luxury retreat in natural surroundings enhanced with beautiful gardens. Every Room and Suite has ocean views, fireplace, terrace, luxury ensuite. Our Oceanfront Spa has treatments unique in Canada,luxury steam rooms, garden treatments, flotation therapy. Award-winning Atrevida Restaurant in an architecturally stunning setting or casual outdoor setting with wood-fired pizza oven. Free WiFi, Free Phone, Free plane pick-up. Smart Cars, Dock for boats, golf, kayaking,whale-watching, shopping, hiking, famous Kunamokst mural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galiano Oceanfront Hotel Galiano Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing