We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Couples Weekend Escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Galiano Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just returned from a fabulous weekend getaway to the Galiano Inn & Spa! Both having busy jobs, we needed a recharge and chose Galiano as it is so easy to get to from Vancouver. From the moment we came through to gates to our departure, we received great service from wonderful staff in a restful sanctuary of a resort. Our room was gorgeous (Saturna #1), the wood fire pizza and Caesar salad was so delicious, we had it two nights in a row and our spa services were divine. I especially recommend the couples massage in the 'waterfall cottage'.

This luxurious and serene resort makes an ideal destination for a couples getaway! We will be back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank zoeyryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I chose the Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa for our very private and intimate wedding. The correspondence throughout the planning of our wedding was fast, efficient, and extremely friendly. As many brides do, I had many questions; they were all answered in a courteous way. Great care was taken to meet all of our needs and provide many options for our day.

We arrived by float plane were greeted by Warren who helped us off the plane and carried our bags to our rooms. There was some confusion prior to arrival about which dock we would arrive at, but the inn had all their bases covered. They sent vans to the far dock in case we arrived there and Warren was waiting at the Inn's dock for us in case we landed there. They were prepared for everything!

Our rooms were absolutely gorgeous and included beautiful views of the ocean, a wood burning fire place, jetted tub, and a comfortable bed. My parents stayed in a villa, which featured a kitchen, living room, and private jetted tub outside on their patio.

Leading up to the ceremony, Conny and Warren checked on us often and brought us whatever we needed. Their prompt and kind service made the day run smoothly. Their courteous care eliminated all my stress. Our ceremony was held on the inn's beautiful back lawn overlooking the ocean.

Dinner was held in a private dining room in the restaurant. The waitress, whom I believe was named Robin, was attentive and efficient. She took great care to meet all of our needs. The food was SO delicious! Our family left after the first night while my husband and I stayed an additional two nights. We decided to eat at the restaurant every night just because it was so amazing. The menu changed each night as there was a Salsa dancing night which accompanied a Cuban inspired menu on Saturday, and a prime rib feature night the Sunday.

We went for a massage the Saturday before dinner. It took place in the amazing garden's private cabin, with the sounds of the waterfall in the background. I wish I could recall the name of our two masseuses, who did an outstanding job. It was so relaxing that my husband and I wanted to order room service afterwards rather than go out, but were not sure if the inn would provide it as they were having the Salsa dancing event in the restaurant. We spoke to Conny at the front desk and she asked the kitchen to make an exception for the Newlyweds! They went out of their way to provide room service for us so we could enjoy our Cuban inspired meal in the comfort of our room (which even had a fold out dining table for us).

Our plane left on the last day earlier than anyone normally arrives on the grounds. It was set to take off from a different dock than the one we came in on, so we needed a way to transport there. Conny was kind enough to take time out of her very busy schedule to personally drive us to the dock in her own vehicle. She truly cares about her patrons.

In addition to all of the inn's amenities, Conny has a great relationship with some of the local businesses on the island and her and Warren were able to recommend some adventures for us during the days we were there. We ended up renting a scooter from Ralph and Rocky with Galiano Moped and Boat Rentals and got some great tips from them regarding places to explore!

All in all, the trip couldn't have gone any better and we will definitely be back one day for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanDayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Inn at the beginning of June for three nights. The rooms and the gardens are lovely, but I think that the price of the room is still relatively high. The restaurant food is good but expensive, and the service is spotty - our waitress the first night was great, but the waitress the next night was virtually absent throughout our meal.
One of the reasons we went there was for the yoga and spa. The spa treatment we had was good, and the massage therapist was pleasant and competent. However, the yoga was another matter. The instructor was late for our booked and confirmed appointment. It became clear quite quickly that she was in fact NOT an instructor. She was reading instructions out of a manual (really), was scattered, and completely disregarded the healthy restrictions we mentioned (e.g. joint pain). Yoga is in a rotunda in a garden - very pleasant with the doors open. That is, until the gardener came and started cutting within yards of us. The yoga person did not ask him to stop although we told her it was very distracting, so we had to put up with the racket for at least 1/2 hour. The whole experience would have been a joke if we hadn't paid a lot of money ($80). I think that the Inn had a lot of nerve even billing us for something that was clearly being led by a fill-in that had NO idea what she was doing.
The cleaning in the room was also not very good. There were coffee rings left on the coffee pot meaning the cleaning wasn't thorough, or the pot wasn't cleaned at all. The shower was also not cleaned from one day to the next.
Beautiful island, good, inexpensive eating in other restaurants, but the Inn is overrated and overpriced in my opinion. Nice, but I would likely pick other lodging if I was to go back to the island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loosygoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Inn and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are beautiful, the grounds are lovely, the spa is fabulous and the restaurant is excellent. We attended the Dine and Dance and danced all night and spent our days hiking trails and beaches and visiting artist studios. We had a single room and would choose a suite for the next time. We prefer to eat our own food for most meals, so the extra cost is offset by all the money not spent in restaurants. We did dine at the Inn and the food and service was wonderful.

Room Tip: We chose to take our car and bikes even though the Inn is right at the ferry and we're glad we d...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyLou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Spent four night at this resort in early June. Beautiful location with outdoor BBQ, outdoor private jacuzzi, very clean rooms, patio set and a lovely outdoor fireplace. We loved the view and the ocean just outside our patio doors. The children had an amazingly time playing on the beach, on the rocks and the front yard. The room was very clean with wonderful soap from Salt Springs Soap, the kitchen had everything we needed - stove, full size fridge with freezer, coffee maker and dishwasher. Also the room had a washing machine and dryer. Our kids wanted to go back as soon as we left. Thanks for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildrosetwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend here for our anniversary and were absolutely delighted with everything. We had an ocean front suite that had everything you could want included to run away for a weekend. # 1 - a comfortable king bed! # 2 - Everything else there is no third placing.
Our ocean front suite had so many amenities such as; a fully loaded beautiful kitchen area, a well styled washroom area with a separate closet inclusive of a washer and dryer. This was wonderful since we had planned a day fishing trip that was arranged with Conny the owner.
( We caught big fish! :) With a great guide named Ryan! And after were able to wash our clothing.
We kicked back on our deck looking at our million dollar view of the ocean pass and ferry dock, with a bottle of wine we had stored in the wine fridge in the kitchen and enjoyed the hydrotherapy tub on our second floor balcony. We also B-B-Q ed on our B-B-Q grill a lot. Our pleasure continued with awesome spa treatments. We had massages together, as well, in a private spa cabin, in the perfectly designed and landscaped area of the property,** We played with Moor mud - ( This ancient mud and that is unique and amazing, research it as they have it at this spa ! ) - this is a must do for every couple out there! It is only one of the unique features this property has to offer.
We ate at the Inn's restaurant and enjoyed the food,with the ambiance of the tastefully designed room and decor embracing the ocean view.
In short this property is classy, spacious and a must stay if visiting on Galiano Island!
Thank you for everything Conny and staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBug1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I spent one night here on a second floor oceanfacing suite and were very impressed. The patio had its own jetted tub and fireplace, where we sat for hours watching the otters with their babies cavorting around. The restaurant was excellent. It is a short walk to the ferry terminal and to a few shops and restaurants. We then took a ferry to salt spring island where we spent a few nights at the highly acclaimed Hastings House. We both agreed that we preferred the Galiano Oceanfront Inn and would gladly return. It was also much more reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We loved the "Descanso" suite. Make sure there is kindling for the fireplace as it was ha...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
8.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
443 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bodega Ridge
Bodega Ridge
#1 of 1 in North Galiano
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa

Address: 134 Madrona Dr, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galiano Island
Price Range: £136 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular West Coast island resort, minutes from Vancouver, yet a world away. Luxury retreat in natural surroundings enhanced with beautiful gardens. Every Room and Suite has ocean views, fireplace, terrace, luxury ensuite. Our Oceanfront Spa has treatments unique in Canada,luxury steam rooms, garden treatments, flotation therapy. Award-winning Atrevida Restaurant in an architecturally stunning setting or casual outdoor setting with wood-fired pizza oven. Free WiFi, Free Phone, Free plane pick-up. Smart Cars, Dock for boats, golf, kayaking,whale-watching, shopping, hiking, famous Kunamokst mural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galiano Oceanfront Hotel Galiano Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing